Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mad Monkey Backpackers Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 760 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 760 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2018
9.7

Good to stay at since it's very sociable while the party moves on at midnight so you can sleep if you feel like too. Lockers are perfect, and they made guacamole and pancakes for the free brekky!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • chloe_jackson5858
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2018
6.0

Breakfast was very good , nice double bedroom the shared bathrooms need a good deep clean as there was a lot of black mold which is very off putting and needs addressing . Everything else was good would stay again only for the bathroom

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi !! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you liked our breakfast and the double bedroom. Our bathroom already got a deep clean, sorry for the inconvenience. Regards, Natacha

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
6th May 2018
8.0

Good stay, would recommend, clean hostel and great breakfast and BBQ night! Loads of hot dogs and cheese! Staff form pizza place used kicthen at peak times, meaning not alot of room to cook, constantly used microwave. Not alot of showers and toilets, also cleaned at odd times. There was a moody smell in the room and lower bathroom. Happy travels were very helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks a lot for taking the time to reply. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our food and our happy travels team. Bathrooms and toilets are cleaned 2 times a day, we will make sure to get rid of the smell. Regards, Mad Monkey team

  • kaylee_standing1361
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2018
10.0

Had an amazing time here and sad to be leaving! The staff are wicked and really helpful and fun, getting everyone involved!! Really good hostel and will definitely be coming back 🤗

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mollyhager992211
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Apr 2018
8.0

everything was great, the only issues were that the kitchen was way too small for everyone to try and cook it was stressful ! and the place was a bit dirty (bathrooms and kitchen) but as i say everything else was perfect, location, wifi, atmosphere, room etc !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for mentioning our location, WiFi, atmosphere and the room. Good to hear that you find it perfect! Sorry about the kitchen, it can be quite busy in there, but still we have 10 stoves to use. The kitchen and bathrooms getting cleaned three times a day, but the bathrooms are in the middle of renovations, so we're still waiting for that to be completed. Enjoy any further travels. Kind Regards, Mad Monkey Team.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2018
10.0

I am very happy that I chose that hostel. I didn't had any problems, all the staff members are very nice, friendly and helpful. The bathroom was always very clean. I hired the bike for one to get around Cairns- also without any problems and in addition a good way to get around cairns to the botanical garden. Especially the dining area outside was very comfy and it's easy to get to know to new people. Definitely recommandable!😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2018
9.4

If you’re in Cairns you have to stay here! We were going to stay at Gilligan’s, but we’re very glad we didn’t! This place has an unparalleled vibe - if you want to chillout, you have the seating area on the balcony or the pool; if you want to party you have the downstairs bar, and you’re right round the corner from Gilligan’s/Woolshed. And when you come back, it’s as quite as a doormouse under house arrest. It has everything. All I would say is the showers could be cleaner. Otherwise it’s a 10.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your amazing review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We do have different areas to make the hostel approachable for everyone and we are located in the middle of the city centre. We are aware of the bathrooms, but we are still in the middle of doing the renovations at the moment. Enjoy any further travels. Mad Monkey Team.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Apr 2018
6.9

There are not enough bathrooms for all the people, they are only single bathrooms. They are definitely doing Reno’s to them but the bathrooms that are not done are so old and full of mold, they are truly disgusting. The bar atmosphere feels like you’re in a frat house. All the bartenders are standing around with no shirts on, smoking at the bar in your face when you’re trying to order when they have clear no smoking signs at the bar. The location is good and the food was good as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food from Lush, the pizzeria next door and the location as we are located in the CBD. Sorry about the bathrooms, we are doing renovations at the moment and yes not all of them have been renovated, but they will anytime short. It is true that the bartenders sometimes walk around shirtless and there is a lot of beerpong going on in the hostel. We are sorry about the smoke! And we'll definitely keep an eye on that as it is still an smoking area! We hope you enjoyed your stay anyway and enjoy any further travels! Kind Regards, Mad Monkey Team.

15th Apr 2018
5.7

I found this hostel dirty and in need of maintenance. Boys toilets had no sink which is disgusting! Insects crawling around on the floor in my room. Room was really small compared to other hostels. Only nice area was the outdoor areas. Seriously better options available!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, We have 18 cleaning shifts a day and our rooms are cleaned daily with a deep clean once a week. The bathroom in question was recently renovated and the sink hadn't arrived in time however this has now arrived and has been installed into the bathroom. Apologies for any inconvenience caused by this. We're happy to hear you liked our common area. We wish you the best of luck on your travels - MMBC team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Apr 2018
9.7

Has a TV room where can watch Netflix or play games, has a bar and can order food at discounted prices from the Italian next door. Had 2 beds in a 4 bed dorm, the was plenty of space but a guy had emptied his whole bag on the floor but if that wasn't the case there would be more space. The showers weren't amazing just not very powerful but in good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×