Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

International Student Center

  • 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2781 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2781 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mhawk32544702
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2018
6.6

It was very hot in the rooms which made sleeping at night very unpleasant.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • amyweston932955
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
28th Jun 2018
10.0

I absolutely loved my stay here, and I’d come back. In a beautiful location, close to Central Park, shops, cafes, a short walk to the subway - This is a really cute hostel with a cosy/homely feel. The staff were friendly and accommodating, beds were comfy, the place is clean but needs a bit of TLC for an old building, you keep your luggage bags downstairs, the wifi works but not on floor 4, breakfast isn’t included but it’s easy to cook, or find a brekkie spot on Broadway, Thanks for everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for this helpful review! It was a joy to have you here, we hope to see you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jun 2018
9.4

Staff were so friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. People in my room were awesome as well, all round great stay. Only downside is suitcases/bags are not allowed in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for visiting us! We are so glad you had a good time, come again!

  • rossdalgliesh19905416
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2018
5.1

The rooms are huge but you have to leave your bags down stairs. Your not aloud in your room for 3 hours for cleaning yet the bathrooms still disgusting. Your given the WiFi password upon arrival but it doesn’t work unless you sit on the stairs. The dorms where far to hot and there’s no passes to the top bunk so hope you can climb. The staff don’t know lol that much about New York and don’t seem to care about the hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback, we will take it into account. Hope to see you again!

  • ryannapier2337
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jun 2018
3.7

Bunk beds with no ladder, no AC so hot sweaty bedrooms, shower takes over 5 mins to warm up, poor to no WiFi, no towels/breakfast like all other US hostels we’ve been to, not enough lockers in each room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry for the inconveniences. We are working on bettering our wifi service. We do have AC in the bedrooms so next time please come talk to us about the temperature!

  • danielbermudez001527
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2018
9.7

Great Staff and a good vibe! And the the location is just great! Is just a couple blocks from the subway and right next to Central Park. Just a great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Gracias! Ya sabes que siempre bienvenido

  • sweetmadelaine
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2018
10.0

All the staff were super kind and fun to talk to. As a solo female traveler, safety is key, and this hostel gave me the security I wanted. Location was awesome, close to lots of food and shops. Bunks were comfy, rooms were clean, common area was cozy and inviting. Could not have asked for more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for this awesome review! We hope to see you again (:

  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2018
8.9

Great location. Awesome staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It was great to meet you, come again!

  • laap4420
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2018
7.1

It was cool enough in a typical June night,I don't know how it would be in warmer temperature as it lacks proper cooling. It's not the most secure hostel - one night some apparently random person came to the room, left when he was questioned by another guest (there are no staff members during night) - remember to bring your own lock. I woke up half the nights, but could still sleep. Overall atmosphere was quite good. Shower had no temperature adjustment, first it was too cold and then too hot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2018
6.6

The staff was great but there is no AC or common spaces. The closest metro station is closed till october so location wasn’t the best now.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for visiting us at ISC! We have not put the AC on for the summer yet, we apologize if it was hot. It is unfortunate that the 86th stop is closed, however the 1 train is a 10 minute walk away with the same access. We hope to see you again in the future!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×