Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chawi

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 211 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 211 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 41 reviews
8th Jul 2018
5.4

Very basic hostel in a beautiful location. Lots of potential to be really good. Easy wLk into town and host very helpful with local information. Recommend Carlas garden for food and drinks.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2018
4.6

The most expensive hostel in the town I'm sure. Weird vibes, the staff were very strict with unusual rules. Definitely beautiful views but that was the only positive. I left before I was due to check out as it just was not worth the money and effort dealing with the staff. Breakfast is not included although was indicated otherwise prior to my booking. There are other hostels in the city for 30Bs a night, not 85 like here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2018
7.4

Very clean, the best showers in South America. Charlie was very informative about what to do in the area. We decided not to extend our trip here as the staff were quite like strict relatives, with lots of rules in place, and were inflexible at times. Unfortunate, as this place has lots of potential.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
13th Jun 2018
5.7

I am extremely confused by this hostel!! The lady who owns it is extremely unfriendly, enforcing all sorts of arbitrary rules. Everyone staying ended up feeling so uncomfortable and unwelcome that everyone checked out the next day (some even checking out early despite having paid a non refundable deposit). There are so many hostel options in town for much much cheaper and nicer that I wouldn’t bother with this hostel. Also, breakfast is not included and only sporadically available..

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, well every Hostel has it rules and WE ARE NOT A PARTY HOSTEL! if you guys wanna drinck and be loud all night disturbing other clients, we feel not only in the right to say something, but we have the responsibility to make that clear taking care of the other guests. Not everyone left, only the ones that where drinking (and being doped... are you seriuos guys??!) Even though, thanks for comment and hope you enjoy Bolivia!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2018
9.4

My friend and I stayed at Hostal Chawi this past weekend and thought it was great. The dorm room and bathrooms were clean and the optional breakfast was delicious! Charlie, the manager was super helpful, kind and informative about the surrounding area. We really appreciated the hospitality!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2018
9.7

Hostel Chawi was beautiful. A few minutes from the main plaza, there were beautiful views of green mountains, and we stayed in spacious and clean rooms. Charlie recommended us some lovely activities to fill our days with, the highlight being our visit to the animal refuge nearby in Yolosa. Over all a great weekend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for take you the time to write this nice review! Have a nice trip!

  • benjaminwschilling6777
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Apr 2018
9.1

The hostel is located along the road just before you reach coroico. It's about a 10 minute walk to the main plaza. The hostel is clean and the beds and pillows were comfortable. The owner has a map of some nearby day hikes and they will provide breakfast for 15 bolivianos. One morning it was avocados from the hostel garden with toast and another it was eggs with toast. The coffee was really good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • patichou41157
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2018
5.4

SUPER expensive for what it is ! Even if the staff is nice, the facilities are VERY basic, the breakfast is at an additional cost + many sand flies in the property There is no place to socialize, just the room, and you can access to the dining room for breakfast. Honestly, you can find private accomodation with same kind/level of facilities for 30 bob easily and for 50 bob, you will even have a nice view in a nice hotel (I moved after one night).Breakfast can also be found for 12 bob in town.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. Coroico is may be one of the most expensive places in Bolivia. If you find a place for 30 bs with a higher standard as our hostel, I would say that you made magic. 15% from the price that you pay goes to Hostelworld and we have the same prices since 4 years. I agree you can find cheaper places but not in Coroico and not with our standards.

  • sophlbradburn6206
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Mar 2018
9.4

Wonderful warm welcome from Charlie, loads of really useful advice and great general conversation. Room was very spacious, clean and beds comfy (best feather pillows!!!) loved the vibe of the hostel, love being close to nature. Tasty breakfast with great coffee. Would recommend for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2018
8.3

Super chill hostel. No wifi but not many have wifi in Coroico. A little off the beaten path from the main square but the view is awesome and its only a 7 minute walk to the square. Right next to the "main" road so a little noisy if you are a super light sleeper. Bathrooms are outside which is fine but personally its pretty dark at night. Lockers would be a great addition. Charlie is a great host and gives you an orientation when you check in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×