Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 5195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 5195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2018
9.1

Clean, friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable bed and a peaceful sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • meoconn154069
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2018
10.0

I stayed here for 4 nights and had a lovely time! The rooms were clean and the breakfast for 5 euro was perfect. I had an issue with a roommate getting sick and not cleaning up a mess, and the staff was extremely accommodating to move us to a new room immediately and take care of the issue. Wonderful staff and a great stay!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2018
7.4

Van Gogh is nice hostel overall. It is relatively new, inexpensive, and located close to the Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. However, there are some limitations. The building is designed as a hotel, so the 10-bunk room I stayed in had one bathroom. This meant I was frequently waiting a while to use it in the morning or evening. The location also has a weakness. Though it's close to the museums, it's a kilometer away from the nearest stretch of restaurants and nightlife.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2018
9.7

Stayed in a 6 bed private with a group of friends. Place was great for what we needed comfortable beds, good shower and an air con system that worked quickly for what you wanted cold or hot. Place is in a solid spot close to a supermarket and within walking distance to a lot of must see spots and places in Amsterdam such as the I AMSTERDAM sign. Overall could not complain with the hostel at all, staff are also all accommodating and friendly and will also help when asked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
3rd Jan 2018
9.4

Great location, good quality rooms. Towel included. No hostel vibe, but great for a short stay in the centre of the museum district.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2018
10.0

I'm completely satisfied with this place. We were a group of 8 people, got a room with 4 double-beds. Each person got a card for the room, so everyone was flexible to go out. The staff were very warm and helpfull. Had a great stay here, I can just recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jan 2018
10.0

Best hostel ever ! It is so clean you could eat on the floor. Beds are great, the location is nice and the staff is helpful as well. Do not hesitate one second, it’s the perfect place to stay in Amsterdam 😁

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2018
9.7

The heater was bit too high, but over all the staff and everyone was super friendly. The breakfast was really good! The beds were comfortable and the showers were clean! Loved the location! It was close to all the museums and the bus/tram station. I would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2018
7.1

The hostel was located in a quite and safe area, sourrounded my all the major Museums. It was close to city center, which was easily reached by foot or by tram. The bedsheets had spots and hair all over, which made the first night uncomfortable, but we appreciated the daily cleaning service. The temperature regulation in the shower was a bit tricky, so an explanation beforehand would have been useful. Free breakfast and more common areas would have been great aswell. For a short stay, it's ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2017
10.0

Amazing place to stay, location is spot on! The staff are wonderful and defo’ stay there again :) Till next time Amsterdam 💛

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×