Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

John Galt

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • weronikar35994
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2018
6.0

I would not recommend this hostel to a solo female traveller- when I stayed all guests and staff were men which made me feel uncomfortable especially as they were not friendly. Location was also scary to walk to at night. Very basic facilities- slept with my bags as there were no lockers and there was a small swimming pool sized puddle in the shower room. Was also very noisy from the outside all night. Otherwise, proximity to town centre/coach station/supermarket was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • chrisewinter2370
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jul 2018
8.9

John Galt is a lovely quiet hostel. Very small and not many people in there but the location is unbeatable. It is so close to the train station and the rest of the city of Brno. Very very clean and well maintained. The staff are a bit quite but definitely helpful. This is NOT a party hostel by any means. More of a relaxing place to stay. The facilities are good. Would really recommend to older travellers and families or younger people looking for a rest from the high octane holiday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Jun 2018
9.1

Very clean hostel, good facilities and decent beds. The atmosphere was a little lacking but I think that was just due to the guests that were there at the time, staff were friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2018
6.6

Basic hostel with only the things a traveler needs. The staff were unwelcoming and behaved a little haphazardly, forgetting to even give me keys. There wasn’t much of an atmosphere, just a place to sleep. Not terrible, not amazing, not my favorite.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • icemandalton5561
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2018
8.3

I had a good time here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2018
4.9

Don't recommend this place. Very small "hostel", old dirty mattresses. They don't have enough keys for guests. The receptionist was not available in the morning. No hairdryers. I only had a wish to leave this hostel as early as possible. Better to pay some euros more and stay in an other hostel in Brno.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th May 2018
10.0

Good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2018
4.0

Stay away from this place. It never gets cleaned, dust everywhere, no possibility to lock rooms, dirty showers. There are better (and cheaper) hostels in Brno. The owner is just a moneygrabber who is never there and don't care at all about the place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • dizzysunglow3658
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Apr 2018
4.9

This hostel was adequate. It did the job of a bed and a bathroom but that was it. No lockers in the rooms for valuables. No lock on the bedroom doors. We asked for recommendations for places food and were given no help. There was no attempt to be at all friendly or inviting by the staff and no help with navigating the city, not even with a city map. However, saying that, it is smack bang in the middle of Brno which was a wonderful city and it was nice to be a stones throw away.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2018
6.6

Great location. The cost was definitely reflective in the facilities. Very minimal. But the shower was hot:) there were keys to the building and the hostel but the room itself didn’t lock. There were no lockers either. Outlets were not close to the beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×