Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

India House Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 6776 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 6776 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • stephenball1029475
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2018
10.0

I cannot express how good of a time I had during my stay at India! The whole experience lends itself to a fabulous mixture of partying and genuine enjoyment. If there is one aspect of this place that shines a bit brighter than the others, it would be the staff. Huge should out to Etsyana and Betty for a brilliant Thirsty Thursday pub crawl through the Quarter; to Lisa for kicking ass at the check-in counter; and, of course, to Lu for being himself. Cheers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hallemily8552
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2018
10.0

Lovely place, great room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Oct 2018
9.1

Loved it! It's actually amazing. Staff fun, friendly and helpful. There's something going on every night. A great mixture of people here, making for an incredible stop in the city. Would come back without hesitation on return to NOLA.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Oct 2018
10.0

The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. I met some amazing people there. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and it was clean and decently comfortable. I would absolutely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Oct 2018
10.0

This is one of the best hostels I have stayed in. The atmosphere is really nice, it is chill and easy to meet new people as it is really big. Definitely recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • amandawood42755
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2018
8.0

A wonderful first landing space. I arrived at about 1am on a Friday night but I was not alone and the place was still bustling. The decor and atmosphere totally NOLA. It is about a 30-40 minute walk to the French Quarter but I did not explore the mid City area so I cannot comment on local happenings. Staff are friendly and the age range of guests went from about 18 to 94 since famous hostel goer John Waite was staying there at the same time as me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Oct 2018
9.7

Had a great time with the other guests! Bailey from the staff was particularly helpful. Cheers, Arj

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • barbiemtp2773
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2018
10.0

Absolutely charmingly eclectic with the combination of atmosphere, guests and staff! I have never been someplace so welcoming and warm. It truly was my “home” away from HOME for 2 1/2 days! A special shout out to staff members who helped with this awesome experience; Lisa, Audrey, Louie, Wyatt, Nate & Fabio. Just wonderful!!! 👍🏼👍🏼

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rhino_8075080
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2018
8.0

Don't expect to get any sleep there, but that's just because you'll be chatting with some incredibly interesting traveler or playing a drinking game on the back patio or just chilling in the living room. This place is great to get inside info about NO and beyond. Definitely A LOT of fun, and a great experience to have if you're into more than just staying in a boring 'ol motel room :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • etalors2005457
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2018
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay at India House. It's such a fun but also relaxing place. The supermarket, restaurants, public transportation are all accessible so it's easy to get to most places. The staff was great, especially Extiana, John and Fabian were such sweethearts, they made me feel at ease and answered any questions I had. India House is such a gem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×