Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Vienna Downtown Franz

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3669 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3669 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Aug 2018
7.7

Biggest pro: it has AC. Cons: long lines at reception, no common area, lobby doesn’t have AC but does have loads of flies. Tiny kitchen. 6 bed dorm is cramped for 6 adults and luggage/bags. Location is alright - there’s a metro station nearby. Not ideal for a solo traveller. Good idea for groups. There are families and groups here a lot as it’s a hostel/hotel hybrid. I didn’t have a bad experience here but it wasn’t good compared to other hostels especially for the price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lilygray359537
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2018
8.6

Good location, nice rooms. Like other Meininger hostels it is better suited for families with the kitchen full of people making family meals (kitchen was a bit small). However, as young travellers interrailing it was not the best choice as there was no interesting bar or hangout area to meet other young people. Overall though, it was clean and located in a nice area so we had a nice stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2018
8.0

Overall nice and clean and rooms had air con which put it straight above other hostels we’ve stayed. The main problem was the lockboxes in the rooms were broken so you could just open them even with a lock on them. Also we never actually got put in the room we booked. We wanted a 6 person mixed dorm with all bunks and ended up with a 4 person mixed dorm which had a double bed and 1x bunk bed so it was just lucky i was travelling with my boyfriend and we used the double. Still a weird set up tho

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are happy to heat that you had a good stay with us. Thank you also for hint on the lockers, we will fix it asap. Sometimes instead of split you and put you in two different rooms, we prefer to put you in a smaller dorm in order to let you stay together. I am sorry if this wasn´t clarified at the check-in time. We hope to welcome you back to one of our MEININGER houses all over Europe! Kind regards, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2018
8.3

Only 1 washing machine in the whole hostel and the lockers for your bag/bags wouldn't actually lock, however it was a very nice place would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2018
8.3

Even thought it’s a not in the city center I loved my stay here. Location was great, super close to river and huge park. Also easy walking or metro to sights. Staff was extremely kind and room was kept very clean. Only downside was communal kitchen was TINY and my food got eaten at one point. Price is a bit high for my liking but that’s pretty much the deal in Austria.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Jul 2018
8.3

More like a hotel than a hostel. Recommended for families or if there's a group of you perhaps staying together, otherwise a bit quiet. The beds are very comfy and there's a good people to shower ratio

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are glad you enjoyed it, especially the comfy beds. We hope to welcome you back soon to one of our MEININGER houses, maybe in Kopenhagen or Rome next time? Best wishes, Sara

  • nicksanso951609
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jul 2018
10.0

Everything you could hope for in a hostel, best hostel i stayed in while backpacking through Europe for 5 weeks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for commenting on your recent stay! We are so glad that you fully enjoyed your stay. Feedbacks like yours are our best reward and we are really happy to read that you consider us the best hostel you´ve stayed. We hope to welcome you again to one of our MEININGER houses all over Europe, maybe to Rome or Munich next time? Best wishes, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jul 2018
7.4

Really nice modern hostel only 20min walk to the main centre. Pleasant stay apart from the cleaner coming in at 10.20am one morning and kicking a girl out of her bed that wasn't checking out until 11am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you had a good stay with us and that you appreciated the location and the modern facilities. However, we are very sorry for the situation you described with the housekeeping. This is obviously not okay and I already talked to HSK to avoid such unpleasant situations in the future. We hope to welcome you again to one of our MEININGER houses, maybe in Rome or Amsterdam next time? Kind regards, Sara

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
22nd Jul 2018
9.1

This hostel was perfect for a bit of rest and relaxation. It’s mainly a hotel so even the hostel rooms are maintained to an excellent standard. They’re clean, big beds with plugs and lights next to each of them. By far the nicest hostel I’ve stayed at! I wouldn’t say it’s much of a sociable hostel though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are glad you enjoyed it and appreciated the very clean and well furnished rooms. We hope to welcome you again to one of our MEININGER houses all over Europe! Best wishes, Sara

22nd Jul 2018
10.0

Everything was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback, we are really happy about it. Feedbacks like yours are definitely our best reward! We hope to welcome you again soon, maybe in MEININGER Rome or Amsterdam next time? Kind regards, Sara

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×