Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mondpalast

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 907 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 907 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jul 2018
9.4

The staff were really helpful and lovely

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2018
10.0

Amazing staff! Very helpful! Rooms and bathrooms were clean, good kitchen. Great location, would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your opinion. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time in Dresden. Yes, the hostel has a fully equipped guest kitchen and its located right in Dresdens trendy district. Cleanliness is very important of course. We wish you happy travels. Hope to see you again one day.

1st Jun 2018
8.9

I started my solo journey in Dresden, and Mondpalast had everything I required. It was close to the bus station and was an easy walk to see Old Town. The hostel is surrounded by a lot of great bars, restaurants, and cafes. The hosts were super friendly and I would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • itstrickii
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th May 2018
8.9

hostel was clean and great. Probably a 10min ride on transit +6min walk from Dresden Neustadt (definitely the closer station). Lots of restaurants and bars around, though very quiet at night which was lovely. Dresden is lovely, and so is this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your very good review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Dresden. Yes, the location of the hostel couldn't be better, its right in the middle of Dresdens trendy district. After a nice night out you will be back home in a few minutes. I wish you a great journey, happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th May 2018
9.7

Great location. Friendly staff. Very clean and quiet. WiFi didn’t work and security code in first floor didn’t work but overall fantastic. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your very good review. Yes, the location of the hostel is great, its right in the center of Dresdens trendy district. The WiFi problem has been solved, we have WiFi available again. We are now working on a more reliable and fast connection. Its honestly not our fault, just of the internet provider. This issue is on the top of our priority list. The security code lock on the first floor broke and we have sent it in to the manfacturer. We will putbit back in place as soon as we get it back.

  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2018
8.6

Very brief stay. Nice neighbourhood with bars etc - don’t count on a great sleep on the weekend in one of the rooms with big windows to the street outside. Clean, great staff, chilled vibe otherwise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your opinion. Yes, the location is great, because the hostel is located right in Dresdens trendy district. That also means some street noise in the evenings, particulary in the summer time when everyone is outside. Its actually a great time, when lots of young people sit on the streets and chat.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd May 2018
8.0

Beds were comfy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We change the mattresses regulary, so we hope to provide you a comfy accomodation.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Mar 2018
10.0

I couldn't ask for more! You walk through the corridors and it smells clean. The mattresses are specially good for a hostel, the rooms are not overcrowded and the location is great. It's at walking distance from all the best restaurants and bars of the Neustadt and 30min walking from the Altstadt. The staff is super friendly, the kitchen is well equipped and there are nice common areas to meet people. In the main floor there's a cool bar where I think locals go.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Dresden. We think cleanliness is very important, so we take a lot of effort to provide impeccable cleanliness. Yes, our bar is popular with young locals. So thats the place to meet other people. Have nice travels and maybe see you again.

  • julietmrubio8940
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2018
6.6

Between loud music from one of the bars, people running in the hall, and squeaky bunk beds, it was really hard to sleep. I was hanging socks to dry at the end of my bed and brushed off a pretty hefty layer of dust. There was also what looked like sawdust on my bed when I got back one day. While I didn't expect much sleep while staying in a shared room, I do expect it to be clean. On the up side, the staff are friendly and helpful, and it's in a really cool area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your honest assessment. We are sorry you couldn't sleep well because of the noise of the bars and your room mates. We try to talk to the bars around us, but since the hostel is right in the heart of Dresdens trendy district, its getting late at the weekends. The dust in your room is not acceptable. We got a new cleaning team from March, they work hard to improve the general cleanliness of the hostel. The problem is a road construction just in front of the hostel. They already closed the surface, its now ready to become asphalted. We all hope they will finish soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2018
8.0

Very loud slaming doors the whole night...but very nice stuff and very well located!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Its not nice to hear other people slamming the doors. We are sorry for that. We are thinking about a solution with door closers, that would maybe prevent the doors from slamming. You liked the staff and the location. Indeed, the hostel is right in Dresdens trendy district with lots of street live, bars and clubs all just around the corner. And our staff is very experienced and they have all personal tips for what to do and where to go.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×