Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Koala Beach Resort Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ashleyletterbox4898
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2018
10.0

Staff, location are really good, super helpful, always say hi by name. Rooms good too. Have been back a few times. Bit of a friendly, family, vibe going on, cant quite work out why. Nice HKer in the laundry room when i lost something. I would like to be their concepts brand designer though as has potential to be a top regional product. Ditch the photo board in the courtyard, pool table and drinks bar thing, repaint dining precinct, and perhaps rebrand away from 'Koala'. I didnt see any lol!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2018
3.1

there is not atmosphere whatsoever in this place, the kitchen is extremely dirty, not to mention that you have to pay in order to get silver wear, bathrooms are ensuite but closed completely which makes the entire room smell like a public toilet, there are places for the same price that will give you a better value... the staff is EXTREMELY rude, not to mention that they Only work office hours, I was checked out by sichi on saturday 11th 10 am, she was the rudest OF ALL! 12 years experience

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jessevandermey2107
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jul 2018
2.9

I literally saw 5 cockroaches within the first 30 seconds of walking into the kitchen. Very dirty hostel and they have no common dishes for you to use. I would avoid it unless you are desperate.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2018
8.0

Hi everyone! Koala Beach Resort is an exceptional hostel. I stayed here my entire time I was in the city. The rooms are big, comfortable, clean and the most important thing that it its relatively cheap and value for the money. The receptionists are helpful, friendly and nice to talk with! I even complaint about the broken rice cooker (as we know it is an essential item for a lazy backpacker) and the manager bought a new one and a toaster 10 min later! Definitely recommended! Enjoy you stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • roi123
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2018
2.0

Staff were rude s*** hostel don't go there

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th May 2018
8.3

Booked in around 10 minutes before arrival. Staff were very friendly and helpful. 6 bed dorm with 3 other of my friends with an ensuite.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bradleynieddu3775
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
30th Apr 2018
7.4

Not the cleanest kitchen but the rest is pretty good. For the money you pay it’s a good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • asandercock978504
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2018
6.6

The room was very clean but the kitchen was not (I understand it's other guests that cause this) but the fridge was supposedly cleaned every Friday yet it smelt awful!! The cookers were broken and there was a lack of cooking equipment. The cleaning staff were friendly but they burst into your room to clean it every morning. Location was good and bedrooms were clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Mar 2018
8.0

STAff were lovely and the beds were comfortable. Very safe. You get what you pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×