Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kipps Hostel Canterbury

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1699 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1699 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2018
9.7

The only thing I`d recommend is to do with windows - when you have 6 people breathing in and out inside all night and no air coming in you end up with breathing CO2 that`s not healthy. you have heard such news that people coming to more civilised countries hidden in a closed container die in because the lack of O2. Everything else was fine and the weather wasn```` t your fault.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your ratings and detailed comments about CO2 levels. Just to let you know the door in your room, opened on to a patio, and above the door was a window you could open at any time. So plenty of options for fresh air into the room Regards Kipps

  • khalilothmann6263
  • Jordan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Mar 2018
9.7

Wonderful hostel and great staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for the great comment and rating. :)

9th Mar 2018
9.7

Best Hostel I've ever stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you so much for the lovely comment and we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit at Kipps and Canterbury! Best wishes in your future travels :)

11th Feb 2018
9.4

This is a wonderful hostel with a wonderful staff, and very quiet (no bar and in a quiet neighbourhood)! The only drawback is there are no secure lockers available. It is a 20-minute walk to the edge of all the exciting things of Canterbury.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for the lovely rating and comments. Enjoy your travels. Kind regards

  • Jeff_Mitchell
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
30th Jan 2018
8.3

The hostel is an easy walk from town. There was a locker for each bed, but you won't fit a large pack in it. There were kitchen facilities, just beware that they are not open 24/7. There aren't many options for staying in Canterbury but Kipps Hostel is still a good choice if you visit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for the comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Kipps Canterbury! Kind regards

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Jan 2018
8.3

The hostel is an old English home, really cosy and well decorated to make you feel right at home. The kitchen is fully equipped and then a bit. Staff are friendly, rooms are cleaned everyday. Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Dec 2017
8.0

A good hostel, close enough to city center, with wonderful staff and a homely atmosphere. I definitely recommend it, although the kitchen situation was a let down. Closed at night which can make life difficult for diabetics but i understand potential safety necessity. however, at 10:40 am when I went to make breakfast I was informed that the kitchen was now closed for use. At 10:40am? :-/ I really liked the place, but i think kitchen rules are awkward for guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2017
9.1

Loved that our whole family could stay. We enjoyed the common room for games/visiting. We brought oatmeal for breakfast, though the optional breakfast provided is inexpensive, there were six of us staying 3 nights, which adds up. It's a 15 min. walk to town, but this enabled us to see more of the town/pubs en route! Our private room was outstanding. Bed and bedding were top notch. Though the room was tiny, there were plenty of hooks and hangers and space for our stuff. Definitely recommend !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aishwaryabamzai
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Oct 2017
7.1

Stayed here overnight after reaching Canterbury from Brighton, its a quite hostel so they don't like people making too much noise around, since this was the only hostel listed for those dates we booked it, seems doable for a night or two. Kitchen closes by 11 PM so you need to be done before that, location-wise is good, walkable from the city centre but the city sleeps off too soon so ideally you should be back before it gets too dark.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Oct 2017
10.0

Lovelyhostel opposite the bus stop into town,One of the best places we have stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your 10/10 review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us Kipps

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×