Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 4683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 4683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • johnpaulswaine93857
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2018
8.9

Stayed here for 4 days was a very good hostel to stay in. Rooms were nice and clean staff was friendly and there were very good facilities available. You were literally right beside the metro to get into the city center which was only a 5 minute ride. I would recommend this place to anybody that wants to stay in a nice hostel. Ps my mate thought one of the staff members was extra nice she was a Scottish girl at the counter and would love to get in contact with her one of the days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you very much for your lovely review, it is incredibly rewarding to read the words of a satisfied customer. You can tell your mate that Beth, our lovely single-malted receptionist, appreciated your comments. We hope to see you soon at MEININGER Amsterdam!

5th Jan 2018
9.7

Meininger hotels you can’t go wrong. During my stay wifi was awesome. The guest kitchen was never busy when I wanted to use it. Housekeeping in the rooms everyday. Other than this hotel is one stop from the central station theres nothing bad I can say about this hotel chain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you very much for such a lovely review. You seem to have enjoyed our particular concept, and we are always glad to cover the needs of urban travellers. Remember that MEININGER Hotels operates in Europe's vibrant cities!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2018
9.4

Great place to stay, very near the train station and tram station. Atmosphere was something between a hostel and a hotel vibe. Staff were helpful. Rooms and communal area were very clean. Great facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We try to offer the best of both worlds: the comfort of a hotel and the prices of a hostel, with a diverse clientele to satisfy. We hope to have convinced you to visit us again soon at MEININGER Amsterdam!

4th Jan 2018
8.0

Very clean, nice people, spacious kitchen, comfortable beds, good showers. Nice atmosphere, with a bar and things to do, easy to meet people. Just next to Sloterdijk Station, If you're coming by bus it's perfect. If not, it's just the next stop by train.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. For those visitors who want more than a place to stay, our ample common area is the perfect meeting place to know more people and exchange experiences. We hope to welcome you back at MEININGER Amsterdam soon!

  • kayleighsheehan2228
  • Wales, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2017
8.3

Booked two beds in a mixed dorm, my friend and I were put into separate rooms on different floors. Staff were not helpful or apologetic about this happening, and blamed it on hostelworld as a site. If you want to avoid this happening I recommend you email the hostel to request you are in the same dorm. Thankfully different staff rectified this on our second night. The location is right next to the train station, takes about 5 minutes to get to the center of Amsterdam.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Sometimes, it can happen that dormitory bookings are split up into different rooms. Having all beds together in the same room is never fully guaranteed. This information should be available for you when making your booking. We do however try to avoid this whenever possible. We are sorry to hear that you were not offered appropriate assistance in the first place and that you had to wait for a solution. Our apologies for that! We hope that despite this inconvenience, you still had a great time exploring Amsterdam and we would be glad to welcome you back! All the best, Your MEININGER Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2017
9.1

lovely big, clean room. new towels every day, tv hair dryers and body wash etc.. in room. lady on front desk on check in could have been more helpful, but all other staff were lovely . location great even though out of town. literally right next door to sloterdjick station. Spar supermarket there as well bar in hostel was nice but ran out of bar snacks and toasties one night so that was disappointing. lovely looking kitchen facilities, pizza delivery service from reception yummy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time with us, hopefully your trip to Amsterdam was lots of fun! We would be more than happy to welcome you back at one of our hotels soon again. All the best, Your MEININGER Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Dec 2017
9.1

What I liked: - near public transport - good kitchen facilities - good atmosphere in common areas Could be better: - I was placed in a dorm with 6 people (5 guys, 1 girl) who already knew each other. I know I can’t be too choosy since it’s a dorm, however, I do prefer being in a room with a bunch of people who aren’t all in one friendship group so it feels like everyone is on more equal footing - my bed wasn’t made properly (Eg sheets hadn’t been changed, no pillow etc) on my first night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your review, it contains a good deal of information that future guests will find very useful. We are sorry that you had to be the only one in your dormitory who didn't belong to the group. This kind of situations is sometimes unavoidable, but feel free to request to be changed to a new room; if availabilities allow it, we will be glad to reallocate you. We hope that, in spite of this inconvenience, we will be able to welcome you soon at MEININGER Amsterdam!

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Dec 2017
7.4

It is a hotel, not a hostel. Expensive breafast and far away from city center (30 minutes by bus). But it is nice and very clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. Although there are some advantages in staying in the city center, our location allows us to offer cheaper prices and a quieter environment. Also, you can reach the center in only 5 minutes if you choose the train. We hope that you keep MEININGER Hotels in mind for future visits to Europe's vibrant cities!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2017
9.4

The location was absolutely perfect for us. It is right by the train station, and only a few minutes from the Centraal station so we felt that although we weren't right in the centre we could still access it easily whenever we liked. The dorm room was very comfortable, modern and actually feel quite private. The access around the building was easy, and there were nice spaces to relax. And on top of all that the staff were fantastic! Very much enjoyed - we would come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your kind words. Being not exactly in the center, we can avoid the hassle of the most touristic areas and provide a safer environment. Also, we have an ample common area for fun and games. Our fantastic staff will be glad to welcome you back at MEININGER Amsterdam!

28th Dec 2017
6.9

As always with Meininger, super average stay. Location was pretty poor, and the staff were fine but nothing exceptional. These properties are not hostel properties; rather they are hotel-atmosphere. Go in knowing that if you stay in Meininger, you'll have nice facilities but will want to spend as much time out as possible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×