Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Chimenea

  • Luis A. Martínez y Rafael Vieira, Baños - Tungurahua - Ecuador, Banos, Ecuador

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • verityav8669
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2018
8.6

For a hostel and the price, it was an excellent place to stay. Staff were very helpful, friendly and spoke English. The hot tub was never on which was a disappointment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jdrummondo9730
  • Ecuador, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2018
10.0

Overall a great place. Nice clean pool and very close to the thermal pools.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • zalawton1130
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2018
7.7

Nice welcome, very clean rooms with fresh towels everyday, and lovely hot showers. The roof terrace has very uncomfortable chairs. A quiet hostel but think that's due to the area as everyone is out and about during the day. If you want to do something in Banos go whitewater rafting!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • doughphipps9708
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2018
9.7

Wish they would've had locks to put on the lockers for security, but every detail besides that was wonderful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2018
8.9

The Hostel is in a great location near the thermal baths. Our room was spacious and the hostel is very clean. The roof top kitchen and breakfast area is great. We enjoyed our stay and the price was right. One negative is that the building next door is under construction and hammering started at 7 am.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2018
8.9

Central, basic, well-maintained , inexpensive hostal. Pleasant rooftop patio. Avoid rooms off reception as noisy drunks coming in the wee hours may disturb your sleep. Houskeeping is very late, about 4:00, so when you check in earlier you do not have a clean bed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2018
10.0

A gem of a place. Great value. The balcony from our room overlooked a lovely waterfall. The pool was clean & looked inviting though we did not have time to try it out. The jaccuzzi is available by reservation only & costs $12, min 4 people. I can understand this as it costs quite a bit to operate a hot tub which should be paid for by those that use it. Excellent location, This property is one of the nicest and least expensive I have stayed in in Ecuador. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2018
9.1

Quite happy with my stay. The staff were friendly, the hostel clean, and the additional spa services were nice. Even though it was a few blocks away from the central part of Banos, I still found it loud. Some of this may have be inevitable, but this included dogs barking, vehicles going off, and families staying with young children being loud in the receptionist area. I guess I didn't expect families to be staying there. That a restaurant that served breakfast upstairs was nice as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2017
9.4

Pretty chill when I stayed here. The breakfast was great, and I loved the view of the waterfall from the roof!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • katconn5907
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2017
9.7

Great place to stay in Baños! Highly recommend. The rooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast is pretty good, it is very close to the town center, and I felt safe while I was there. Very good value for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×