Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel AVA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 742 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 742 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • dylanthompson23
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jun 2018
6.9

The beds where very uncomfortable felt like a prison

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2018
6.6

Great location and very clean. No staff at reception on weekends, no security lockers that I saw, and no common area except the small kitchen. When I did see staff, they were nice and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jun 2018
7.4

We had to check in later (Just past 10)and they were ever accommodating. Unfortunately the next day when I needed to talk to reception no one was there even though the hours said they should have been open. Also the Wi-Fi is very glitchy and there is no common room during off season. The bathrooms don't smell great either, but it's not intolerable Other then that, the hostel is very conveniently located making it it really easy to get to all the attractions that Ljubljana has to offer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2018
8.0

No Select gender rooms just all mixed. Bathrooms get dirty as in every mixed hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jun 2018
4.6

Firstly I would like to say the receptionist was very friendly and forthcoming. However... Room: rudimentary, unclean Bed: bunk bed did not have a ladder, there was gum stuck to the bed frame, the matress was VERY uncomfortable, also sheets were unclean... filled with grainy particles from god knows what Bathroom: gross, a smell was coming up through the drains in the floor, shower room was co-ed with only a curtain for privacy Kitchen: always dirty, no oven, plus no table for sitting

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
31st May 2018
7.7

Good location in the old town and within walking distance of the bus station. It is hard to meet people and the beds were uncomfortable. The price was a bit high

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2018
8.9

The best location in downtown, close to the canal. We didn't use many facilities because we were only there for one night but everything seemed fine - there was a kitchen, the room was clean, friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2018
6.0

No common room, no bed lamps, reception always deserted...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • anhttvck1078
  • Vietnam, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Feb 2018
10.0

Unbeatable location. Modern and useful facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • thomepayne6382
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Dec 2017
8.3

We only met one staff member (can't remember his name! Sorry dude), but he was an amazing professional who clearly cared about our stay and our comfort. The mattresses and linens, however, were less than comfortable. (Mattresses were basically springs.) But all told, the AVA Hostel is a decent choice. The location is amazing; close to everything. The rec room on the top floor was very cool. Kitchen is tiny, but it works. I recommend if you're on a budget — maybe bring extra blankets for padding?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×