Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mad Monkey Backpackers Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 818 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 818 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2018
7.1

Bathrooms needed to be cleaned more often.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for your review, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We will pass on your feedback to our staff in an effort to improve our facilities. We hope to see you stay with us again. Kind regards, the Mad Monkey team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2018
10.0

The hostel is in a good location, with a nice pool and great atmosphere from the large communal areas. It has a tv area and bean bags to relax and a nice bar. It also has a huge kitchen with free hot and cold breakfast. The rooms are clean and really comfy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • albertroigmilan2298
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th Aug 2018
7.7

Awesome ambience as a party place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jul 2018
9.1

Awesome hostel. In the center of town. Easy walk to all the bars and 15 minute walk to the night market and lagoon. It's a mixture of quiet and party which is great for those trying to figure out what they want to do next, but also those who want to adventure. The main common area is perfect to mingle, while both the food and drink prices are pretty affordable compared to other places in town. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2018
9.7

Great hostel! Very chill and relaxed atmosphere. Nice pool, outdoor bar area, and good areas to hangout with bean bags and a screen for movies! Yummy breakfast in the morning with fresh fruit, pancakes, cereals, toast, and yogurt! Great place to stay while adventuring in Cairns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2018
9.4

Very cool atmosphere at this hostel. There is a pool, cabanas, and pizza restaurant on site. I like the outdoor setup. There were also hammocks and bean bag chairs upstairs. There was even someone at reception who was specifically there to help you book tours. A little loud at night but overall a nice place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tedoland5806
  • USA, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jul 2018
10.0

Mad Monkey was great! Clean, chill, great facilities. Would definitely book again! We were there on a Tuesday night and they hosted 'Wild Life' with live crocs/lizards/snakes. Pizzas were huge and happy hour prices were great! Bar on site so strickly NO BYO. Had a huge industrial walk-in fridge. Hot brekkie from 8am. Fanstic hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brittneyames8234
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2018
10.0

great overall experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • macosta89956
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2018
10.0

I love this place. The staff is amazing and the common areas are great. Definitely the best one in Cairns. I’m definitely comming back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ignaciopvx9351
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2018
10.0

Best place ever!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×