Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Heart of Gold Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 6317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 6317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • janadodson17186
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2018
8.0

Pros: - fun, nice people - breakfast for 5 euros - great location in Mitte - close to public transit - good WiFi - individual bathrooms with showers Cons - small lockers - keycard kept deactivating - elevator was broken the entire stay, so had to walk for five flights of stairs before finding out my card had been demagnetized

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • spencerwhitecolumbia2068
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Sep 2018
10.0

Just a good hostel and environment. Big rooms. Nice people. Good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alicem94
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2018
7.7

Really great vibe big bar area so easy to meet people, rooms and bathroom very clean. We stayed in the front room of mega dorm which was crazy loud because of people on the street and squeaky af beds but it’s a hostel so it’s expected just byo earplugs! Also location not bad, you still need to use public transport as Berlin is massive

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • EdwarJoseLema
  • Ecuador, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Sep 2018
8.0

Liked the hostel, feels very secure, you got to use the keycard to enter almost everywhere. The area was fine and located close to many touristic attractions. Spacious rooms with good internet connection. What I did not like was that the bathroom did not separate toilets and showers, and with only 3 bathrooms per floor it could get a bit busy sometimes. Moreover these should be cleaned more frequently. Additionally, the cleaning staff walks around with loud speakers playing ‘music’. Annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • blitzerdavid7088
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2018
10.0

I stayed 5 nights for prior to the Berlin Marathon. The location is excellent. The amenities and service were also great. I really had no complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Sep 2018
7.7

The hostel was good and security was good, the cleanliness however was questionable. There was blood on the wall in the female bathroom for the whole 4 days we were there and when they clean the beds they don’t replace the comforter, just fold it up and leave it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2018
9.7

This was such a fun hostel. Everything is Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy themed! The rooms were nice with big windows.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • arnoldelewis9434
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Sep 2018
9.1

Nice location, nice vibe, nice accommodation, decent facilities: I can’t complain. Overall a good experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • callum_h7021
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2018
9.7

A really great hostel in the middle of town, it's definitely bigger than what is shown in the pictures with a common area/bar and a good beer garden with cheap beer (1 euro happy hour) and a great spot to meet other solo travellers. While the rooms don't have lockers large enough for luggage you can ask the reception downstairs who will keep it for you for free and there is an area to lock it up. Would have been a ten if there were a laundry room & fans. Also beware of the ducking bartender.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2018
7.1

I picked the 42 person room, it was not pleasant. I got bitten numerous times by god knows what. Nicely located but I would have picked smaller room next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×