Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lakeview Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 77 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 77 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th May 2018
9.7

I only stayed here for one night before my flight out of Johannesburg, but it was a delight! It felt like a taste of home with all the comfy couches and friendly faces in the common areas. The staff is extremely hospitable and thoughtful-- even texting me when I was later than anticipated. I got the best night's sleep here, too. The only reason it's not 10/10 is that the wifi connection is quite spotty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2018
9.4

Great place to stay and relax for a few days. Nice hot showers and fun place to meet new people. Quiet place at a great value. The only issue was an ant problem in the kitchen other than that it was nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • scrapz98274
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2018
10.0

Everyone was extremely lovely and friendly, happy to help! Would stay here again without hesitation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2018
9.1

Booked one night before my flight home, and this the place is supercool, cutest and nicest dogs ever! Staff, wow, super friendly and helpful, if you want to take some days off from your vacation this is definitely the place to be, but also if your just passing through is just a few minutes from Airport which is a great plus! Definitely would come back if I ever go back to Joburg! Keep up the good work guys! Cheers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2018
6.9

Good place if you are flying out the next morning. The staff was very friendly and welcoming but I would have appreciated a bit more seriousness as they forgot to explain there was a switch for the hot water in the bathroom and maybe a bit better accommodated bathrooms. Other than that, a nice and super easy place to stay id you have a flight the day later.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Feb 2018
9.4

The staff was absolutely amazing! The house is super clean and situated in a nice and quiet suburb, very close to the airport. Plus the owner has the sweetest dog in South Africa :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Feb 2018
9.7

We stayed at the Lakeview Backpackers for one night before and after our trip and we had a great time. its only a 7 min. car ride from the O. R. Tambo International Airport which is very convenient. Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful in every way. spacious living room, clean pool and and comfy bed. Can totally recommend this place. *thumbs up*

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Jan 2018
10.0

Lovely place to stay for a brief stopover in Johannesburg. Close to the airport, nice views over a nearby lake, and a very relaxed atmosphere. The staff were nice and helpful with anything I wanted to do, including ordering food and arranging tours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jan 2018
7.1

10 mins taxi from airport however quite a way to get into town. I was disappointed after reading the good reviews that it was pretty dirty and within a couple of hours I was being absolutely bitten by mosquitoes although the staff were helpful once I flagged it up. I realised the towel given to me was dirty as was the hand towel and there was no hand soap/ dish wash. Definitely would not have gone in the pool! Felt like you were crashing in someone’s home very friendly but run down/ dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2018
9.4

Great if you need a quick place to crash before or after a flight our of Johannesburg! They have friendly dogs and a nice pool. I definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×