Hostelworld.com

Koala Beach Resort Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2018
2.9

No WiFi in room, air con didn’t work, super dirty

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • ellakarlsson19975604
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2018
3.4

- Cockroaches and other insects everywhere in the kitchen (and really really dirty) - smelly everywhere - reception is barely ever open and there's one girl doing everything - toilets are only in the rooms so if you check out or are in the kitchen/common area you have to walk to a public toilet..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • maddiehdiamond5317
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2018
6.6

If you just need a cheap place to stay in Cairns for a couple of nights, stay here. It's not overly flash but it does the job. My experience wasn't great as I was sharing with 3 loud, messy men that came and went throughout the night and didn't care about making a ton of noise. Probably wouldn't stay here again but it wasn't terrible.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ryan67brown7051
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
11th Sep 2018
5.4

Rooms were very unclean, filthy and atmosphere was terrible

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Aug 2018
10.0

Staff, location are really good, super helpful, always say hi by name. Rooms good too. Have been back a few times. Bit of a friendly, family, vibe going on, cant quite work out why. Nice HKer in the laundry room when i lost something. I would like to be their concepts brand designer though as has potential to be a top regional product. Ditch the photo board in the courtyard, pool table and drinks bar thing, repaint dining precinct, and perhaps rebrand away from 'Koala'. I didnt see any lol!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2018
3.1

there is not atmosphere whatsoever in this place, the kitchen is extremely dirty, not to mention that you have to pay in order to get silver wear, bathrooms are ensuite but closed completely which makes the entire room smell like a public toilet, there are places for the same price that will give you a better value... the staff is EXTREMELY rude, not to mention that they Only work office hours, I was checked out by sichi on saturday 11th 10 am, she was the rudest OF ALL! 12 years experience

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jessevandermey2107
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jul 2018
2.9

I literally saw 5 cockroaches within the first 30 seconds of walking into the kitchen. Very dirty hostel and they have no common dishes for you to use. I would avoid it unless you are desperate.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2018
8.0

Hi everyone! Koala Beach Resort is an exceptional hostel. I stayed here my entire time I was in the city. The rooms are big, comfortable, clean and the most important thing that it its relatively cheap and value for the money. The receptionists are helpful, friendly and nice to talk with! I even complaint about the broken rice cooker (as we know it is an essential item for a lazy backpacker) and the manager bought a new one and a toaster 10 min later! Definitely recommended! Enjoy you stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • roi123
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2018
2.0

Staff were rude s*** hostel don't go there

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th May 2018
8.3

Booked in around 10 minutes before arrival. Staff were very friendly and helpful. 6 bed dorm with 3 other of my friends with an ensuite.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
×