Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kuantan Backpackers

22 Aug 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 56 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 56 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
28th Jul 2018
6.3

Our room was tiny. But we only stopped off for one night on our way to Tioman Island and it was ok for that. We did watch films on the tv downstairs, they have lots of dvds to choose from which was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2017
7.4

So far no complaints

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2017
3.7

Just an awful and depressing place. You do not get a feeling of welcome or any kind of appreciation as a guest.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
7.4

As one of the only proper dorm hostels in Kuantan it's actually quite decent. It has all the facilities you need (although the water filter needed replacement). Cleaning around the kitchen area could get an upgrade and training the staff to help with providing information for the guests would help the hostel's rating as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
8.0

The place is pretty worn in with squeaky beds (but good mattresses) and old bathrooms, but for the value it was okay. Smiley staff, stocked kitchen, good fans and air con in the rooms, clean rooms and common area but the bathrooms could be better especially the floor and sink. Breakfast was just bread and jam. I don't really appreciate being charged more for the female dorm in order to feel safe when sleeping at night. Was an ok spot to stay for the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jugalRupela
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
7.4

Nice location, nice people... the wash room was not clean but consider okay. Overall the place is quite convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2016
6.9

The location is great, right in the middle of the city. The staff is really nice and helpful. Unfortunately, the showers/bathrooms are pretty disgusting. When we were there, there wasn't many people staying there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
8.3

The staff was great, the atmosphere was great, location wise, smack dab in the middle of Kuantan city. Overall, very good value for money, will definitely come again if I am ever in Kuantan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jul 2016
5.7

not a very nice atmosphere, bathroom and fridge weren't clean, too expensive not a good value for money, toast without butter or oatmeal without milk for breakfast

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jun 2016
10.0

Nice pleasant, artistic and cosy place. Location is great. Owner friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×