Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Quetzal

  • CALLE ORQUIDEAS 10, MZA.14, SM 22. , CANCUN, QUINTANA ROO, Cancun, Mexico
19 Jul 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2018
3.7

Definitely not the biggest party hostel in Cancun! No atmosphere and hostel staff consistently demanding tips-appreciate this is established culture but by the end felt slightly harassed. Facilities not great as hostels go but not the worst. Most hostels operate a key card system allowing for efficient access... not this one-have to wait a century for staff to open the door. Hostel also take healthy commission from Chichen Itza excursion-if you want $20 cheaper then go elsewhere!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2018
9.4

Lovely hostel! Clean rooms, nice pool, super friendly stuff. Would stay there again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2018
9.7

Awesome place! We enjoyed our time there. The staff Gianni and Chino were very helpful. We’re definitely staying at this hostel next time we visit!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2018
10.0

Great people in this hostel. Love it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sophieschroeder16087774
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2018
3.7

Staff was super nice! The rooms are not actual rooms, they’re separated with curtains. Breakfast was not good. We left it after one day

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Apr 2018
4.6

We arrived at Quetzal expecting a party and to meet nice people, but when we got there, there was no people and we were told that nothing was happening that evening, because they didn't have any staff. We left the hostel and went elsewhere, even though we had paid for three nights. They wouldn't give us the money back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2018
9.4

I love this hostel. Great Atmosphere, the staff are really nice and its really good for organising parties, locally or in the Hotel Zone. Really good for solo travellers looking for friendly like minded people. Would recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • louisekarlsson6786780
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2018
8.0

The front door was the only door that could be locked. All the rooms didn't have any room key at all. It is located in the downtown area where the locals live. If you want to go to the beach it's 12 pesos (less than a US dollar) and 15-45 min on the bus. Cheap food around the area. There is a food market just 3 min away with authentic Mexican food. Most of the staff was amazing and super friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • caseysummers
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2018
6.9

One guest mentioned that their clothes bag had been stolen, however it seems that this is a rare occurrence and I did not personally experience any security concerns. Staff friendly and helpful, particularly Chino and Victor (associated tour guide). I did hear other staff members who were involved in cleaning duties speak about me in Spanish once or twice. Good standard of cleanliness, however the showers left a lot to be desired in terms of pressure/heat. Good stay overall. Nice free Tequila.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2018
4.3

As someone who has worked in hostels and stayed in many, I have to say this one was disappointing. After being recommended this one, I wasn’t expecting the world, but at the least helpful staff, a decent breakfast and a fun atmosphere. I found the staff were pretty MIA, breakfast was a cold fried egg on a tortilla and the atmosphere seemed lacking. I love a good party but this place wasn’t put together well and it was a “good luck, do it yourself” feel. I won’t be staying here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×