Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chawi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 180 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 180 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Feb 2018
8.9

Great views but just minutes walk from plaza. Enjoyable breakfasts with other guests. Would be a great hostel if there was a nice common room with wifi

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 57 reviews
26th Jan 2018
8.6

We enjoyed our stay here. Charlie is a really nice guy and a bit quirky. Breakfast was different each day and served at a set time. Much closer to town than other places we were recommended. Showers are nice and hot. Be prepared for lots of insects! This is a nice place to stay but with a bit of a clean, some WiFi and somewhere inside to socialise it would probably be the best budget place to stay in town. Oh, and if Miri offers to cook for you definitely accept!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • colerobertson4343
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2018
9.4

Amazing! Feels just like your staying in someone’s home, so warm and welcoming. Love Charlie, such an amazing man and loves to welcome and get to know new travelers! Would recommend to all!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2017
10.0

This hostel has the most amazing view you'll ever find in Coroico. Fantastic host Charlie will point out all the amazing things you can do in Coroico (And cook a great breakfast!). It's a relaxing spot especially after La Paz, and we eventually spent there more time than we initially planned. Go there and enjoy it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Dec 2017
9.7

Hostal Chawi is a hidden treasure in rural Bolivia. Situated overlooking Coroico and the stunning valleys below this old colonial house run by Charlie and Mary is a one of a kind. Charlie and Mary go out of their way to make you feel at home and have an astonishing raft of local knowledge they’re only too happy to share. If offered, definitely accept an invitation to dinner. Mary offered to cook for us on our last night and it was the best meal we had in Bolivia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Jonathan1952
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2017
9.7

Fabulous two days in beautiful setting overlooking valley and death road in distance. Green butterflies and hummingbirds in garden. Spacious and clean room, very comfortable bed and large terrace on which to enjoy the view. Charlie was very welcoming and gave us detailed information on where to eat and local walks. Also had wonderful discussions across many subjects. Mary cooked us dinner which has been our best and most memorable meal in Bolivia so far. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2017
2.0

Arrived to the hostel and wasn't able to get the room I had reserved due to renovation. Also wasn't able to get my money back ( I had already payed for part of my stay). Not very nice when you arrive tired in the evening on a red day, meaning every other hostel are full. Wouldn't mind getting my money back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Oct 2017
9.7

Our stay in Chawi hostel in Coroico was a very nice experience. The English speaking owner is very helpful and gave us useful information about the village as well as its sourroundings. Besides, the breakfast and the coffee were very delicious & the hostel has a rooftop with an amazing view where you can spend a relaxing time. We would definitely recommend Chawi!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lornaingram18591
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2017
2.9

I will never recommend this hostel to anyone the owner ruined my experience in coroico!!! The stay started perfectly with a lovely man giving all sorts of helpful information. It all went sour when the owner arrived the following day and was completely unreasonable and quite frankly awful! Shouting and balling in Spanish demanding that I leave as I had only booked one night and wouldn't allow me to use the facilities only 15mins after 11:30 (the sign out time that I wasn't aware of)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

what happened was a whole misunderstanding. You don't speak a word of spanish and the one person that asked for the key was not kicking you out, but only asking for the key because she had some errands to run. A lot of people take the key if you dont ask for it by check out. You started doin your laundry after checking out and you came back to take a shower! If you did that and con not arrange to ask that in spanish in the kind of only day that the guy that speaks english in not there it will turn into a misunderstanding. We have new guests coming and beds and rooms need to be clean. If you are not aware of check out times and you can not ask for it... misunderstanding again.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×