Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chawi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2018
9.7

Hostel Chawi was beautiful. A few minutes from the main plaza, there were beautiful views of green mountains, and we stayed in spacious and clean rooms. Charlie recommended us some lovely activities to fill our days with, the highlight being our visit to the animal refuge nearby in Yolosa. Over all a great weekend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for take you the time to write this nice review! Have a nice trip!

  • benjaminwschilling6777
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Apr 2018
9.1

The hostel is located along the road just before you reach coroico. It's about a 10 minute walk to the main plaza. The hostel is clean and the beds and pillows were comfortable. The owner has a map of some nearby day hikes and they will provide breakfast for 15 bolivianos. One morning it was avocados from the hostel garden with toast and another it was eggs with toast. The coffee was really good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • patichou41157
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2018
5.4

SUPER expensive for what it is ! Even if the staff is nice, the facilities are VERY basic, the breakfast is at an additional cost + many sand flies in the property There is no place to socialize, just the room, and you can access to the dining room for breakfast. Honestly, you can find private accomodation with same kind/level of facilities for 30 bob easily and for 50 bob, you will even have a nice view in a nice hotel (I moved after one night).Breakfast can also be found for 12 bob in town.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. Coroico is may be one of the most expensive places in Bolivia. If you find a place for 30 bs with a higher standard as our hostel, I would say that you made magic. 15% from the price that you pay goes to Hostelworld and we have the same prices since 4 years. I agree you can find cheaper places but not in Coroico and not with our standards.

  • sophlbradburn6206
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Mar 2018
9.4

Wonderful warm welcome from Charlie, loads of really useful advice and great general conversation. Room was very spacious, clean and beds comfy (best feather pillows!!!) loved the vibe of the hostel, love being close to nature. Tasty breakfast with great coffee. Would recommend for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2018
8.3

Super chill hostel. No wifi but not many have wifi in Coroico. A little off the beaten path from the main square but the view is awesome and its only a 7 minute walk to the square. Right next to the "main" road so a little noisy if you are a super light sleeper. Bathrooms are outside which is fine but personally its pretty dark at night. Lockers would be a great addition. Charlie is a great host and gives you an orientation when you check in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
9th Mar 2018
9.7

Charlie was wonderful and provided us with lots of information to enjoy our stay in Coroico. The breakfast was delicious and changed daily. Beautiful views from the hostel - would love to stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2018
9.7

This hostel is a 5 minute walk to the main square with a terrace that has a gorgeous view over the valley. Breakfast was different everyday with freshly brewed coffee (or tea!) Charlie is an excellent host - gave me lots of advice for local walks and where was good to eat/drink in town. A very chilled and relaxing stay. Thank you Charlie for all the chats we had I really enjoyed my stay 😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2018
9.4

A quick 10-15 min walk into town, as well as other nearby attractions. The host will give you loads of information of where you can go and what you can do around the area. Everyone eats breakfast together, which makes it easy to make plans with one another. This is really nice, especially if you're traveling solo. Really nice breakfast and excellent coffee as well, what more can you ask? Oh, the shower is insanely hot, I didn't expect that, so nice after death road!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2018
8.9

Great views but just minutes walk from plaza. Enjoyable breakfasts with other guests. Would be a great hostel if there was a nice common room with wifi

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 76 reviews
26th Jan 2018
8.6

We enjoyed our stay here. Charlie is a really nice guy and a bit quirky. Breakfast was different each day and served at a set time. Much closer to town than other places we were recommended. Showers are nice and hot. Be prepared for lots of insects! This is a nice place to stay but with a bit of a clean, some WiFi and somewhere inside to socialise it would probably be the best budget place to stay in town. Oh, and if Miri offers to cook for you definitely accept!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×