Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kinlay House Dublin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 7345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 7345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • alexandrapete58306
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2018
4.9

I would say that you get what you pay for but this hostel is overpriced for the cleanliness and other facilities. The staff was kind but they don't seem to be armed with the tools (computers) or training to work quickly considering that people often depart to catch flights. The wi-fi is terrible. My first night I gave up trying to connect after over an hour of receiving 'no internet connection' error messages. The neighborhood is loud until the sun comes up. Spend your money elsewhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jul 2018
6.9

Lockers for the big bag are not free and are not in the same room you are sleeping. Big minus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2018
6.9

Booked the 6 bed mixed dorm. Room was way too small for 6 beds (not bunk). You could literally reach over to the person in the bed next to you. The room door lock was annoyingly difficult. There were no under bed storage lockers like they said they had. At least there were enough showers and toilets, water was a bit too hot (you can't change the temperature). I wouldn't book that room again unless you know the other 5 people staying in there with you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Jul 2018
8.6

The hostel was pretty good. If you are a light sleeper you might not deal well with the noise of all the drunk people in the street in the early hours of the morning but it didn’t really bother me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2018
8.0

It was about as expected. But the facilities just didn't feel clean. No soap for washing hands, no way to dry hands and the showers upstairs were out of order. Old building so it's expected to not feel real clean but it was just in rough shape and always felt dirty. Would stay again if I had to. It reminded me of a dirty men's college dormitory. Beds were nice though and large lockable (if you have your own lock) bins for bags. Amazing times and events to meet people. Coffee was nasty

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • katiewatters2133
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2018
5.1

I booked the hostel for the duration of my stay in Dublin due to the great price, but decided after 1 night to change to air bnb due to the shower facilities being poor and the breakfast. the staff is friendly but had issues refunding me for the nights I decided to cancel (I was in a rush and it took the staff over 15min and 2 phone calls). The shower is just a drain in the floor of the bathroom with a small curtain. Also wasnt impressed with the breakfast, instant coffee, cereal and toast C-

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2018
4.6

This place was so dirty, I didn't even want to take off my shoes in the room. The room was stuffy and smelled like mildew, I could feel the springs in the bed, the bathroom and shower were one small space so a shower got the whole bathroom wet. I haven't stayed in a lot of hostels, but after staying in hostels in Ireland that were beautiful and clean and felt like B&Bs (check out Hideout Hostel in Dingle - AMAZING), I couldn't believe I paid $90 for private room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • akpappas076297
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jul 2018
7.1

This is a very basic hostel, but is perfect if you’re just looking for somewhere to sleep at night. For such a cheap price, it is a decent hostel. The facilities are relatively clean and nicely decorated.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2018
9.1

One staff member was thoughtful and generous. Another was strong and tough. One bed was really wirey and pokey. Another was pretty comfortable. The breakfast was nice, but not for a gluten free/dairy free diet. Rooms were very clean. It was easy to find with 747 bus from airport (Christ Church Cathedral stop), for only 7 Euro or 12 Euro return ticket. The location was excellent and convenient. Overall a great place to stay. I would definitely come back here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • leipers4462
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2018
7.4

Staff very helpful and friendly!!! Room looked clean but i thought my room was sml, beds i.e. mattress sooo hard found it very difficult to sleep beds were a step down from a hospital bed!!! I was itching after sleeping I was on third floor it was an attic room it was like a room that they forgot u were staying and made this one up instead as the room was 4ft by bout 15ft!! I wouldn't stay here for more than one night but wouldn't recommend it

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×