Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chimenea

  • Luis A. Martínez y Rafael Vieira, Baños - Tungurahua - Ecuador, Banos, Ecuador

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 201 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 201 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • julesdinaclipperton7849
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2018
9.1

The hostal is in a perfect location as you can access everything easily. The hostal is wonderfully clean. The water is wonderfully hot due to solar power. There is a lovely pool. The breakfast is good value. There is a down side to the location as it is also very noisy due to tourist buses leaving from just near there and they have loud announcements and music, as well as everyone walking past the hostal on the way to the baths and the centre of town. But for me, that was perfectly fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lubbebloemsma7568
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2018
8.6

Very nice hostel, would definitely recommend. We had a very large room with balcony and the shower was strong and hot. Breakfast is very good but a little expensive. The kitchen is good but would really benefit from a few new things, also it is not available in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Nataschajs
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
6th Aug 2018
9.4

Stayed in a dorm and it was great. Nice shower with hot water. Kitchen can be used when breakfast is over, they let us borrow bowls and stuff for our own breakfast though. They have a nice swimmingpool, but it was cold when we were there, so didn't get to use it. Close to city and just next door to the spa. Quiet at night. Comfy beds, a bit hard to get up in top bunk though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jul 2018
9.4

We had a great time at this hostel! The location is perfect - right by the lake, and the dinners and breakfasts they serve were also awesome!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2018
9.1

Our room was large and had a cute little balcony with slight views of the mountains. It's located right down the street from many eateries and other needs. The staff is cheerful and was very helpful. Request a bath mat or you'll get the floor soaked! They don't supply them automatically, but will give you one if you ask. Breakfast room was on the roof and offered lovely views.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2018
10.0

Great little hostel! Perfect location, lovely staff, comfortable beds and very clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bhoots997833
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th May 2018
8.6

The hostel was really clean and beautiful, but there were a lot of hidden costs associated with this place. The hot tub cost $12 to use, the steam baths they advertised were expensive and unavailable except early in the morning, and drinking water wasn’t provided. They did have a free towel service and secure lockers, which were nice. It is also located very close to the mineral baths which saves the cost of a taxi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aziz37908727
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th May 2018
6.0

Chimenea is owned by an incredibly nice family! But the main reason we switched to this hostel was because they advertise a pool and a steam room and a hot tub, and when we got there, we realized it costs to use these facilities and it’s not cheap. A very big letdown, wish it was better advertised.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dianateedub
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2018
9.4

The only issue I had with this hostel is that when they cleaned the room, they left the door only partially locked, not fully locked and left the balcony door open. I realize this was to help air out the room, however, anyone could have jumped from balcony to balcony. I also did not like how they did not always have someone one staff that could move the cars around. I had to find someone on the street to help me move cars when the man working the front desk refused to move cars.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2018
9.4

Nice clean space with a balcony facing the waterfall (we got one of the private rooms with a bathroom and two beds) My only real complaint would be that the water never got super hot. Never even used the cold. But it was hot enough to take a comfortable shower. So not the worst.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×