Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Plus Collingwood

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.5
Rating 138 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 4.7
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
5.5
Rating 138 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 4.7
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jselby3401
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2018
2.0

Absolute sh*thole

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2018
2.6

This is the sh*t*iest hostel I have ever stayed in. Looks more like a cr**k house than a hostel, rooms are dirty, beds are about to break down, noise and music were so loud at night that I could barely sleep, people is awful with absolutely no respect for anyone and having big fights in the middle of the night, and plus the showers are almost outdoor and FROZEN. The sh*tt*est place ever.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for reviewing us. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us, we have management onsite 24/7 so we hope you were able to discuss your concerns with any of our team members. We take our duty of care seriously to ensure the safety our guests and unfortunately during your stay we had to evict some guests. We have showers and toilets on ground level and level 1 all undercover, just let us know if you need help to find these. We welcome all constructive feedback and have updated our procedures with your concerns. We wish you all the best.

  • gringueando3724
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Oct 2018
3.4

Rooms to small, or probably to many beds in them. Beds uncomfortable and noisy. Smelly bedrooms. Showers were alright. Kitchen average. Some people were pretty high, and looked scary

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review us. We have a large variety of room sizes and capacities; the one you were in was our cheapest dorm room. If you want more space, you'd need to to look into paying the extra for a smaller room with less beds. We ask guests to be mindful of their dorm mates as the larger dorms host many guests in fairly close proximity. This includes keeping their possessions tidy and showering regularly. If you have a problem with anything about your stay, we have 24/7 reception who are more than happy to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable so please come and ask! We don't want any of our guests to feel scared or threatened, everyone is here for a good time after all. Therefore, we have very strict rules on behaviour including drug abuse and possession of drug utensils. If there are any suspicions of guests using drugs on hostel grounds, this should be reported to management so that necessary action can be taken. Thank you again for your review and we wish you all the best on the rest of your adventure, Management.

  • sammihulbert4925
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2018
3.1

Uncomfortable beds and too many in one room. The WiFi was often turned off or did not work. Very loud at night, both music and people shouting. Hardly any kitchenware (mugs,bowls,plates etc). It’s located in the middle of Collingwood, however Collingwood is a rough area. The showers and toilets were clean but no hot water (tried a few times) We have been travelling lots and worst hostel we have stayed in ever!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for reviewing us. Sorry to hear your bed was uncomfortable, did you mention this to a member of staff at reception? We are here 24/7 and want every guest to enjoy a comfortable stay so please come and ask so we can do what we can to help! Unfortunately a few guests have recently had trouble with the WiFi due to such a large volume of people connecting to it at once, we are currently looking into this and apologise for the inconvenience. The music is regimentally switched of at 10pm and guests outside are told to lower their volume though are welcome to continue their evening in the courtyard. Noise disturbances after this should be reported so that the night manager can rectify the issue. We offer a variety of kitchen utensils and we also hire out kitchen packs if you need extra items which may not be readily available. We have also recently increased our store of kitchenware in line with the large influx of guests. Collingwood is a very trendy area with a huge variety of quirky cafes, bars and shops. Sorry to hear it didn't suit you as usually backpackers love the area! We hope you enjoy the next part of your adventure, Management.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2018
3.1

Impossible to sleep. People were partying all day and night long with loud music. Beds were extremely noisy from shifting around when people moved in their sleep and being on an uneven floor, the beds were extremely uncomfortable due to a very thin foam that was covered in the shipping plastic and placed on top of the metal bed frames lattice. The Stuffing in the pillow I received had disintegrated apart. Asked for another and was refused. Dirty and uninviting building.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear you were so disappointed with your stay. We want all our guests to enjoy their time with us which does quite often involve a bit of a party in the courtyard. However, the music is regimentally switched off by the night manager at 10pm with instruction to guests to lower the noise. If this is ignored, guests are given a warning. Unfortunately there isn't much we can do about the noise from other guests sleeping, we often advise guests who are having trouble with the noise to pop down to the local convenience store to pick up some earplugs which can be life savers if you have a snoring roommate! Regarding your discomfort in the bed: did you speak to a member of staff at reception about this problem? We're here 24hrs to help out in any way we can. I'm surprised to hear you were refused a pillow, once the hostel laundry is complete (generally about 4pm) we would have gladly provided you with a replacement / additional pillow. Thank you again for your review, we've taken your points on board and hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels - Management.

  • Stephenwaynereno
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Oct 2018
10.0

Hostel Collingwood is a wonderful Hostel to stay in. The management and staff are pleasant to be around and the location is good as you are within walking distance to train, tram, and city bus too and the overall ambiance of the place is pleasant as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you with us! We wish you all the best on your next adventure!

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2018
10.0

The people in this hostel are very nice. Everyone is helpful and the atmosphere in the hostel is awesome. I recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Sep 2018
4.3

The only things a little bit clean in this hostel is the toilet, the rest is pretty old and dirty. The kitchen is horrible, everything is dirty of old fat everywhere, guests doesn't wash up, pots and crockery are old and broken, I even got my stuff stolen. I doesn't trust to cook there at all. Stable guests are loud, people smoke weed outside every day. Bead and sheets looks very old and smell of stain. Maybe is good for long stay to save money but to be honest I wouldn't risk my health.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank-you for taking the time to review us. We have cleaners working a morning, afternoon and night shift daily and complete a deep clean twice a week. We do ask our guests to tidy up after themselves, like most hostels. However, we have updated our training and procedures to reflect your concerns in order to avoid any future issues. We also offer a variety of kitchen utensils and we also hire out kitchen packs if you need extra items which may not be readily available Thanks again for taking the time to review us.

  • clebermind8046
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2018
6.0

The staff really attentive but one night when I went back to the hostel after 10 pm the manager was sleeping and I had to knock on the door for around 10 minutes. The mattress is terrible and the kitchen is not really clean and we didn't find plugs to charge the phone. The location is good, the bathrooms were clean and comfortable to take a good shower. THERE'S NO FREE PARKING, you have to park the car on the street.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review - we were so happy to meet you! We apologise for the wait you experienced while staying with us. We have a manager onsite 24/7; our Night Manager is like a superhero making sure everything runs smoothly in the dark hours and in the event we are not at reception when you're returning from a big night out - please be patient. Our Night Manager will be checking on things within the hostel so please let us know if you intend on coming back late and we can make sure everything is ready for you. We have parking available all day every day, the parking is not a parking building so check with us at reception and we can direct you where the spots are. Just let us know what you need and any of our reception team can help you.

  • christopherbryce_145353
  • Samoa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2018
7.7

It’s a lil ghetto. Awesome people. Some things need upgrading. It’s always kept nice and clean. There was always free breakfast would be good if they started it earlier for people who work early hours of the morning also would have been awesome if there was maybe a night where dinner was provided also to people staying there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we loved meeting you! We have 24 hour management onsite so just let us know if you want some breaky before the allocated times of 7am to 9am. We do pot luck dinners from time to time depending on who's up for it. Just let us know. We hope to see you again soon.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×