Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

KEX Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3712 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3712 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jenniferkailey8471
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2018
10.0

Great location, awesome space. Bit of a party vibe but they provide ear plus, and with my eye mask I was out like a light. Construction next door so they gave tickets for free beers. It was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2018
8.9

I really enjoyed KEX. The bathroom situation was a little weird, so many different doors for different bathrooms, some with shared showers and some without. I was just staying overnight and new I wouldn’t be showering there so it didn’t both me too much. Bar food was phenomenal and good beer. Set up a good environment for meeting other solo travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • yukonpazypan6847
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jun 2018
8.0

The staff I met were helpful in making my short stay enjoyable. Comfortable with an excellent lounge looking over the harbour.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jacobskrutowski8461
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2018
8.9

Staff were great and helped with all questions about places to see, travel, etc. Atmosphere was very social and friendly. Great value especially for Reykjavik. Great diversity in clientele. All ages and genders. A better storage area (both for luggage and in dorm room is only complaint)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jun 2018
10.0

Loved my stay very nice and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nfarbod8853
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jun 2018
10.0

Very cool and hip hostel with great vibes, amazing facilities and value for money. Definitely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
17th Jun 2018
9.1

Really cool vibes, awesome design and delicious food!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2018
6.6

Definitely a social hostel. Staff wasn’t very welcoming either and they seemed a bit annoyed if you had questions. It’s a great place to go to meet people and have drinks. If you’re planning on going on long hikes it isn’t the ideal place to sleep, as it is very noisy. The rooms face the smoking patio and bar area, so you can hear people into the night. The electrical plugs are on the ground for your phones and what not. The beds in the dorms don’t have a shelf for you to put your things.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2018
9.4

Really great hostel in the heart of Reykjavik, with a phenomenal bar/restaurant on the main floor. Rooms were pretty standard for a nicer hostel. Lots of private bathrooms available, which were cleaned regularly. A little pricey, but so is all of Iceland. One of the best hostels I've stayed at... definitely a must-visit for hostel dwellers in Reykjavik!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jun 2018
10.0

Awesome place, great location and perfect travellers atmosphere. Expensive bar food and drinks but that’s iceland. Showers and bedrooms were clean and tidy. Stayed here after Hlemmur and was much better!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×