Hostelworld.com

Mad Monkey Backpackers Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 882 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Nov 2018
7.1

The atmosphere of this hostel was pretty good! It did get a little loud if you were by the common area though. If you want to dive it’s only a 15 min walk to the boat area which is nice! And it’s quite close to the CBD. The problem I found was there wasn’t enough toilets/showers. Someone would always be using a toilet or sink or shower. Other then that this hostel was pretty good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Oct 2018
8.9

I had a really good stay here. It was reasonably clean and the rooms were spacious enough. The location was brilliant, only a 5 minute walk from the lagoon. The drinks at the bar was reasonably priced and the staff were really friendly. Definitely would recommend staying here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yay! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You're welcome back, anytime! Kind regards, the Mad Monkey team.

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Oct 2018
9.7

Clean and friendly hostel, has a travel agent on sight so able to sort day trips from there which was useful. Arrived early and were able to store our luggage. Facilities clean, rooms comfortable and clean. Not too much noise. Common area big and plenty of room. Breakfast ok- basic toast & cereal. Not always fully ready at 8am (one day waited until 8.25 for stuff to be pulled out). inconvenient for our day trip. Otherwise good location & friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lorenadadora2
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Oct 2018
10.0

Wonderful hostel to stay. I loved the staff, facilities and breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We're also happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast spread - we'll be sure to let our pancake chefs know. Come back soon! Kind regards, the Mad Monkey team

13th Oct 2018
8.6

Really nice hostel. Some rooms are really good and some of them are really not. Just ask to switch rooms!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Oct 2018
10.0

Great hostel! The right balance between party and chilled vibes. Loved it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Sep 2018
9.1

Highly recommended. Great location, great setup for socialising and meeting people, free gym entry and breakfast. Staff at the time of my stay were friendly. Only downside is the size of the kitchen and in addition it gets used by the restaurant next door which can take up alot of oven space! Note: no BYO. Bar prices are reasonable but not as cheap as your usual pre drinks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall including our free gym access and breakfast as we are particularly proud of these features. Unfortunately it is law in Australia that you cannot bring your own alcohol onto a licensed premises so that one is out of our hands! Kind regards, the Mad Monkey team.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 41 reviews
23rd Sep 2018
6.6

If you are english speaking only you may not enjoy as there were lots of French and German speakers so it was a little hard to join in social atmosphere. Also seem to be lots of long term stayers/staff staying here so they are a little cliquey. Also showers are gross and kinda stuffy in rooms, but nice outdoor area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, as we are an international backpacker hostel we do have an array of travellers from all around the world. We require staff members to stay with us at least one month so they can be classed as long term stayers but are always friendly and accommodating to guests. Our bathroom facilities are cleaned 3 times a day so we apologise if these were not up to standard, any suggestions you have on how to improve on this are much welcome. We do hope you visit us again soon. Kind regards, the Mad Monkey team.

  • Hihihihi
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2018
7.1

First of all the stay in the hostel was great with great service at the reception. Unfortunately had one bad experience. As a usual thing in some hostels it was not allowed to have food in the room, which is a totally understandable rule in my opinion, and my bad I forgot some stuff in the locker. One of the cleaners however allowed herself to take all bags including some non-food (not super valuable) stuff out of the lockers in the room and lied about it afterwards. This is simply stealing.....

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2018
9.4

Such an amazing atmosphere, the best hostel breakfast i've had and great location! Although the bathroom was not clean with a broken lock..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Alys, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall, especially our free hot breakfast as it is something we are particularly proud of. Our bathrooms are cleaned 3 times a day so we apologise you found the facilities not up to standard. In regards to the lock this was fixed the day after it was reported to reception. Kind regards, the Mad Monkey team.

×