Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lord Wolseley

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 916 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 916 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Feb 2018
8.6

Too bad that there isn't a living room to read or talk with other guests apart from the bar. Otherwise the hotel is really clean and quiet with great mattresses, perfect for resting.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sylvainmange3090
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
3rd Feb 2018
4.9

I came back to my dorm one night and found someone sleeping in my bed. This poor guy and another had just arrived, but the dorm they were assigned was full so they were told to move in mine - which was full too - and so they ended up sleeping in other people's beds. I was told to move out to another dorm (it was the middle of the night), and ended up sleeping in a dirty bed there. Now the staff was sorry, and they ARE really nice, but in my opinion something like that shouldn't happen.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • stuartlogue4550
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2018
6.6

Sharing the room with the largest cockroaches I have ever seen was not great - normal in Sydney? Pub downstairs had a great locals atmosphere and was well run. Hostel is administered through the bar; but feeling is that they don't care about it. They were not unpleasant; just utterly disinterested in the hostel/customers!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2018
8.6

Really enjoyed our stay. Staff were lovely and the location was exceptional just a should walk to all the attractions of the city and darling harbour. Would definitely stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2018
7.1

Lord Wolsely is a decent hostel. It is well located to allow you to walk to the CBD, harbour and Opera House. The hostel is actually a pub. The staff in the pub were really friendly but nobody seemed to be available to help you as a guest of a hostel. There was no reception area and limited information displayed or given by the staff about things to do. The facilities are a little tired and could do with modernising a little to turn this from a good hostel to a great one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • vilijarolls3325
  • Lithuania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2018
9.4

Lovely quiet location but close to Harris Street and About 5-10min walk to Darling harbour. There is a nice pub underneath and some green space outside. The hostel is very quiet and quite clean but slightly dated bathrooms, towels provided, could not complain. Kitchen is equipt well but no cooker. Overall very pleased with my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mnfuller
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2018
6.9

The staff was incredible they were nice and super helpful. It was a decent location. The only issue was no air con it got very hot in the rooms. Other than that not a bad place for a couple of nights

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jan 2018
7.1

Nice Hostel/Hotel and good value for money. Bathrooms were nice and were always clean (other than the odd cockroach we ran into). We were in a 4 bed dorm, rooms were VERY hot! The last two nights especially we struggled to get to sleep as there was no air circulating around the room due to no air con and a poorly working fan on the roof. The housekeeper lady was lovely, she was nice to talk to and always looked out for everyone. Kitchen area was nice, had everything we needed and more.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • emilyhumbert948080
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Dec 2017
8.9

Very helpful staff who gave us great ideas for what to do with our time in Sydney! Older building but all the spaces were incredibly clean. Planning on staying here on our way back through Sydney at the end of the month. Location was a 40 minute walk from the harbour. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2017
10.0

Very nice and central, but quiet location. Friendly staff, clean and very good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×