Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Munich City Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 6719 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 6719 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ambie_pearson
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Sep 2018
8.3

Reminds me more of a hotel than a hostel, harder to meet people here than in any other hostel I’ve been in. However the staff are very friendly and the rooms were very clean with their own bathroom which was also quite nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Sep 2018
8.6

We stayed there just for a night. The hostel felt more like an Hotel for good and bad. On one side, the facilities were great, the beds were very comfortable, and the hostel was really clean, but on the other side, it was annoying that the table games costed money, and breakfast costed around 8 euros which felt way overpriced. It is located very close to the central bus station, but a bit far from the old town. Overall, it was a great hostel but not good enough if you want to meet other people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a review and giving us feedback that we can review in order to ensure a positive experience for our guests. We are certainly glad that you were satisifed with the clean facilities and the beds were comfortable for you in order to get some good sleep. Correct, the central bus station is just a few minutes walk, and the city center is a bit further. Next to the Central Bus Station you have the S-Bahn which is just 3 stations away from the very center of the city which is quite convenient. We will take your feedback and try to improve these parts of the guest experience. We would like for our guests to interact with one another and feel like it is a great place to meet other guests and travellers. Thanks again for your review and safe travels! MEININGER Munich

6th Sep 2018
8.3

Meininger is about a 10 minute walk from the bus station and metro, and 20 from the trainstation. The room was clean and the provided towels and linen. The room had lockers, but you need locks of a certain size to make them work. Outlets were hard to reach. The bathroom was nice and mostly clean. However, the water didn't drain well out of the shower. Good wifi signal. I found the staff generally helpful. There is a nice bavarian beerhall right across the street. No convenient stores nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and for providing us with some information which can help us to improve the experience for our guests. In the event you need locks we have them available to our guests for a deposit, which is returned at checkout. We are sorry to hear the shower did not drain well, in the future let us know of any such problems and we will provide the info to our house technician and ensure it is quickly repaired. Once again thank you for your input and we looking forward to hopefully having you back in the future. MEININGER Munich

3rd Sep 2018
8.3

Overall a good hostel worth staying at, just a bit of a walk from the hauptbahnhof, but everything in the city was accessible through walking or train.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know you had a nice time with us. We hope to see you again in one of the many MEININGER Hotels in Europe. MEININGER Team Munich

  • Lillebaek97
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Aug 2018
9.7

Good stay. Close to the Oktoberfest too and perfect rooms with own toilets and shower. Breakfast was a bit expensive but all you can eat is good. Keycard went out of function some times, but reception fixed it and were polite

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Meininger Munich! Correct, Oktoberfest is just a short walking distance away. We hope to see you here again in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Aug 2018
10.0

Solid hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Your MEININGER team

  • rshoward5757
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2018
9.7

Much better than expected! We booked a private room for 5 people in munich as we had children with us. The room was fantastic - large, airy and very clean. We found that the atmosphere was brilliant and we were able to allow our two older children (11 and 14) to stay in the games room or go for breakfast alone as it was very well staffed and felt safe. The staff were very helpful and great to talk to. The breakfast area and options was beyond fantastic! We will be using the hostel again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thanks a lot for your great review! We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here. We are always happy to welcome kids here and hope to welcome all of you soon again! Kind regards, Alex

  • kylemcgregor936445
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th Aug 2018
8.6

More of a hotel than a hostel although it was good to have nice facilities and good beds for a change. Staff were helpful enough, everything was clean. Had to pay to store my luggage in a locker the day I left although you could probably just leave it on the floor and it wouldn't matter. Place is about 30 minutes from the centre of town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Your MEININGER team

24th Aug 2018
6.0

It takes forever to check in due to only one person at the desk and long lines. The rooms are very hot in the summer and windows open very little. Fans cost money to rent. Comfortable to sleep in bed. Clean bathroom. Average place. Too expensive in my opinion.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Ms. Heller, Thanks a lot for your review. We regrets that you didn´t enjoy your stay in our hotel. We always try our best to please our guest and we are really sorry if we failed with your stay. Concenring the fan, it´s only a deposit, no fee is charged for it. We hope to welcome you soon again, to improve the picture you have from our hotel. Kind regards, Alex

  • oden2465308
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2018
8.3

Extras a little to expensive for a better review.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, we are glad you were able to enjoy youre stay and hope to see you again in the future!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×