Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lakeview Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 106 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 106 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • espinozamartin7230
  • Peru, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Sep 2018
9.7

Great place to stay close the airport and to chill and relax. The staff was really kind and helpful! It gives extra value to any stay when you are treated so well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2018
10.0

Incredible hostel, I loved

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • chilette337
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Sep 2018
8.9

A very nice, available and very caring staff. Feels like home atmosphere. Nice view on the pool and on the nearby lake. Just the bathroom may need a refurbishing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Sep 2018
6.3

Our stay there was out of convenience after arriving in Joburg after a long trip since it's close to the airport. The place itself looks like it has a lot of potential that is not really used. Our room was okay but it could use a thorough renovation and also the bathroom wasn't very clean. At first we were told that our room didnt have a key but luckily she did find it in the end... The common area was fine , although the outside part looks a bit neglected. It was fine for a night though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • fabianhualpa1317
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
23rd Aug 2018
7.4

The location is the best: Far from the dangerous and boring Johannesburg city center, it is in a safe and calm zone. Great view to the lake, the atmosphere is nice and the staff too; although she did not give me the cash change correctly.. But unfortunately that is common in the commerce in that city... : (

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • katyswilliams36451
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2018
10.0

Everything was excellent. It was clean, secure, friendly, welcoming, in a great location, great value for money, and with a nice big kitchen. I can't fault it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fazama92995
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2018
10.0

Such a nice place! The living areas are so cozy, you want to sleep there, beds and shower are great. Only stayed there for one night, very close to the airport, would come back, no doubt. The staff sent me an email and wait for me late night after my flight was delayed, very friendly and welcoming, also Rocco is great!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2018
9.7

Excellent location if you are headed to or from the airport! The staff are all friendly and helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2018
10.0

A beautiful hostel, a really wonderful place to stay. Shopping centre with supermarket and restaurants ( including Nandos) a 20 minute walk away. Wealthy neighborhood, so safe to walk even at night. Ronel and Jay, who run the place, are super friendly! So is Maureen, a lovely girl from Zimbabwe, who cleans the place every day! Very near the airport, which is a short Uber drive away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th May 2018
9.7

I only stayed here for one night before my flight out of Johannesburg, but it was a delight! It felt like a taste of home with all the comfy couches and friendly faces in the common areas. The staff is extremely hospitable and thoughtful-- even texting me when I was later than anticipated. I got the best night's sleep here, too. The only reason it's not 10/10 is that the wifi connection is quite spotty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×