Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kaza Rio

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jul 2018
9.1

We stayed one night in Rio and I will be coming back to Kaza Rio for another night as soon as next week! One of our group was suffering with illness and the staff were understanding and accommodating, especially Luiza. The location is far better than it seems because of the ease of public transport links to Novo bus station and then the Estacio metro links to Copacabana and Cristo Redentor. Free tea/coffee in the morning is always a blessing and the dorm beds were a good standard relatively.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay! We are glad that you had an excellent time with us! See you soon!

  • hollyfriett907067
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2018
8.0

Good value, cheap dorms, clean toilets. Seemed to be more staff than guests. Area isnt great but it is easy to get the metro about. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks for your stay. We are glad that you had an amazing time with us! Hope to see you soon!

3rd May 2018
6.0

Staff are great. Security is excellent Location is alright The hostel was very quiet but if you like relaxed atmosphere that’s fine Booked a private room & the toilet had mould all over the seat! Wouldn’t stay again tbh

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, we are very sorry for that. As you can see through our preview reviews our cleanliness standards are vey high. We will double check with the person responsible for cleaning and make sure that will never happen again.

27th Apr 2018
9.4

I love this Hostel. The staff are very helpful. I really recommend this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks for your stay! We are glad that you had an amazing time with us! hope to see you soon! Cheers Paula

1st Apr 2018
8.6

Great little location next to estació station, meaning you can hop and off the metro (a necessity in Rio) really easily. We actually walked back from Lapa (region with loads of bars/restaurants) and it only took about 25 mins. The chill out areas upstairs are great, with two outside elements to relax in. Only downside is the lack of gutters, so one side gets pretty wet during a storm! Good enough facilities wo whip your own rice and beans dish! Some good advice from the staff and a good laug

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your time with us! We are thinking how to manage the gutters! =)

  • dfiorentino921150
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2018
10.0

Kaza Rio is not just a hostel, but also an experience. The hostel itself is very clean, with a lovely roof deck in a very quiet, safe part of the city. What sets Kaza Rio apart from any other hostel is the staff. They are truly dedicated to their work and are passionate about sharing their city with their guests. They took us to parts of the city that are off the beaten path for tourists but beloved by locals. If you want to experience a different side of Rio, look no further than Kaza Rio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your time with us! We are glad that you had a great time! Hope to see you soon!

26th Mar 2018
10.0

Kaza Rio was exactly what I was looking for. Clean, safe, affordable, and in a part of Rio de Janeiro that made me feel like a traveler than a tourist. The staff was wonderful and super helpful, and gave great recommendations for bars, restaurants, and great samba parties where we were the only foreigners! If you're looking to get a feel for what it's like to live in Rio, this is the place for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay! This is exactly what we work for! Safe travels

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
14th Mar 2018
8.6

Nice hostel, nice location, good rooms, good WiFi, and bar! loads of mosquitos though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay! We know mosquitos can be annoying, it's part of a tropical country. We are studying how to minimize them!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×