Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Joya Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 226 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 226 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • victoriadegoke6189
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2018
8.6

La Joya is a great hostel for solo or group travellers. The facilities are really good, with a full kitchen to cook your own meals and a large fridge. The staff are friendly, kind and helpful, with most speaking fairly good English. The restaurant is lovely but can be a bit pricey if on a strict budget. Comfy bed and cosy shared room! The hostel around September is quiet except for during the Fiestas Patrias when they host a week of Fondas. Overall nice experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we work to provide the best service possible, We hope to have you back at the hostel, good luck in your travel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
3rd Sep 2018
8.9

Located an easy walk from the bus station which is really good for arriving & departing, but you are a ~30min walk from the main tourist area. Easy to find & good breakfast. The hostel was pretty quiet when we were there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we work to provide the best service possible, We hope to have you back at the hostel, good luck in your travel

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st Aug 2018
8.0

Good hostel, clean and trendy, not really what we were looking for tho, not much atmosphere.... If you want a few days of quiet then it’s a good hostel since it’s also a 30 minute walk to the things you’d wanna seee in Valparaiso. If your a solo traveler wanting to meet people don’t come here..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, in Valparaíso is low season, we hope you can visit the hostel again in high season, the atmosphere will be amazing

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Jul 2018
10.0

One of best hostels I’ve stayed in. Everything was perfect. Breakfast was incredible. Rooms were clean and loved the bi level for sleeping and common space. Love the weekly board of activity with directions. Very close to metro.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we work to provide the best service possible, hope you had a great time in the hostel, always welcome.

  • maxifisher98
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jul 2018
8.3

La Joya was very different to what we expected. It’s definitely a great hostel in terms of facilities and cleanliness BUT there was just no life to this place when we were here. No one was interested in socialising and it made our night very strange. I will also note that the staff made a few annoying mistakes with our booking eg. forgetting to give one of us a key and not showing us any of the facilities (only found the terrace the next day!). I can only recommend this place for a quiet night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, unfortunately when you were in the hostel there was a big group that left most of the day to know the city, so the atmosphere was a bit quiet, we hope to have you back to live the real Joya Hostel experience, thank you for your visit.

  • smplatt7603
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2018
9.7

Beautiful hostel with excellent service. The facilities are impeccable, clean, and stylish. The staff is super friendly! I would highly recommend staying here. Thanks for a great experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we work to provide the best service possible, hope you had a great time in the hostel, always welcome.

  • heatherthompson162089
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2018
9.7

La Joya is conveniently located near the bus terminal and within walking distance of restaurants and local attractions. The decor is very modern and extremely clean. I enjoyed the split levels in the shared forms because it provided more privacy. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we work to provide the best service possible, hope you had a great time in the hostel, always welcome.

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
6th Jul 2018
9.1

Nice and clean venue with very good WiFi and security. The hostel advertises numerous trips. It is quiet and not really the place to meet people if travelling alone. The restaurant attacked serves great food and as hostel guests you get discounts!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, when you stayed at the hostel there were not many people, this usually does not happen, because of this the quiet atmosphere, we hope to have you back to live the real experience Joya Hostel

29th Jun 2018
8.9

The hostel is very stylish and clean, facilities are in good condition, and the staff were very kind and helpful. The only thing is the location, which although central, is in a somewhat sketchy street. Everything else was good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2018
9.7

Great hostel, one of the few that are so nice and felt so much like home, that i didnt want to leave. Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed, speedy wifi, hot shower, tasty breakfast serve at their resto next door, met some super nice travellers and had a great time together. Only downside is a bit far from the main attractions, but plenty of buses just in front of the door which will get you almost everywhere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your review we work to provide the best service, we hope to have you back in the hostel.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×