Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 5079 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 5079 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • danielboonecrafts4003
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jun 2018
7.7

Conveniently located next to a transportation hub so catching the rail or a bus is extremely easy which is important given the properties location. Nice amenities in the reception area and right across from a lively little eatery/bar. Staff was hit or miss. I’d suggest maybe simply telling guests you don’t provide luggage service rather than reminding them you’re only a 3 star hotel. This took place with another guest and would be my only negative mark. A great stay for the price. I’d come again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2018
9.7

I loved being located right at Sloterdijk. It was so convenient to be located right at the station and be able to access anywhere in NL just a walk outside the hostel. It was very clean and straightforward. Was annoying that they didn't tell you at first that towels cost extra and had to make it down 8 floors to get a towel to then be told I needed to pay for it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2018
8.3

Great facilities - massive hostel so maybe not as easy for solo travelers like myself to meet other solo travelers!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • montaguepamela7589
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2018
4.6

Well its not my cup of tea. I.really did not appreciate the dormitories. I felt.the staff were not accommodating I will.not stay again Thanks

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • caseynnuckols1856
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2018
7.1

If you just need a place to sleep, this is perfect. Beds are comfy enough, not all have outlets next to them though (or that was the case in my 7 bed room). Very disorganized, no one really seemed to know who was coming and who was going. Woke up 4/5 days to housekeeping asking which bed was empty. There was a huge mess in the room, when front desk was asked about it, they gave me a sponge & a bucket with soap... Location super easy, good laundry, great showers, staff seemed standoff-ish.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2018
9.4

Loves my stay here staff was amazing its literally right next to the Sloterdijk Train station and one train stop from the Center... and the bar downstairs was very nice with all staff being very friendly and informative

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Please come back soon, we'd love to have you for another visit! Kind regards, your MEININGER team Amsterdam

  • hillm164668
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2018
2.6

Stuff was stolen by cleaning staff. There is no wonder the lost and found is made up of t shirts and non material things. However, when a pair of headphones and charger go missing they are not reported to the lost and found. Overall very frustrating stay at this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience. We are very sorry that your belonging went missing; due to the amount of people who uses the common dormitories, we highly recommend not leaving your valuables unattended. We hope that, in spite of this unfortunate incident, you will consider MEININGER Amsterdam for future visits to the city!

  • bostrovas6843
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jun 2018
6.6

Firstly this is a hotel and not a hostel. Rooms were full of dust, for example the bathroom door hinges and under the bed. Walls are paper thin and can hear every door bang next to you. Was booked in a dorm but got out in a single person dorm, not ideal when you’re travelling and wanting to meet people in hostels. There is no common area, more like a lobby with no atmosphere. Very far from the city, but a train station is next to the hotel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that upgrading your room went against your plans; kindly inform us of your preferences and we will give the private room to a different guest. We are not afraid of exaggerating when we say that our lobby is fairly spacious, as it contains dozens of tables, a bar, a guest kitchen, a pool table and other amenities. We hope to welcome you again soon! -Your MEININGER Amsterdam Team.

  • matt_vergs7835
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2018
8.6

Literally next door to the train station, decent rooms and friendly staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We are glad that our services have helped you enjoy the city. If you wish to discover even more, come back at any time to MEININGER Amsterdam!

15th Jun 2018
8.6

Great hostel, more like a hotel. Clean rooms with comfortable beds, ensuite and plenty of space for activities. There’s a locals bar just across the street and there’s a bar in the lobby as well. Not much atmosphere despite its size and how much they offer but that could be because it was so big. Didn’t have a small hostel feel. Either way it was great staff were great, stones throw away from the train to Amsterdam centraal and a lot quieter because it’s not in the middle of everything.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your comments. If you feel like socializing, our guest kitchen offers the opportunity to chat with urban explorers from all over the world. We hope to welcome you back soon to MEININGER Amsterdam!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×