Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Living Mad Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 4199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 4199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Apr 2018
8.9

Very clean and the staff were very helpful. Good security. Good selection of events from Tapas Tours to Pub crawls.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • southernturner9379
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
10th Apr 2018
7.4

This hostel was ok. The biggest issue is that they seem to accept school groups regularly, for three nights i was kept awake with loud kids who had no respect for others sleeping. I spoke to others staying here and they said school groups had been coming requally for the last couple of weeks. Id recommend staying at the sister Cat hostel, pitched as a party hostel, but it seemed like a regular hostel with a good bar and social atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tracisedam5836
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2018
9.1

Located in an office building, the facilities are the bare necessities only. Small kitchen area and basic breakfast. They were the only hostel that offered boiled eggs, though! Our room was on the main floor (others were upstairs) and we had one bathroom, with one shower/toilet for 2 dorm rooms. Although wasn't a problem for us, during busy season - might be an issue.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • christinamasschelein8337
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Apr 2018
9.1

Lovely hostel, great times partying at their sister hostel (Cats) and their bar crawl, highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fxn761035
  • Pakistan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Apr 2018
9.7

Nice location Clean rooms Great facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2018
8.9

Living Mad was perfect for my stay in Madrid. Friendly staff and nice atmosphere! It's a good balance between the wild life at Cat's and having a calm quieter atmosphere to sleep in. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lilyjwebster470
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Mar 2018
8.3

Good! Would be nice if you didn’t have to go to all the way down to reception to get a hair dryer though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your comment ;) you can ask a hair dryer as many times as you need but let's see if we can solve the inconvenience ;)

  • juaninfb5231
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Mar 2018
9.4

Really nice location and with breakfast included. Sundays there is free dinner in the other hostel they run, named Cats hostel. Safety is really something they took care about. I would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your review! We hope you can come back soon;)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
24th Mar 2018
6.0

I am not too sure if I really enjoyed myself at this hostel.The hostel was big and the location was good BUT i do not think the staff were very nice.The locks were a big pain to get into the rooms and whilst I was in my dorm one of the guys that was also in same dorm squeezed my bum ! so you can say my experience was not too pleasant. I would not recommend this hostel as it it a little pricy and the breakfast is not anything special .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2018
5.1

Mad Hostel was quite expensive for what was offered. The rooms were very small, there were no towels even in the bathroom. The price was quite high, for what you actually got there. Every evening the kitchen was closed for one or two hours so the staff could cook. Also the kitchen was very poorly equipped. The Staff were not very helpfull nor friendly if you had questions about anything. The breakfast was just bad and very unhealthy, everything was wrapped in a lot of plastic, so not sustainable

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! First of all thank you for your review ;) let's see... we think our breakfast is pretty healthy since it also includes fruit, yogurts..., and actually just biscuits are wrapped individually. We are really sorry that when our staff were cooking the free dinner for the customers of the 2 hostels (thats why the kitchen was closed) you probably wanted to use the kitchen. About towels, they can be rented. Despite of these inconvenience, we hope that your had a good time and for the next time we reecommend to book in advance... we are sure you will get lower prices ;)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×