Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Heart of Gold Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 6019 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 6019 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Jul 2018
8.3

Overall, Heart of Gold hostel was worth the value. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and the bar had plenty of options. Rooms were a cool and unique set up with beatiful terrace views (which is a massive door left open to other rooms during the night). In our experience, there was a lot of action late at night but likely not always the case.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gsheltonj53
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2018
9.7

Amazing. Great theme, atmosphere and people. My 10 person room was extremely nice, spacious, and had a full balcony. There are tons of resources to find activities and get discounts, and the staff are very helpful. I love the quirkiness of the place, and it’s close enough to walk to many major sites. My only concern was that the lockers were too small for a full backpack, so I just had lock up my valuables and hope nobody rifled thru my clothes. Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sophia8974439
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2018
9.1

Great location, staff was very friendly, good atmosphere all around. The common area is a perfect place to meet other travelers/hang out!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • BethanyBurt
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2018
8.6

Bit of a walk from train station but still a nice enough location. Keycards for entry made us feel safe, and there was relatively cheap drinks at the bar and vending machine. The kitchen facilities consisted of a fridge, and that’s it. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only thing is that it was weirdly difficult to close the door to the room. Would still recommend though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ellyvanderlaan5054
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
7.4

Good stay good location. Would be nice if the staff told you were the facilities were on check in eg kitchen as we didn’t find out there was one until the last day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Jul 2018
8.9

Pros- trendy modern hostel, clean and excellent facilities , staff are very helpful, good social area with bar. Cons- a little overpriced and not in the trendy/ cool part of Berlin, but can get transport anywhere anyway. I'd recommend finding a hostel around the kreuzberg area for more Berlin/artsy/ cool vibes

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kramerjackh1410
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2018
10.0

I stayed in a 4 bed room. Beds were comfy, plenty of outlets, fair amount of room, great lockers. Showers were also great, got super hot. In general, the actual living quarters were pretty great, but the real reason you wanna stay here is the atmosphere. Huge bar downstairs, pool table, projection screen and computers to use 24/7! Cheap beer, very easy to find friends, everyone (yes, even staff) is super kind. There’s also a free walking tour every day at 10:00 and 13:00.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2018
8.0

Great place, but not so good beds

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lauralister8526
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2018
10.0

Fab!! Recommend to all. Lovely, friendly and informative staff. Facilities were brilliant, very clean with comfy beds. The location is perfect, within a short walk of nearly everything, and right next to a main transport line. The dorms were clean, fresh and the whole hostel has a nice vibe. The bar is great, with great value for money- didn't spend too much time there but there seemed to be a happy relaxed atmosphere. Thank you Heart of Gold! Danke!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2018
9.1

Good hostel. A nice mix of people with a solid attached bar and outdoor space. Shared showers / bathrooms are obnoxious. Could really use a modern update — flat floors, and faucets that can be turned on instead of repeatedly pressed. I liked that the cleaning staff played music to notify their presence in the hallways.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×