Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kick Ass Hostels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 4321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 4321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • hanguyen11967254
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jan 2018
7.7

Every time go in the hostel a bit complicated and time wasting. The staff in the reception will check a security pass paper that I dont understand what the point of it while we have a key card to open the door. So if I have the key card to open the door, it means I'm a customer staying in the hostel... but they still have to check your paper which is annoying. Overall everything was good, good location good money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Jan 2018
9.1

This hostel is such good value for money and it’s in a great location. The staff are all extremely helpful and friendly. The only down side was that the bathrooms were a short walk outside the room and unfortunately only 3 out of the 5 showers were working. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great feedback and great ratings. Yes 3 showers on your level where out of order during your stay for essential maintenance. The other 25 showers in our hostel where all still available but would require you to go up or down one floor. We very much hope that you where not to inconvenienced by this but we are pleased to report that the out of order showers are now working again . We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. KA Manager :)

  • jituiitb4246
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2018
8.9

Good Location .. and everything else was good. They shouldn't charge for keeping luggage in locker for people who have stayed there atleast one night .. but it's ok. It's just one pound ..but they can surely improve that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great feedback. Yes we do charge £1 to store your bags for upto 24 hours after check out . We hope you did not find this too unreasonable and we do offer free luggage storage for any guests arriving before check in . Thanks again for the great feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. KA Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2018
8.0

Great Place! Bar was big and there was many things to do there! Staff were courteous and friendly too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the great feedback. We are so pleased your stay with us was such a great experience. KA Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2018
7.4

This is so unique establishment though the hordes to which many drive both side of Edinburgh of the workers or travelers, both mixed together sadly has been atmosphere draining, as one to the other staying over doesn't have the same interests, as it is certain one will rest the other will party! Simply a secular party.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jan 2018
9.1

The location of this hostel is so perfect. The castle is right on your door step and everything else is walking distance away. The staff are so lovely and really helpful. The bar is awesome and REALLY good prices for what you get including the food which is also really good!! Only down part is that the lockers are smaller than most suitcases s The bathrooms are clean but occasionally smelly which was a bit annoying but hey who spends most of their time in the bathroom. All in all a lovely place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words . We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post this review. KA Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2018
6.9

Construction was occurring during our stay, which meant no cafe and only one levels worth of showers and bathrooms available for 3 floors worth of tenants. In addition, Kick Ass Hostel was the first and only hostel I have been to that has charged to store your luggage, for example say you had a late flight on the check out date. As well, we were charged a deposit for a room key. Also, the lockers provided were quite small, which meant no backpacker sized bags were able to be secured.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there we are indeed doing an exciting new re-fit of our ground floor cafe which will be open at the end of January. We have obviously closed this off but we have kept open our top floor bar for breakfast and in the evening for great value evening meals and drinks. We also had to close of one bathroom on the second floor during your stay due to essential maintenance but our other 22 showers locating in different part of the hostel where still open. We hope that you where not too inconvenienced by this. We do charge £1 for 24 hour luggage storage. We are so sorry if you found this unreasonable and yes we do ask our guests to pay a £2 deposit for their room key which is refunded on departure We experienced many guests in the past would leave without returning their keys hence why we implemented this £2 refundable deposit. We can only apologise if you think this is unreasonable but hope you understand. We hope you had a safe onward journey after you checked out. KA Manager

5th Jan 2018
6.9

Okay hostel, but nothing as great as the reviews said. Cafe under construction so there was no place to lounge other than the bar. Lift was broken too. Ensuite bathroom was out of order as well. Wish I was notified of this beforehand. The shared bathroom on my floor had no heating. And the sinks in the shower area only provided a trickle of water or sometimes none at all. Pros included a really comfy bed and great free walking tour. I’d wait till the construction is done to stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you liked our great location, comfy beds and Free walking tour. Yes our ground floor cafe is undergoing an exciting refit that will finish by the end of January but we have kept our top floor bar open for breakfast and of course great value meals and drinks in the evening to minimise any inconvenience for our guests.We sincerely hope that you where not too inconvenienced by this. Thank you for letting us know about the problem with the ensuite bathroom. We have now closed this off until the problem is rectified. We are not aware of any water pressure problems in the shared bathrooms but we have asked our maintenance team to check them to ensure there are no problems. We very much hope that you will come and stay with us again when you next visit Edinburgh. KA Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jan 2018
8.9

It’s a really nice hostel and is located centrally. Rooms are really clean. However, when we went, most of the things were not working: the bathroom on our floor was out of order, lift wasn’t working and cafeteria was shut for renovation. My friends and I felt this should have been informed well in advance. Also, the bathrooms had no soap or shampoo. All the hostel that I’ve stayed before in have provided these in the bathrooms. No towels are provided either. It was a little disappointing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the awesome 10/10 ratings you have given us on Value Security Location Staff and Atmosphere. The bathroom on your floor was closed for 4 days for essential maintenance but all other bathrooms in the hostel where open. We are sorry if you experienced any inconvenience during these works. We have temporarily closed the cafe for exciting new upgrading works but we have opened our top floor bar for breakfast and of course in the evenings where you can great value meals and drinks. We are sorry if the cafe being closed during the day inconvenienced you in any way and we hope you will choose to stay with us again when you next visit our beautiful city KA Manager :)

  • joanneharshaw
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jan 2018
9.1

This hostel felt comfortable and safe, you need a key card to go up the stairs. There's sockets and USB ports by each bed, which is ideal. I staying in an 8 bed dorm and the room was spacious and clean. The bathroom were close and very clean. It's very close to the royal mile and there's a lovely view of the castle from the hostel. It's about a 10 minute walk from waverley train station. I didn't get a chance to use the bar, but I heard good things.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so pleased you felt safe and comfortable. We take very seriously the safety of our guests so it so nice to get such nice comments. Our location is always a hit with our guests so we are pleased you think this also. We hope that you will choose to stay with us when you next visit our great city. KA Manager :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×