Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chimenea

  • Luis A. Martínez y Rafael Vieira, Baños - Tungurahua - Ecuador, Banos, Ecuador

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 187 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 187 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • dianateedub
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2018
9.4

The only issue I had with this hostel is that when they cleaned the room, they left the door only partially locked, not fully locked and left the balcony door open. I realize this was to help air out the room, however, anyone could have jumped from balcony to balcony. I also did not like how they did not always have someone one staff that could move the cars around. I had to find someone on the street to help me move cars when the man working the front desk refused to move cars.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2018
9.4

Nice clean space with a balcony facing the waterfall (we got one of the private rooms with a bathroom and two beds) My only real complaint would be that the water never got super hot. Never even used the cold. But it was hot enough to take a comfortable shower. So not the worst.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2018
7.1

Not very impressed with this hostel. Sort of dirty. Not much of an atmosphere, feels more like a hotel than a hostal. At least the showers always had hot water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sylviavanderelst8491
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2018
10.0

Hostel was great. Only complaint was that the second night there were some very loud guests at 2:18am. Wish the management would have done something about them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dallisshea6090
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Apr 2018
4.6

Meh way better choices in Baños, no atmosphere , pool is depressing , breakfast is not good. Children screaming and yelling 24/7 Staff did not help in anyway Reception is also never there We couldn't get a bottle of water past 10 am cause the kid sitting at the desk said it was too late - worst experience we've had while travelling Colombia and Ecuador.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • AmandaGroney
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Mar 2018
9.4

The hostel is clean and relatively quiet. I injured my ankle the first night in Baños, so we were forced to stay longer than expected. But the staff basically gave us free reign to leave whenever I was able. We were in a 4 bed dorm which we had to ourselves for the majority of the stay. The location is convenient and the view from the rooftop breakfast area is lovely. The only negative was some of our clothes came back from the laundry with small blue stains on them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jerry1967
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2018
10.0

It was a little noisy during our Saturday night stay at La Chimenea this time. I'd request a room facing the pool instead of the street next time. However, it must be taken into account that we visited Banos on one of the busiest weekends of the year, Palm Sunday kicking off Semana Santa, Easter Week.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • teepes
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2018
10.0

I wouldn’t really call this a Hostel. It was more like a really nice family owned hotel with a hostel flair. Super clean! Towels and maid service provided. Staff was great and super helpful. Breakfast was delicious with fresh homemade bread and fresh juices every morning with eggs and coffee for as low at $3. In a great location and gated off with a fence to a driveway that feels like you are walking into a garden. We only planed on staying 2 nights and ended up staying 5. Stay here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kimdon1116
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2018
10.0

This was our first time staying in a hostel and we were pleasantly surprised. Basic but clean, breakfast was good, and we had a great view of the water fall in Banos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sneakmcs1174190
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2018
10.0

For the money the room was great. The bed was noisy but comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic. The staff was great. And I recommend the massage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×