Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel AVA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 707 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 707 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • thomepayne6382
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Dec 2017
8.3

We only met one staff member (can't remember his name! Sorry dude), but he was an amazing professional who clearly cared about our stay and our comfort. The mattresses and linens, however, were less than comfortable. (Mattresses were basically springs.) But all told, the AVA Hostel is a decent choice. The location is amazing; close to everything. The rec room on the top floor was very cool. Kitchen is tiny, but it works. I recommend if you're on a budget — maybe bring extra blankets for padding?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mubdiul11
  • Bangladesh, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2017
7.4

Great location

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2017
4.6

I've NEVER written reviews but...I wouldnot recommend anyone staying here unless they were absolutely desperate. Rooms were okay if I'm being nice, bathrooms were absolutely terrible and always smelled like sewage. The only upside was the location and somewhat nice man at the reception.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Oct 2017
4.3

DO NOT STAY HERE. Absolutely terrible. Waited 15 mins outside because the staff 'went to the shops' - even though I had prior confirmed my check-in time (3:00pm!). No lockers whatsoever, so poor security. Bed linen so old and thin the sheets were almost worn through. Bathrooms stunk so bad and covered in cobwebs. Everything so dirty. Crappy wifi. Mattress so thin I woke up with small bruises on my hips from the springs on the base. I could go on... Checked out one day early and went to a hotel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2017
8.0

There weren't many people during my stay, and hostel looked almost dead. I really liked the location - it's 5 minutes walk from the centre, 10 minutes walk from bus stations and there's also really nice vegan cafe just around the corner. Currently hostel doesn't have any common place, and that's bad :( also, there are couple of showers in one big bathroom but no doors to lock yourself in which was bit strange for me. But nothing bad happened :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2017
7.1

This hostel is in an excellent location, right in the city center close to all the major city sights. The facilities were the major negatives: poor WiFi, run down building, no proper kitchen or common room, very uncomfortable mattresses. It was nice and quiet though which we appreciated. We'd probably try a different spot if we came back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2017
8.6

A very lumpy-feeling mattress due to a lack of padding on top of the springs. Cleanliness seemed good to me, although the toilet rooms stunk for some reason. The interior of the building could use some renovation to make it more homey. Certainly not a bells-n-whistles sort of place, but I'd be happy to go back. An excellent location and outstanding people! Also, the receptionist (Lukash?) was a blast to hang out with!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2017
6.3

The linen was dirty with dust and hair. There is not a single tap for getting drinking water and it is expected of us to clean utensils, fetch drinking water as well from a public bathroom. I think you can do better in this regard. I must mention, location is the achiever in this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Oct 2017
8.3

Perfect location in the city center! Spent one night here, everything was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • borsoimatteo1564
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2017
8.9

Need towels for shower

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×