Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Berlin East Side Gallery

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 396 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
12th Oct 2018
7.7

Clean dorm, very small but with good mattress, private reading light and separate toilet and shower, clever. My room was only ready 45 minutes after the official check-in time (3PM). Staff wasn't very capable it seemed. Another complaint is that you have to pay for luggage storage (I arrived an hour early), but that the locker in the luggage room only fits a small hand luggage suitcase, not even a backpack. I had to leave my bag on top of the lockers (unsecured), but still had to pay for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2018
4.0

Uniform staff, speaking as if reading up from a manual. Feels cold and the place was packed. half of the dorm went partying in the night and came back in the middle of the night. worst sleep ever. Plus I got bitten by bed bugs. I'm going to see if I can get my money back.. If you like to sleep like a sardeen in a can, and don't mind impersonal staff with a crowded hostel then this is the place for you. Great facilities but no soul in this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • catpeerson4625
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Oct 2018
7.1

Pros: Very clean and modern facilities. Next to the train station, so easy its convenient and easy to get around. Has a guest kitchen so you can bring your own food and cook. Cons: My 4-person dorm was the size of a walk-in closet - smallest room I've ever stayed in (and I have lived in a tiny house!) There was also a multi-night concert happening immediately outside the hostel which had loud festival noise all night long, so a good nights sleep was nearly impossible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Oct 2018
10.0

Great place to stay. Had a private room for 3 and it was clean and pretty quiet with the window closed. Kitchen was good - most guests seemed to forego the kitchen, so it wasn't too crowded. Being across the street from the Ostbahnhof transit station was excellent. Made getting around very easy. The grocery at the transit station was super convenient. Staff were polite, helpful, and friendly! We would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Oct 2018
9.4

-very convenient location -actually a hotel but also offers dorm beds, room is a bit small but given the price it is reasonable -clean -has guest kitchen - there are always event just outside hotel so it is a bit noisy until 1 am

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mysorenakul5441
  • India, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Sep 2018
10.0

I like the concept of guest kitchen, which is an amazing concept for hostels!. The cafe is brilliant as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • eliassonadam
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2018
10.0

Had little contact with the staff but when I did, they were open and willing to help. Even with some small things they didn't need to, had a great time and it was very suitable for our group. The only possible downsides were the lack of reading lamps around the beds, no real place to put fit our shoes and the lack of room left in the refrigerator down in the kitchen area(everything claimed always). We were in room 906. Thanks for making our vacation so delightful. //Adam

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kittyocm5854
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Sep 2018
8.0

Really nice hostel, rooms are nice and clean and the shower is amazing. Really good location. Only bad thing is that it is more like a hotel with shared dorms than a hostel, so it doesn’t really have an amazing atmosphere and as a solo traveller i found it difficult to meet people there. Apart from that good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Sep 2018
9.4

I had just an amazing stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Sep 2018
8.3

This is a great hostel right by the East Side Gallery. It is also right by Ostbahnhof Station which means great transport links all night at weekends. It is also a 20 min walk to some of the more local, less tourist-y clubs and bars. We stayed in the three bed private and it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The room was a little small but it was not really a problem. There was a slight problem at check in but it was sorted fast and they gave us free breakfast for the inconvenience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×