Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Jolly Swagman Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 952 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 952 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
31st May 2018
7.4

The toilet is clean, stuff is very nice, kitchen is alright. but in the room is not so good, and don’t know why, it happens to some hostels,the sheets of blanket they give is only just one layer, which means your skin is very dangerous to touch the blanket, because everyone use the same blanket. What if someone get infection?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • racheldke3309
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2018
10.0

I loved my time at Jolly Swagman Backpackers, I can't wait to go back to Sydney and I will definitely be staying with them again. I loved the location, within walking distance to city centre, transportation, and had a shuttle to the airport. The night life was great, not necessarily the quietest area but lots of late night food options and I felt safe. The staff were so fun, friendly, and helpful. The whole place had a very welcoming atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2018
9.1

Very friendly hostel. Clean. Nice staff. Having a fridge not in the kitchen was a bit annoying. A whole floor had no water for a day. And there's just not enough toilets. Overall it was a good stay though. I'd stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th May 2018
7.4

Rooms are basic but clean, lockers and fridge provided. It’s an old building. Bathrooms were clean but only 2 toilets and showers per floor so you often had to wait. Free wifi was good. Free breakfast was a let down for the simple fact ther was 1 toaster for the whole hostel and you had to wait around 20 minutes to toast your bread. Good location by the station but Kings Cross isn’t the nicest of areas. Early check out time of 9am. Cash needed for key deposit and don’t forget your passport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • karljosephotoole19846208
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2018
4.9

The staff are probably the only redeeming feature, other than that it’s probably the worst hostel I’ve stayed in. The room was gross, stank & the beds were uncomfortable, I felt dirty sleeping on them! check out is 9am, you can only check in at 2pm, I’m not sure what they do in the 5 hours but cleaning is certainly not one of them! No atmosphere, if you’re a solo traveller not here to work this is probably not the place for you! Overall not value for money! Give the place a lick of paint man!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th May 2018
10.0

Had a great one night stay - they had everything I needed for a great price and the staff was awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th May 2018
10.0

Great hostel, incredible staff, very welcoming and friendly. 10/10 will stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th May 2018
9.7

Awesome place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th May 2018
9.4

stayed here before, perfect hostel and cheap too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • finellaceci791502
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2018
9.7

Good Hostal :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×