Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 4019 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 4019 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2018
4.9

Pillows for rent were horrible and flat for all 6 of us in our party, staff at front desk seemed annoyed to answer questions, bathrooms were wet and and dirty, and shower curtains dont close all the way. To get the lights on fully in our dorm someone would have to climb up on a bunk to plug in the lights. Kitchen/social room is right next to our room and you could hear people up being loud and partying until 3:30 in the morning. Construction started around the building at 8:00 each morning.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • dansinosich4296
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Sep 2018
9.7

On my solo trip throughout Iceland I stayed at the Kex. Not only was it a really interesting looking hostel but the staff were amazing. The live jazz music on Tuesday was phenomenal and it’s by far the best way to meet new adventurous people. The location is great, the hostel is great and the staff are great. In all highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • emiaojwtd213
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2018
9.4

Great place! Kitchen and bathrooms were a little unkempt at times but the staff was timely with cleanup.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2018
9.1

KEX was awesome. The atmosphere was great, especially in the common rooms, restaurant and bar. There are many bathrooms and showers available. The kitchen was very large and easy to cook in with others. The beds were comfy. Only issue was construction, but they gave us a free beer token to make up for it. The location was perfect, walking distance to everything. I would definitely stay at KEX again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2018
9.1

Great hostel that’s easy to meet people, the $10 for extra linens is ridiculous because all you get is a blanket (the pillow and sheet are included even if you don’t pay for extra linens). Only other issue is that the lockers are very narrow and even a small suitcase won’t fit. Loved all the different places to hang out though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2018
5.1

Many of the bathrooms were out of service during our stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2018
9.1

I loved the location. People staying here wanted to have a good time, socialize, meet new people. Bar had great beer and entertainment. End of hall lounge a major hub of activity. If you want to sleep, this is not the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • emmajouzaa3541
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2018
3.1

Good location but avoid at all costs if you actually want to sleep. We stayed for one night on the third floor, there was live music downstairs which was so loud the beds were vibrating. We did not use the showers as they were extremely dirty and too few for the amount of rooms. Toilets were basic. The room was fine and basic however the beds were super squeaky. Location is good for getting to places. If you want to sleep I would avoid and stay elsewhere. Very overpriced!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th Sep 2018
8.0

Cool hostel, but it’s massive so harder to make friends. Kitchens could definitely be better, as limited space to cook. It’s not cheap but then again you can sell your firstborn for a meal in Iceland so it’s fairly reasonable. There was some cool live music on every couple of nights. Definitely need power points for each bed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Sep 2018
7.1

Kex seems like it is part hostel, part function space for locals. My room was on the same floor as the bar/restaurant, which meant the bathrooms for us were the same as for the people at the events being held at the hostel. It's pretty awkward to be in your pyjamas, waiting in a long line to clean your teeth, as the bathroom is packed with locals who are all drinking and dancing on their night out. Probably wouldn't be an issue for the upper floors. No power plugs for each bed wasn't great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×