Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

M&J Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.3
Rating 2835 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.9
  • Security 4.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 3.8
BOOK NOW
5.3
Rating 2835 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.9
  • Security 4.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 3.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • zara339
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2018
6.6

I arrived at 7am, having booked and paid for the night before, and was told I couldn't check in to my room until 2pm. Having travelled for 12 hours after a delayed flight, this left me wandering around Rome for 7 hours in the heat on no sleep. I was refused a refund, so overall not too happy with my experience - if someone has paid for a room, they should get to sleep in it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • erinknaap9113
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jul 2018
6.0

The place is so close to Roma termini making it a great location. The bed width is decent and is quite comfortable however there is minimal space for belongings on the floor, no outlet at each bunk bed, no hooks in the bathroom to hang clothes/towels etc.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • klinephenix4708
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2018
4.0

Extremely dirty. The room was dusty and the kitchenette was broken, moldy and foul smelling. The bathroom didn’t feel hygenic and the shower didn’t work well. No soap to wash hands. If you walked on the floor your feet were covered with lint and other rubbish. Worst hostel I’ve ever stayed at, but great location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • ashishgarje694083
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2018
5.1

Everything was good. But there are lots of hidden charges which we dont know till end. Because the charges which is mentioned at the time of booking was different than what we paid at the time of check in. Also, There is one point to be noted. They had given from us the different types of service charges but there is no service. AC was not in working condition. We were there in summer. and it was very hot. We asked them and they told us that there is no mentioned in your booking.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are happy that "EVERYTHING WAS GOOD". Thank you for your review. The "hidden" charges are all mentioned on the website and also on the email that you receive once you make the resevation. The total is for the room and the tax, as you can read on our description conditions and email that you receive, you should pay for the sheets. AC: we do not provide in the dorms because people like differnt temperature. Rome is hot in the summer during the day at night temperature are nice around 19°.

  • Daliarevilo1547
  • Mexico, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2018
6.9

Las opiniones anteriores ya me ponían un poco al tanto, los chicos en recepción son muy amables, te dan información turística y te ayudan todo el tiempo para que tú estancia sea agradable. Las instalaciones; creo que es unedificio bastante viejo, deberían de darle más mantenimiento, el foco del baño no era suficiente, la manija de la regadera se caía, la taza del baño se movía contigo, la puerta del baño no tenía seguro, las literas hacían muchísimo ruido y la cama se hundía. Podría estar mejor

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • bennyrai33
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
14th Jun 2018
4.0

The only good thing about this hostel is the location so if you’re prepared to truly rough it stay here. While staying here 4 our of the 5 phones in our rook were stolen. Hostel manager wasn’t that helpful just kept emphasising the fact that the other group didn’t lock the door and that’s why it happened. Shower handle came off so you couldn’t control temperature of the shower and beds were so loud anytime me or my bunk mate moved. Wish I had read previous reviews before staying here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jayjorden6899
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jun 2018
7.4

The elevator didn't work and was a hassle to get up all of the stairs with my luggage. There were no charging ports in the rooms and the charging outlet in the common area were limited. The restrooms looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in a while.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th May 2018
5.4

First day I arrived to this hostel to hear that a guy in the same room been robbed! Rooms are Not that clean I got some suspicious bites had to change the room, Staff okay, Location is good... Finally u get what u paid for!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2018
4.9

On the arrival they've charged me 20 % more, for the tax (Hostelworld page says 'included') and for the linen. If linen's not optional, why is it not included in the final price!?! The kitchen is terrible, the bathroom also, but the biggest problem are people in the hostel, that are not guests in your room. They come up to your room at midnight, they pick any bed and jump on it in their clothes and shoes! They don't have the key, they just wait untill someone forgets to lock. Staff don't care.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • scottpratt18999
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th May 2018
5.4

Dirty and gross. The showers and bathrooms were disgusting, the beds we stayed in were uncomfortable. Positives were that the reception, one guy in particular was really nice. It also had a pretty good location. If you don’t care about cleanliness then this place would be fine.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×