Hostelworld.com

Leo Great Wall Hostel

  • Xican Road, Nandonggou Village , Badaling Town, Yanqing County, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 25 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 25 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Sep 2018
9.1

The hostel is awesome. We arrive super late though as we waited too long in Huangtudian railway station. Be sure to contact the hostel to pick you up instead as we have to pay 100RMB to go there (double than the hostel charge). It may take time going there but waking up literally on the basekamp (I might say) of Great Wall is a super plus. Just 1.5km walk and viola, we are at the not crowded part of Badaling West Great Wall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mark90mufc8203
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th Sep 2018
8.3

Great location , hard to find and expensive to get there if your a traveller . Apart from that all round food hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Sep 2018
7.1

It is a really beautifull place but we felt really not welcomed. The staff gave us the feeling that we were disturbing them every single minute we were in the same room and this is a problem because there is nothing close to buy food so we depend on them. It is deceiving because it has the potential to be an amazing hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2018
2.9

Website lied - site gives directions to hostel from central beijing using a train that hasn't run since 2016. All guests visiting were caught out by this, but the hostel continue to pretend to be surprised and refuse to update the site. Travelling as a single girl and finding out that I couldn't get to my hostel at 10:30pm wasn't much fun. The hostel did not provide an accurate address for getting a cab, and did not apologise for putting me in danger through lying on their site.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2018
8.9

The hostel is located right on the parking of the entrance of Badaling. So this is a great place to stay if you want to visit this part of the Great Wall or just escape busy Beijing like me. I stayed 4 nights and I enjoyed the calm there as well as party times with the friendly staff and their friends. All the facilities provided, good atmosphere when travelers are around. I liked it and would go back again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2018
6.3

Hostel is situated in probably one of the best places to visit the Great Wall (not crowded, beautiful landscapes). The location has also disadvantages: it’s not so easy to get there, there’s no shop,and the description is not correct (provided train station in Beijing isn’t operating and the best station to get off the train is Badaling although the description on how to get there states that it’s Yanqing - 5km compared to 14km). From Badaling it’s possible to take bus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Aug 2018
10.0

I absolutely loved this olace and the food. It was a little but hard to reach it, but once there its a magical place because you are literally few steps away from the entrance to the wall which is a very good one because there are no people, so I had the wall all for me. The food ius great, the service too and it is very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2018
10.0

Great place, great stay. The host was lovely and very kind - not sure I would have navigated Beijing without his help! The food was tasty and fresh, even for a vegetarian (which is hard in China). I would say make sure to try and arrive at Beijing airport early if you wish to get public transport there as it is very secluded. The dogs are an added bonus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ClaraHughess
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Aug 2018
9.1

Staying at Leo Great Wall Hostel was really nice. The staff were down to earth at their was a nice relaxing atmosphere. You can clearly see the Great Wall from the hostel and there isn’t as many tourist on that part of the Wall that there might could be. The owner also has a small restaurant where you can buy food and drinking water, soda etc. Although it was a bit expensive compared to the prices near the city. Definitely worth staying, and would at any time recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • juliapisarek933
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Jul 2018
8.0

Be aware that this hostel is super secluded being practically right next to the wall. There's no supermarket around so make sure to bring food or be satisfied by the rather limited menu of the hostel (I personally didn't mind!). I got a free upgrade to a private room the second night due to a large group arriving very last minute... also didn't mind that ;)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
×