Hostelworld.com

High Street Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 5687 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 5687 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Nov 2018
9.4

This is an awesome hostel. The common areas are absolutely awesome and there’s usually some event on to attend. The only thing I would say is that I often heard staff complaining about having to do certain tasks, but this was right in front of guests and was a bit odd. I also overhead a staff member being scolded quite loudly but this was in the middle of the reception as I was checking in, so it made for a bit of an awkward atmosphere. Otherwise a great stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Nov 2018
10.0

Staff were very welcoming and made me feel at home straight away. Very cosy hostel. Perfect location just off the royal mile Beds were very comy and the rooms a nice temperature (4 bed room). Locker was free to use, the showers were nice and hot and spacious. Nice and quiet hostel to. Breakfast was only £1.90 and the coffee was good. I stayed longer than intended because I enjoyed it so much. Will defo stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2018
8.3

Very comfy hostel with a unique environment. Young crowd, almost everyone staying while I was there was 18-30. Huge well maintained kitchen and eating area. Rooms are somewhat small but have everything you would need. Only 3 showers for a floor of roughly 30 beds which can cause some waiting in the mornings. The best part of this hostel is the location. Located next to the royal mile, 10 min walk to Edinburgh castle, 5 min to the train station and surrounded by great bars and restaurants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • nicholastanucl430
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Nov 2018
7.1

Located right on the royal mile, however it wasn’t the cleaness of hostels and staff seemed to always be rotating. They even have their staff have meetings in the lounges where guest are eating breakfast. So overall experience wasn’t too great. Btw bring change, you need to pay for breakfast...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ChunCheLeeInUK
  • Taiwan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Nov 2018
9.7

Very good vibes and nice location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jebster159595
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2018
10.0

Couldn't have been more pleased with the location of this hostel and the value for the money. Best price in Edinburgh and one of the best hostels I've stayed at too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • camilafagundes32
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2018
10.0

Amazing hostel and very good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • louisaboettcher5604
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Nov 2018
10.0

The nicest hostel I've stayed in so far! Great common room, great atmosphere, never too noisy and generally really chilled, good wifi, good kitchen, good breakfast for 1,90£ and the rooms have their own lockers, you get your own key at check-in. Friendly staff that makes good recommendations, we even got a discount in a pub with our pink guest cards. Location is amazing, within 10 minutes walking you can reach any attractions. Would definitely stay here again, superb experience in a lovely city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • flysion
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Nov 2018
6.9

Great location, friendly staffs but the room was freezing at night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback and our staff appreciates the compliment. Very sorry to hear about the room temperature. In the 18-bed dorm there always seem to be people who keep the windows open or deliberately turn down the radiators. It would have been easily fixable if you had told our friendly staff. All the best on your future journey.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Nov 2018
10.0

Couldn’t be better, great atmosphere and character about it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×