Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

International Student Center

  • 38 West 88th Street, Manhattan NY 10024, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2888 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2888 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • yousrassaleh7810
  • Egypt, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2018
6.0

The rooms and bathrooms are smelly and not clean at all

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Oct 2018
7.7

It is a good place to stay with low budget. This hostel has two issues: (i) you only have internet in the lobby and kitchen and (ii) the baggage is not allowed to be in the dorms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jmchaves
  • Costa Rica, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Sep 2018
9.4

All good. But there is no electrical outlets close to the bed to charge the phone. The WIFI didn't work in the room, you need to be outside. I couldn't move too much in the bed because it makes a terrible noise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Sep 2018
8.6

My dorm had no lockers and the door was always open (4th floor, 8bed female), it would have been nice to have a locker in the room/ on the same floor because having to walk downstairs gets annoying

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Sep 2018
6.6

All large bags are left on shelves with the front desk, security is questionable. Convenient Location. Friendly and helpful staff. Personally had poor experience with an loud and obnoxious roommate, but that's not the hotel's responsibility. Cleanliness is acceptable but nothing special. Was least expensive beds I could find in Manhattan. 1 bathroom per room, and in an 8 bed dorm it can become inconvenient.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Sep 2018
7.1

pros: nice staff (Sarah!), in a fantastic location, full kitchen with fridge to use. Cons: this was what you’d expect for the price. I stayed in a 8-bed female dorm. I had to hike up 4 huge flights of stairs to my room. You aren’t allowed to bring your suitcase up there so it was really annoying having to go back and forth from the main floor to the 4th to access my things. There weren’t lockers or shelves or even hooks in the room :( building needs upgrades (new mattresses,bath mats)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2018
10.0

It was my first experience of staying at a hostel and it was a good one. The location is very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lavedadavis524784
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Sep 2018
10.0

Excellent. So glad I discovered this place. So peaceful here. Can't beat the location. Satisfied customer here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • morris_3533927
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Sep 2018
8.0

This hostel is very simple, if you’re looking for a bed, shower, and access to a kitchen in a safe spot in Manhattan this will do. If you’re looking for anything fancier you won’t find it here. The hostel is clean, and safe, and in an easy to access spot with lots of food options within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2018
8.9

Great location and awesome staff! The WiFi was unreliable, but mostly fine. And it would've been cool if they ran social events; it was a very quiet hostel where everyone staying kept to themselves. Definitely not a bad thing if that's what you're after or just spent a day walking the length of Broadway and just needing to chill. All in all had an awesome experience staying here - would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×