Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ivory Towers Backpacker Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 325 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 325 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • chrisbrave73492
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Aug 2018
8.0

My daughter and I had a pleasant stay at Ivory Towers Backpacker Lodge. The day we arrived by bus we were too early to check in as we had only travelled from Franz Josef, so we walked to Lake Matheson some Ks away and got drenched along the way. The only shuttle guy in the town couldn't be contacted, so the backpacker lodge owner's daughter picked us up for nothing. It was very kind of both the owner and the daughter. I have already recommended this backpackers' to others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2018
7.7

Lady who run the place seemed rather short with us. We called ahead of time to check our late arrival wasn’t an issue as stated on the confirmation. And she didn’t seem happy even though there was prior warning. Internet didn’t work, sauna you have to pay for jacuzzi was a massive bonus! Hostel was clean, beds were ok for the night or two but not great long term. When asking to a light so I could turn fire on she told me she was busy, when I did it myself she made a point of slamming doors.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2018
5.1

I didn’t enjoy my stay at this hostel. The other guests didn’t seem very friendly and just kept to themselves. The kitchen was very smelly which also lead into the hallways and rooms. Fox glacier is very small and is mainly good for hikes... if it’s raining there isn’t much else to do. The WiFi in the hostel is very slow and lasts about half an hour. The rooms aren’t very safe as they don’t lock automatically and therefore the last person to leave the rooms needs to lock it (easily forgotten).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
11th Jul 2018
9.4

Great little place, extremely cosy. Probably not the best place for a solo traveller as there are a lot of families, but if you like to keep to yourself then it’s perfect. Couldn’t really fault it, has everything you need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
6th Jul 2018
8.3

The hostel had everything I needed. I found the staff acted like the guests got in the way of their routine - rather than working around guests to make a pleasant stay. The rooms were left with doors wide open during cleaning which was poor security especially with external access and staff moving about in other rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sjoukjevanalst2587
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2018
9.1

Great hostel, and very equiped kitchen. Loved the fireplace.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • patrick_fabel
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
24th Jun 2018
7.4

Only here two nights and it was perfect for that. FREE PARKING is always nice. Only real complaints I had at all with this hostel was no lockers in room and out room mates the first night were probably the messiest people I’ve ever shared a room with but that’s not the hostel’s fault at all. They ended up leaving the next day so it wasn’t too bad. All and all if I was in fox again I’d stay here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tulianyteixe
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
3rd Jun 2018
8.3

Good hostel, however missing some little details which makes difference...wifi free, but only 250mg, which is nothing...you use it and in 10min is gone. No bed light, not bed plugs, no locker, bed not confortable...only for one night was fine, but for longer I’m not sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • CharleyAlley
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th May 2018
10.0

AMAZING! The staff were so friendly, and even let us check in really early. Quiet as it was off season but that added to our stay. Movie room is fabulous, and the free WiFi was great. Super clean and spacious kitchen and plenty of room to sit and eat. Showers are amazing! Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • omermilikovski9241
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd May 2018
10.0

Great place in a small town, definitely worth staying there for the night if you're looking for a place in Fox Glacier

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×