Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Joya Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
8th Jun 2018
9.7

Great hostel, one of the few that are so nice and felt so much like home, that i didnt want to leave. Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed, speedy wifi, hot shower, tasty breakfast serve at their resto next door, met some super nice travellers and had a great time together. Only downside is a bit far from the main attractions, but plenty of buses just in front of the door which will get you almost everywhere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your review we work to provide the best service, we hope to have you back in the hostel.

  • shannonrbrady1674
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
3rd Jun 2018
9.1

Don’t have one complaint about this hostel. After spending weeks in freezing cold, run down hostels this was a blessing. Super comfortable and modern, great beds, really clean, good breakfast, friendly staff, lovely and warm. If anything, it’s a bit far from the main spots in valparaiso but it’s fine if you don’t mind walking

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Bosco, thanks for your review we work to provide the best service, You have bus service all day, all night bus stop at 5 minutes walking from the hostel, by bus you can be in 4 min in the center of Valparaíso, we hope to have you back in the hostel.

26th May 2018
8.6

My time at La Joya was unfortunately marked by rude and disrespectful dorm-mates, but besides that the facilities themselves were great! A great breakfast in the morning, good wifi, helpful and friendly staff, lots of common spaces, and comfy dorm rooms. It was a little deserted due to it being the off-season in Valparaiso but overall a great value for your money. It's right by the bus station but you need to take a taxi or the bus to other areas of interest in the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd May 2018
6.9

Really nice place but maybe too quiet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th May 2018
9.4

Very clean and friendly hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th May 2018
8.0

Amazing hostel - seemed more like a hotel! Everything is new and has great facilities but it was a bit empty so atmosphere was lacking. If it gets busier it’d be great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th May 2018
8.9

I had s great stay here and the staff were brilliant. The breakfast is amazing and the rooms are comfy with a nice private feel, even in the dorms. The downsides are that the hostel is about a 40min walk from where you want to be and I didn’t find it especially social to meet other people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bullimoresophie6877
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th May 2018
8.9

Great hostel - the 4 bed dorms are split into 2 levels so you have some privacy which is nice. Big lockers in rooms but the rooms themselves don't lock. Great communal space, restaurant and bar but the kitchen is quite small and could do with more equipment. Overall we would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we are replenishing all the things that are needed in the kitchen we hope to have it as complete as possible, we evee you had a good stay in Valparaiso and in the hostel

  • keeganbizaare1744
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
4th May 2018
10.0

As you come up the stairs at La Joya, it says that they are trying to be the best hostel in South America... well they are the best in my opinion. It was great to stay there. Awesome people and just an awesome place. Great beds and showers and very good breakfasts. I had a great stay! Thank you so much La Joya!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your visit and comment, that customers are happy with the service is a reward for us, we work every day for this, we hope to have you back and the best in your trip.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
2nd May 2018
9.1

Really enjoyed our stay at La Joya! Positives were it’s close to the bus station, an easy bus ride into the town centre and next door to a massive supermarket. Staff are friendly and breakfast has fresh fruit and eggs! Downsides were the kitchen could definitely be better given it’s a new hostel - small space with limited utensils and far from seating area. Please buy forks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for your review, is important for us, we can provide a better service, we will check the kitchen supplies and buy all missing things, we hope you had a great time at the hostel an also Valparaíso.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×