Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mad Monkey Backpackers Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • katelyng6443
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2018
9.7

Great hostel with some awesome staff! Definitely a lot of people which made it a little crowded at times. Over all very good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Amazing to hear you had a good time here, and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are quite a large hostel but we do our best to keep as friendly and personal atmosphere as we can. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! Mad Monkey Team

  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Feb 2018
10.0

Best hostel I’ve ever been to!!! The atmosphere was fantastic and it was so easy to get to know people, I loved it! The staff was very friendly and helpful and made very good pancakes for breakfast! The bar was pretty cheap and the food was very good (especially the nachos, and make sure you get the $5 meal deal before 18.00 when you buy a drink). I recommend everyone who goes to Cairns to stay here :))

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We really appreciate it!! It is really good to hear that you enjoyed it so much over here. We are all backpackers and try all together to have the best time here in Cairns! Thanks for recommending our hostel! We hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Mad Monkey Team.

  • ValSaindon
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jan 2018
10.0

An amazing hostel, with a vibrant atmosphere, friendly staff & clean dorms. Would recommend it to anyone. Worth every penny.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Amazing, that's awesome to hear! Hope to see you again in the future! Enjoy your travels Mad Monkey Cairns

  • rachelmorourke1375
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2018
7.4

This was my first ever hostel stay in Australia. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfy. There seemed to be only one bathroom for the entire block so be prepared to que constantly! The bathroom was grimey/dirty/flooded. The social bar area was really good when it wasn’t raining. The bar cheap and they had really good meal deals for $10 or less. Food was tasty. Breakfast included was fab. Cereals/toast/beans/fruit/yogurt/pancakes.. would have give it a higher score if it was cleaner

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Glad you found the rooms and social bar area great, unfortunately we are in the process of renovating many of our bathrooms at the moment, however this is a short term problem which will be lead to many improvements in the future. Hopefully we will see you again and you will enjoy your stay even more! Mad Monkey Cairns

  • davemeredith6968995
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2018
9.7

Good atmosphere, friendly staff, comfortable beds and good vibes. Couldn't recommend it more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • becbruford1626
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jan 2018
4.0

Still lots of refurb work going on even though page states refurbed 2017. Drilling & loud noise all day, should of been informed prior/ reduced price. Doesn't look like the pictures on description. Very disappointed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Sorry you were disappointed by your stay. We have recently refurbished many of our rooms in the hostel to a high standard and are in the process of renovating many of the bathrooms, which will be completed in the very near future. Obviously this does lead to some noise and disruption which we can only apologise for but will lead to a better experience. We hope you come back again and have a better stay. Mad Monkey Cairns

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jan 2018
9.1

This hostel was amazing! Despite the bathroom being a bit dirty (possible leak) this stay exceeded my expectations. Free breakfast, gym passes, bike rentals, and Netflix really made the place feel like home. Tons of area for social with enough space to get away from the noise. All of the staff were friendly and very helpful, especially the tour desk! A quick walk to the beach, this is the best option in Cairns!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI there, Thank you so much for the positive review, we're so glad you felt at home here! Apologies for the bathroom issue, we are currently in the process of renovating the bathrooms on site. Mad Monkey Cairns

  • otosmith9689
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
9th Jan 2018
6.9

great atmosphere, and close to everything you need. The staff were very helpful but it is completely let down by how dirty it is!! kitchen was quite mucky especially fridge they put the yoghurt in, flies and food floating in stagnant water! shown the bathroom when I arrived, went in next morning for a shower and the builders were smashing apart! Went to a mixed shower room and someone had trimmed their hair and left them On the floor. If cleaning was checked by managers it could be allot better

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2018
8.3

Wifi was amazing, breakfast was AMAZING. Little out of the cbd but city’s pretty spread out. Huge lockers. Small rooms but pretty clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mmverabogado2768
  • Paraguay, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2018
8.6

Location is great. Very close to the Lagoon, the reef terminal and supermarket. The staff are very friendly. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable. The wifi is very good. The bathroom could be cleaner and the bar options could be wider. However there is free bbq each Sat and cheap drinks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Cairns. Apologies for the bathroom, we do keep standards as high as possible, (staff clean bathrooms 3 times a day) but in a busy hostel, these standards can occasionally slip, we can only apologise for this. Best wishes Mad Monkey Cairns

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×