Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kick Ass Hostels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 4893 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 4893 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
16th Jul 2018
8.3

Had a great stay at Kickass hostel! Only thing I found odd was that there were only 2 toilets for the floor (unless there were more that I didn’t know/find) I rarely had to wait though. Location is super ideal for those who are walking everywhere, walk from the bus station and train station is a good workout with a back pack on but that’s just Edinburgh there’s no avoiding the hills and stairs!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • SonofWinter
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2018
10.0

This was the first hostel that I've stayed in and it was amazing. The location is surrounded by beautiful views and some really good food places. Staff were friendly and the bar crawl was the most fun I've had in a long time. Definitely revisiting when I come back to Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2018
9.1

Wonderful place. Stayed in one of the pods, and it’s kinda nice because you get your own enclosed space. The bathrooms near the pod bedroom are narrow and wonky with water pressure sometimes. And you have to keep pushing the button for water in the shower. But forget all of that. The best thing about this place was the people I met there. If you want to meet people, go here. It’s worth it entirely for that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review, we are so glad to hear that you liked staying at our hostel! The pods are great and we are so glad you liked them. Thank you for the feedback in regards to the showers and the issue with pressure, we will look into that issue straight away. We are always pleased to hear when guests meet great people while staying with us after-all that is what hostels are all about! Thanks again, KA Manager.

13th Jul 2018
10.0

I think this hostel is easily the top 5 hostels in Europe from my experience stayed in 8 dorm room everything is clean and spotless. Downstairs they have a bar,breakfast & diner area if the music is too loud you can always got to the 1st floor lounge and chill also I like the small details like the colour of the lightbulbs in the dorm so it’s not too bright also there’s a nightlight for latecomers. Finally there’s plenty of hooks for hanging my clothes in the shower. WiFi is perfect 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • amandatveidt2987
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jul 2018
7.1

The hostel is modern and clean. I chose a pod bed and woke up sweating every single night because there is no airflow. Food at the cafe is a tad overpriced. There was an incident in one of the dorms where the police came. Staff did not make contact with anyone to let us know what was going on.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were warm in the pods during your stay, we are continuously working to make improvements and will take your feedback on board. We believe our prices are very competitive for being in Edinburgh's city centre and for the quality of the food. We completely understand your comment on the incident, the member of staff in charge during this incident did not want to go around all 22 of the beds waking up everyone during the middle of the night to let them know that the police wanted to speak to another guest, however, we thank you for the feedback. KA Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2018
10.0

This hostel was great! Absolutely perfect location and the inside of the hostel is super modern. Each room has it's own bathroom with a toilet and shower which is so nice, the beds are comfy, and each bed has it's own outlet. Only issue I had was no hand soap in the bathroom. Absolutely worth it for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your amazing review! We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us and found the beds comfortable! We also appreciate the feedback regarding the soap and we will make sure that issue is sorted immediately! Thanks again, KA Manager.

11th Jul 2018
10.0

Great place. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review!! Hope to see you again :) KA Manager

  • sarahjanev
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2018
9.1

Awesome hostel. Really good for solo travellers as they have a lot of night activities to get people together. The pub crawl was fun. I stayed in one of the notorious pod beds and it was such an awesome concept. However has many mentioned it gets VERY hot in them at night. I was lucky to be on a top bed so could open to curtains to get some air flow. Great location right near restaurants, the castle & great pubs. Would come back again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the review! We are glad you enjoyed our daily activities, and thanks as well for the feedback on our brand new pod beds. We have added some extra ventilation to them, but we will keep working to improve. Thanks again, KA Manager

  • misskarsoumaandrea2692
  • Cyprus, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2018
10.0

This is the first hostel I ever visited which had private small bathrooms and private small bed dorms!Despite the large number of people in a room (20 people!) you can have your privacy as you live in a hotel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your first experience in a hostel! The pods are great for privacy and comfort, we hope you come back and visit us again! Thanks again, KA Manager.

8th Jul 2018
9.1

Love the privacy provided by the pods! Location was also excellent! Only downside was I found the shower to be a bit of a hassle. You press a button for the water to come out for about a minute and then have to continually press it every time you want to rinse off. Makes it a bit difficult for people with long hair to wash! Overall great though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed staying in the pods! Thank you for your feedback in regards to the shower, we have fitted them with timers however they may need their time increased. Enjoy the rest of your travels! KA Manager.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×