Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Koala Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1296 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1296 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • bissekrisse
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Dec 2017
6.9

A little "unprofessinal" for the price but an ok place for a night or two.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
24th Nov 2017
4.9

There is no major problem with this hostel but 1000 small ones like missing toilet seats, broken locks, no hot water etc. Will it kill you if you stay here? No. Should you go elsewhere? Yes. Also FYI hostel owners - that entry gate is the most annoying and RIDICULOUS thing ever. I shouldn't have to need a key to go to the kitchen or bathroom. The swipe cards don't even work 90% of the time. Won't come back. Understaffed and the current staff seem really vague.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Customer, we are really sorry about the fact that you had an apparently bad experience in our hostel. We never had issues with hot water, so if you had some problem with it, you should have said it and we would have fixed it suddenly; same story for the broken locks. About the entry gate, it's such a pity that you are complaining about the fact that we keep the hostel SAFE, because if you haven't noticed, that is the way we have to control the identity of people coming in the hostel. Btw, the gate works, it just need some time because it gives us the possibility to check your Identity. We are sorry that you'll not come back in our hostel, surely we would have been really happy to see you again here! About the staff, we try to be as nice and helpful as possible, we're sorry this wasn't enough for you. Best Regards

3rd Nov 2017
8.9

Not super unique, but a decent, well-run hostel. Located off a quiet side street so limited traffic noise. Close to a metro station and not far from Milano Centrale station. Downsides were that the bed was not particularly comfortable, and the 24hr check-in meant that people were arriving (unpacking, making their bed, etc.) in the middle of the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Oct 2017
8.9

Great stay. Fabolous staff. Thanks Michele for a great chat! Location is very good. Walking distance to milano centrale train station and close to the buenos aires street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Oct 2017
4.3

it is indicated that a fee will be processed and the rest should be paid at the hostel. I received an email two days later from a shady email address from the staff of koala hostel telling me that they didn't succeed to preauthorize the stay payment !! And no clear indication on what should be done ... Arrived at the hostel, they said they put us on the waiting list and gave us (2 people) spare (not good) beds in different rooms .. Toilet not so clean, 'minimalist' breakfast ....

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear customer, we're so sorry for your bad experience in our hostel! Anyway, sometimes problems occur and it's not even our fault! We suggest you to come and try again our hostel,we'll be very happy to help you solving any kind of problem that occurs (if any). We try to improve our service every day, I can ensure that your comment will not be useless. Hope to see you soon

14th Oct 2017
9.4

Everyone was so friendly, and the atmosphere was so chill. Staff were helpful and easygoing, and the breakfast wasn't bad.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2017
10.0

Had a one night stay here waiting for a plane. Great little spot. Hope to drop in again sometime.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Oct 2017
4.9

Koala hostel is panda hostel. Staff was quite rude. Breakfast was just stale cereal. Bathrooms were lacking paper towels, soap, and usually dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear customer, we're so sorry for your apparently bad experience in our hostel! About the Cleanliness, atmosphere and Staff, we really don't understand why your opinion is so distant from the other customers' experience, since most of them found all of those very positive. We suggest you to come and try again our hostel, and next time, ask everything you need to us, we'll be very happy to help, as always!

13th Oct 2017
9.4

Koala hostel was a good experience. The hostel staff is friendly and helpful. It was clean and they also have a seperate room to store larger baggage under lock and key. Thank you Koala :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Oct 2017
7.1

Good price versus quality. A bit difficult to arrive late at night to find your way in the room and make the top of a bunk bed. Friendly staff though; and they speak English!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×