Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Fortuna Backpakers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 87 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 87 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Dec 2017
8.3

Good hostel if you want a quiet room for a little group of people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2017
8.3

The staff isn't super friendly and they only speak spanish, not necessarily a problem just something to be aware of when booking. The place is very clean and you even get fresh towels every day which is really nice. The dorm is a little tight, not a lot of room for your bag. There's not a lot of atmosphere here, if you're traveling alone this isn't the place to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
5th Nov 2017
6.6

Walking distance to everything in La Fortuna. Did have kitchen area though nowhere to meet people so not much atmosphere. Staff didn't speak any English so difficult to get info on tours etc. Many tour companies in walking distance though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2017
6.6

The room was super super small with not a lot of space to put bags. AC was super nice! Free towels was awesome. The staff was very rude when i first arrived and asked to check in, they acted like i couldn't afford their place. Not a nice welcome. Overall it was a bed with AC, but I spent most of my night at Selina. Would not book again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • emmalou8
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Sep 2017
10.0

Cute hostel, nice staff and good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2017
9.1

I'll start this review off by saying that if you're looking for a crazy place to party, this isn't it. My girlfriend & I rented out a private room and it was really worth the price. It came with AC, which was super nice having in such a humid place. If you're looking for a nice place to relax with super sweet staff, this is your place! Super peaceful, quiet, and a few min walk from town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Sep 2017
7.7

Very nice owner of the hostel, she does the laundry for free which is a fantastic service. She helped us with booking activities and a shuttle service. The room and bathroom were nice and spacious. There's a very cosy kitchen in the garden, with free coffee and all the facilities you need. Very nice and charming hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • batesonr4166
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Sep 2017
10.0

Such a clean and welcoming hostel. More like a hotel but still has a communal kitchen and hammocks in a main area. Security and cleanliness is top notch and the rooms have warm showers and comfortable beds. 2 minute walk from very center of town and staff are very helpful with 2 kg of free laundry offered. Would stay here and in any sister hostels if ever possible again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2017
10.0

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this Hostel! Maribel is an absolute gem, she and her entire crew are so welcoming and helpful. This place is well cared for, clean and secure. I stayed in a private room for two nights and a dorm room for one night, both were awesome. Hot showers, towel, air conditioning, full kitchen and a free load of laundry! Close to the center of town and the bus station. I didn't want to leave this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2017
9.1

Worth every penny! Marisal is simply the best. She is very caring, nice, and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×