Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel

  • 36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 3623 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 3623 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • carmecalduch5925
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2018
4.9

There's no kitchen, no plates, cups or cutlery. The space is old and not very well taken care of. Expensive for that kind of hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • tashabolton5255
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2018
7.4

Location was great, right by a subway and also right by central park, most days I just walked into midtown manhattan through central park rather than get the subway. Rooms were fine, cleaned regularly although not sure how thorough that actually was as around the side of rooms was still quite dirty. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Price seems alongside other hostels in NYC

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • estradadaniela551274
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2018
4.3

I guess you get for what you pay for. I've stayed at plenty of hostels and this is definitely the worst I've ever stayed at. They had terrible customer service. Employees looked so angry, maybe it's a NYC thing. Glad I only had to stay here for one night. Also, check in time is at 3pm. We asked if we could leave our bags, they had us put out bags in a closet. They didn't lock the closet or anything, so don't take anything valuable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • madreliz168
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2018
9.4

I arrived late and sweaty, and was so happy to see a clean, cool bed waiting for me within minutes of the subway station (which was not so clean and cool!. The bathrooms were excellent with shampoo and body wash others had left behind. It was quiet all night, and staff were very hospitable. Even though it claims to be a youth hostel, I felt no qualms about being 60 years old!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2018
8.0

Kitchen does not have cooking pots, only microwave, bread toaster and coffee machine. I strongly suggest you to bring you own locks for the lockers. Overall experience was good, I only have two point of improvement: one: the shared rooms sometimes smells because people let their dirty clothes and shoes hanging(actually this German guy had some foot pods that stinks in his bed), they should enforce some clean space policy, two: I don't like luggage place been open during the day, it's not secure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2018
3.1

It was simply bad. They didn't check my ID so probably they hadn't checked the other customer's IDs either. besides, they don't take any responsibilitites of stolen stuff which is nonesense if they don't check the IDs. Moreover, they didn't write in a porper way that tax is not included on the price shown on your website. The last thing is facilities are not developed enough comparing its high price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2018
5.7

The AC window unit from the floor above us was dripping on our AC all night every night with a loud metal noise which made it very hard to sleep. Also the tables in the 'lounge' area were filthy (we saw some small flies on them). Front desk service is very good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
28th Jul 2018
7.1

Has all the basics but the shower facalities are a bit poor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cprimeau8691
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2018
5.7

I booked a 7 person dorm and there were definitely 8 beds packed into the small space. There was only one outlet in the WHOLE room, so only two people could charge their phone at once. Bathrooms were dirty. The place was cheap though and the location was good. Storage room does NOT get locked and they do not keep track of who takes which bag from inside so it would be easy for someone to take your belongings. I risked it and my stuff was fine though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • scpedag6821
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2018
5.1

The hostel would be okay for 2 nights maximum. The bathroom is horrible, "shower room" even worse. The whole hostel is comfortless. It is hard to have a good night's sleep or a good shower after a whole day walking around NY. The location is good though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×