Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jaffa Gate Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 949 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Sep 2018
7.1

Mixed review. It’s a fabulous facility with a couple of major limitations. Staff was very friendly. Rooftop was fantastic. >Don’t stay in room 11 or others in lower level. It doesn’t have a window and has severe moisture issues. It’s not the staffs fault. It’s just the design of the rooms. No food available. Showers were small and not user friendly. But all in all not a bad place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • yitzvann4651
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2018
9.1

Of course I enjoyed the stay. The location is great The cleanliness is supurb The family run hostel is nice people The style of the bldg is real unique to The old City and brings one to appreciate The living quarters of people thru the generations. God bless you and your business . Yitz

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2018
9.4

Great spot. Ideally located. No frills but would definitely return again. Kind, accommodating staff; clean; quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • leannhill4623
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2018
10.0

Perfect location with answers to all Israel travel opportunities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2018
8.9

Location cannot be beat! Right next to Jaffa Gate in the Old City. Anybody wanting to experience the Old City need look no further. Totally authentic. Parts of the building are over 600 years old. Do not expect fancy mod-cons. The plumbing gets the job done. No bed bugs, but mosquitos can be annoying, as anywhere in Jerusalem. Cheap! Very quiet considering the location. The neighbors have a wonderful cat that quickly became my friend! Bollywood spectaculars on the T.V,! Shalom!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2018
6.3

The location is of course, perfect! However, for almost no money, they could make the facilities pleasant. Simply patch the holes in the window screens, and add a fan to each room. So simple, but it would make a world of difference. The staff was very warm and welcoming. The place was clean. We rented 3 rooms, and the above comments were echoed by all of us. Spend the money to add a fan and keep the mosquitos out. We finally bought our own fan and mosquito repellant plug ins. They work!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2018
7.4

Ideally located within short walking distance to all quarters and cafes/shops just outside. Shared multi-level terrace has nice views of the Old City. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Negative reviews were due to the bathroom door not closing, so it had to be propped closed, and lack of ventilation/fans/AC in the room, despite leaving the door open - to keep it cool. Warning: our room was contaminated with bed bugs and the staff didn’t recognize it as a problem. We left with many bites.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We don't have any bed bugs, that was a mosquito coz you left your door open all night even you had a huge window with a screen.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2018
8.0

A great place to stay if you want the basics in accomodation. It was fantastic to walk up to the roof where a great view iin the old city is experienced.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2018
7.1

Really interesting place. The room i stayed in was 600 years old, although the stones seemed much older, being from inside the old city. Some had definitely seen battle, you can tell from the marks of ancient fires on them. The rooftop view is amazing with a view into Hezekiah's pool, right ahead of you there is the Church of the Sepulcher and you can see aright over to mount Scopus. problems were that not many guests seem to stay there so very quiet and the facilities need much improvement.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • robertehe5788
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2018
10.0

Great staff! The manager Noor is so helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×