Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Van Gogh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 5420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 5420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2018
4.0

Employ staff that actually enjoy dealing with customers. Staff were incredibly rude.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2018
10.0

Hands down, this is one of the best hostels I´ve stayed at in Europe. Every room is remarkably nice, it is located across from the tram/bus stop along with the Van Gogh Museum and countless shops/restaurants, and the staff are remarkably friendly. After realizing I would be unable to check in the first night due to a flight delay, I emailed the hostel and they were more than accomodating, as my reservation did not get cancelled; and for that, I am forever grateful. I would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2018
8.3

Great place to stay. Location was a little out of the way of the center of town. Wasn't so much a hostel as much as it was a hotel, so it wasn't the best place to meet people like you can in a hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • oliviasapin6772
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2018
5.4

Terrible bed, would have been more comfortable to sleep on a floor. Not a hostel where people really interact. Rude checkout guy in the morning. Nice girl in the afternoon.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • joannamatthews12906
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2018
8.0

Friendly staff, large room and quiet area. Thought is was a bit expensive though .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • katyrichardson3503
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2018
8.9

We stayed in a private room for 3 people which was perfect for us - young professionals wanting to have a good time and not stay in a dorm! Recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trishf50086752
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2018
8.3

Excellent location.Found interior of reception dark and the receptionist rather curt. There is a charge for coffee/tea in the breakfast area. Stairs a little steep .And room is small.But shower is excellent.And the bed/TV , too (though a channel guide would have helped.Dust was visible under bed-but little enough really.And of course being English,i really wanted a tea-it took me a while to work out the Espresso Machine ,and the small coffee cup was less than adequate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • davidlky123283
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Apr 2018
9.1

I had a great time staying at Hostel Van Gogh. The place was very clean and it was nice to have the sheets done for you. The rooms come with a small safe to keep things in but sadly has very little room for keeping luggage. The location was really convenient and the neighborhood was quiet but close enough to the lively part of the city by walking. I would stay here again in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jennymontesi697
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2018
10.0

Absolutely loved this place. First time international travelers and hostel stay and it was the best experience we could have asked for. The hostel was super clean and such a perfect area to just get up and walk out and around the city. I will be back here for sure one day. I would recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • guillermotraibel9461
  • Uruguay, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Apr 2018
5.4

The worst thing was how rude was the asian guy at the front desk. This is not actually a hostel. It does not have the facilities you expect from a hostel. If you book an 8 person room you need to share one bathroom with the whole room and wait for hours to just brush your teeth. At a hostel you expect to have a bigger shared bathroom with more showers, toilets, etc. Would NOT recommend this at all. The only good thing was the location.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×