Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jano's Backpackers

  • 69 Shuncheng Nanlu Dongduan, South Gate East Side Inside the City Wall, Xi'an, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jezmoulton137
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2018
9.4

staff were incredibly friendly and helpful going the extra mile! great chilled out atmosphere and the attached bar has fantastic beer

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mirandapayne3791
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2018
8.6

Good hostel made excellent by the location and the very friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mlohmann3700
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2018
9.1

This hostel is great for party people since it is directly in the streets best pub street. The beers there are hella expensive for China though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • noracastagna7106
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2018
4.3

The rooms are located underground. No windows so no fresh air just lot of incense to hide the bad smell coming from the toilets. The hostel is pretty dirty. Dogs and cats are allowed to stay in the building and to sleep within the rooms. Toilets are super dirty and super ugly: showers are full of mushrooms on the plastic curtains and it is impossible to close the doors of the wc.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2018
3.7

I have lived in China for a year and I have travelled to many places and I have stayed in Chinese standards of hostels but this was a new low. The basement rooms have no air circulation, I felt as if I was sleeping in a room of mold. The air was really heavy and it was hard to breathe. I can`t believe that this place has such a high review. It is a good location but that is all. It is really greasy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • sarahcleary38777
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Jul 2018
7.7

I loved the hostel and the staff were great. Perfect Location. However I felt that my bed was really damp and I couldn’t sleep properly. I would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2018
9.7

Very affordable place in an incredible location. Perfect for eating cheap local foods around the corner and also surrounded by many nice bars. Staff was quite helpful, especially the man who works nights with the glasses, he was very friendly and welcoming!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nadhirah
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2018
8.9

Since we planned to explore Xi'an inside the wall (other than the Terracotta Army), the location of Jano's was perfect for us. The staff that greeted us were very friendly and even helped us with transportation routes. Female and male toilets and shower rooms were separate, which is a major plus. Also the dog that stays there is an absolute sweetheart!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hannah-mcgee
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st May 2018
7.7

Lovely hostel right beside the south gate! Super easy to get to from Xi'an railway station simply cross the road and you'll find the bus stop for 603 which drops you of right beside the south gate... You'll see a couple 7 eleven type stores then take the lane that runs directly beside the wall and you will see the signs for the hostel. Staff were amazing helped me and my sister with directions and even translated to Chinese for us so we wouldn't get lost.. And they have a dog!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • celinehautefaye5098
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
23rd May 2018
6.9

Cheap hostel!! I think good for a short stay if you want to save some money but no atmosphere and the facilities are ok but really basic!! The staff is nice!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×