Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Santa Monaca

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 4955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 4955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • herobain4687
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2018
8.0

Good place especially if you’re not into partying. Kitchen and bathrooms were clean, and there were nice communal spaces. Slight drawback due to lack of gender neutral bathrooms/showers and the fact that showers were separated by only curtains, but otherwise the facilities were good. Great location. Felt purely functional instead of trying to create a community which is chill if you are travelling with friends or have your own plans. Absolutely the kind of thing we were looking for!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • osmanyukselkosar2384
  • Turkey, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2018
7.1

The dorms are very hot. People were nude.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review. Summer time in Florence is hot but we provide in some rooms AC and yours was the one! and to offer this service for all the Guests we are making very many new improvements to our hostel; air conditioning in all the rooms! And also plugs right next to your beds!! We always do our best to ensure a pleasant stay to our guests. Thanks again and we hope to host you next time you are in Florence. santa Monaca Staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jul 2018
6.9

Staying in the 22 bed dorm was overwhelmingly warm, it was hard to sleep (even with 3 fans on) and some people were even sleeping on the floor because it was cooler! The hostel was always clean which is a positive. But the kitchen lacked basic utensils like a bread knife and other cutlery.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us. The mixed room of 22 beds has also 1 AC wih the fans. We always do our best to ensure a pleasant stay to our guests! We are making very many new improvements to our hostel: air conditioning in all the other rooms and plugs right next to your beds!! The utensils of the kitchen are available for all our guests, we remind that asking at the reception we can help you to provide what you need that is used from other other people. Thanks again and we hope to host you next time you are in Florence. Kind Regards Santa Monaca Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2018
8.6

The hostel is very safe, there are people on desk the minute you walk in and there are lockers for each bed. It is a bit of a walk to get to the sites, but not bad enough to be a major inconvenience. There was no AC and a horrible fan, so that is my only complaint. Everyone was nice and loved my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are more than happy to read your suggestions for our hostel.We are making very many new improvements to our hostel; air conditioning in all the rooms and plugs right next to your beds!! We always do our best to ensure a pleasant stay to our guests and we can assure you your feedback helps us to improve Thanks again and we hope to host you next time you are in Florence. Kind Regards Santa Monaca Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
12th Jul 2018
7.7

Hostel Santa Monaca is a fine hostel for a night or two. It's in a great location on the less touristy side of Florence and if you stay here you must get gelati at S'brino- best gelati in Florence! The hostel itself is huge and therefore lacked the friendly chilled out nature of other smaller hostels. Rooms were super hot in the evening but to be expected travelling in the middle of summer. Would be helpful to have more power points in the rooms and reading lights by the beds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are more than happy to read your suggestions for our hostel.We are making very many new improvements to our hostel; air conditioning in all the rooms and plugs right next to your beds!! We always do our best to ensure a pleasant stay to our guests and we can assure you your feedback helps us to improve Thanks again and we hope to host you next time you are in Florence. Kind Regards Santa Monaca Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2018
8.0

The only thing I didn’t like from this place is that the rooms doesn’t have aircondition, we were 8 girls in a room and we all were melting so hot at night time more now that it’s summer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are more than happy to read your suggestions for our hostel.We are making very many new improvements to our hostel; air conditioning in all the rooms and plugs right next to your beds!! We always do our best to ensure a pleasant stay to our guests and we can assure you your feedback helps us to improve Thanks again and we hope to host you next time you are in Florence. Kind Regards Santa Monaca Staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
7th Jul 2018
8.3

Stayed in a mixed 22 bed dorm. Wasn’t enough plug sockets for everyone. Decent room for the money paid. Only staying one night and couldn’t have asked for anything more. Getting to the hostel from the train station to was a little difficult but it was a great location to get the centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are more than happy to read your suggestions for our hostel.We are making very many new improvements to our hostel; air conditioning in all the rooms and plugs right next to your beds!! We always do our best to ensure a pleasant stay to our guests and we can assure you your feedback helps us to improve Thanks again and we hope to host you next time you are in Florence. Kind Regards Santa Monaca Staff

  • bethan-mulcahy1289
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2018
8.3

They advertised a pasta cooking course at the restaurant down the road which we really recommend!! It was very hot in our room but they supplied 3 fans so they did try! It's hard to judge the cleanliness because it's all quite old but we had no issues at all and the staff were really nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are more than happy to read your review of our hostel.We are making very many new improvements to our hostel; air conditioning in all the rooms and plugs right next to your beds!! We always do our best to ensure a pleasant stay to our guests and we can assure you your feedback helps us to improve Thanks again and we hope to host you next time you are in Florence. Kind Regards Santa Monaca Staff

  • purplefoxee3184
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2018
9.4

A lovely hostel in a historic building. Clean toilets and showers, a good kitchen which is easy to use, and a decently-priced laundry service. There's a lovely nightly performance of some classic opera movements right next door, and we took advantage of the incredible gelato place, La Carraia, which is 5 minutes away. Only downside would be poor air flow through our dorm (8 beds). At night it was incredibly hot, though this might just be a symptom of staying in Florence in July...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • abihaywood425
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Jul 2018
9.1

Really lovely design in this place, stayed in the big room. The terrace was nice and the staff were friendly you can rent bikes to see the city. They have made attempts to fix the air con so it was more bearable than I expected based off previous reviews but it’s still that kind of hot in the rooms that sends you to sleep. The bathrooms are separate from all the rooms and the charging ports are at the end of each room which makes it a bit annoying to charge phones. Overall good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×