Hostelworld.com

Kick Ass Hostels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 5382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 5382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • christinalosquadro9758
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Nov 2018
10.0

Awesome hostel... perfect location... the “luxury pods” were perfect for me. Great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying in our brand new pods! Thanks again for your feedback, KA Manager.

  • georgiadavie79316
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2018
9.7

This place was amazing; lovely and helpful staff and perfect location!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at Kick Ass Hostels! We are delighted to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and that you liked the location, we love hosting our guests in such a central spot. Thanks again, KA Manager.

  • jessica_proskos1046
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Nov 2018
9.1

The location of this hostel is amazing, so many restaurants, bars and attractions just a short walking distance. Staff was helpful and friendly and there is a nice bar, restaurant and lounge in the hostel. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the awesome feedback, glad to see you had such a Kick Ass time! Hope to see you back at some point, all the best! Kind regards, KA Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Nov 2018
10.0

My friend and I had a fantastic stay here! Very new and modern feel hostel with friendly and helpful staff. The bathrooms are clean and showers are a great size with hooks and a door. Beds have a light and power point beside each. Breakfast was nice with a good amount of options, even smoothies. In a fantastic location within walking distance to many pubs, restaurants and the Royal Mile. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • scottlauramar7220
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Nov 2018
10.0

This hostel is amazing! Great rooms. Very clean. Staff is friendly. Shared areas/bar is cozy. Would fully recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for such an amazing review! We are all over the moon to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us at Kick-Ass Hostels! It's great to hear that you experience the real kick-ass experience while you were here. We really appreciate the recommendation and hope that you will visit again soon. Thanks again, KA Manager.

  • basilesoltner4061
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2018
10.0

Best hostel in my life

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your great review! We are so pleased that you thought we were the best hostel! Please come back and visit us again sometime soon! KA Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Nov 2018
9.7

Great place to stay, good location, I loved the pod bed would definitely stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are so pleased you would stay with us again, we hope that you do, Edinburgh is beautiful during Christmas - just saying! Thanks again, KA Manager.

  • ariellylimacirilo4374
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Nov 2018
9.7

I had such an good time at Kick Ass Hostel. I chose a bed in a 4-beds bedroom. The bed was really comfortable and there’s a quite big locker to keep my belongings in. The only thing that was really annoying, was a pipe in the bedroom. During the night I woke several times with a high noise of water coming down. It’s not a pleasant thing. Besides that, I totally recommend the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted that you had such a good time while staying with us. It's great to hear that you had such a good rest in the comfortable beds and liked the large storage locker next to the bed. We are sorry to hear you were disturbed by the sound of water during the night. Thanks for recommending us we really appreciate your feedback, KA Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Nov 2018
9.1

New and comfortable place, pretty close to the main spots in Edinburgh. My only issue was that the ventilation in the toilets could be better, as there was an unpleasant smell coming from it, even though they were obviously kept clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable. We are sorry that you felt the bathroom had an unpleasant smell I will pass this information on to the housekeeping team to deal with straight away. Thanks for your feedback, KA Manager.

  • benoitdbfm3143
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2018
4.0

I wouldn't recommend the hostel at all. It is basically a drunk people's factory. Since they don't assign you a bed but everyone just chooses, you can end up with all beds seemingly taken and when reception then assigns you one of them, you almost end up beaten by a drunk Irishman waking you up at 3am. Reception tried to help but since they are not native English speakers communication is rather complicated. I paid 30€ for my night,I slept way too little and didn't enjoy any minute there. Avoid.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and provide us with some feedback. The vast majority of the guests who stay with us are very respectful even when they have had a few drinks, however, from time to time you can have someone who makes a mistake in the dark and chooses the wrong bed. We do our best to organise our dorms by using the bed token system which has been in use for years and have only ever had a handful of issues regarding it as it tends to work very well. We are sorry that you had this experience due to another guests behaviour. The drunk person involved was given a final warning and the situation was resolved, however, our nightshift team will take further action for anyone found causing problems for other guests. We always aim to have a balanced approach to ensure we reach the best outcome for everyone involved. We extend our apologies again and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. KA Manager.

×