Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mad Monkey Nacpan Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 323 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jun 2018
9.4

Oh boy what a place. I’m not much of one for hyperbole but this might just be the best hostel I’ve ever stayed at. Plan to stay longer than you think you will!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! You may or may not be one of the best guests we have had in Nacpan, as well :) Come back and stay with us again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jun 2018
6.9

Great location and staff were fab! Knew it was a party hostel which was fine with us but if you don't like house music don't come here they play it non stop! Facilities were okay, they can book tours and stuff for you. Food is quite expensive and not great. The atmosphere here sucks, sorry but it was so cliche, if you weren't a loud rich Southern Englishman 18 year old on their gap year you just didn't feel like you fit in at all. Also be aware of drunk people trying to climb into your bed!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! We are so happy that you enjoyed our great location and the staff. They work hard so that awesome guests like you have a great time. Noted about the music; we will be sure to mix it up a bit. As for the prices – when you’re running a hostel on an island, everything has to be brought in by boat and manually carried to the hostel. Our rates are set where they have to be to offer you awesome atmosphere and delicious food in a remote getaway destination and pay for this service. Like they say, ‘you get what you pay for.' We are sorry that you didn't enjoy our atmosphere, unlike 95 percent of our customers. Most people have nothing but positive words about Mad Monkey Hostel Nacpan. As for guests climbing into your bed, we understand your frustration; that is completely unacceptable. Unfortunately, the behavior of our other guests is outside our control - everyone’s an adult here. We do ask everyone to be considerate, and our security team will intervene when someone is disruptive to an extreme degree. Please understand that these individual’s actions aren’t a reflection of Mad Monkey. We hope you’ll give us another go soon, and find out what we’re really all about and what keeps so many great guests coming back for repeat stays.

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
16th Jun 2018
9.7

This hostel exceeded my expectations. I’ve stayed at their Boracay which was fun but everything at their Nacpan hostel is far more better! Amazing shout out to the Nacpan team who worked so hard to service us 200%! I will definitely comeback and stay longer 😎😂

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks for the awesome review. We are so happy that Nacpan exceeded your expectations! Come back again soon. They miss you and want you to stay longer, as well!

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
13th Jun 2018
10.0

Had a great time at this mad monkey! Location is amazing, right on the beautiful beach! Atmosphere was great!! Staff do a lot to encourage that too! It is very much a party hostel though, so not ideal for families or travellers who don't want that! Big comfy beds with mosquito nets! Staff were fantastic, especially Robbie who is the best guy and made our stay even better! Is on the more expensive side but I would say it is well worth it! No complaints at all, would highly recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks for the awesome review. Robbie will be so pleased to hear that he got a shout-out! We are so glad you had a great time with us, and we hope to see you again soon in Nacpan! Cheers.

  • ecater895386
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
10th Jun 2018
8.3

Had a really fun (and alcohol) filled few days here. The beach is lovely and the activities etc fun. Very easy to make friends etc. The staff are really nice too. Probably wouldn’t stay more than a couple nights as it’s a tiny bit isolated but it’s good fun and I’d recommend it for anyone in the El Nido area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2018
9.1

This place is something else. If you want a crazy party scene this is the place to be.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks for the high rating and kind words. We are so glad you had a great time partying with us!

  • rebeccacaitrin1850
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jun 2018
9.4

We stayed here for 5 nights and absolutely loved it! Nacpan beach is beautiful, we didn’t really have the best weather but we still had a great time. This is definitely a party hostel which we really enjoyed, everyone’s really friendly and there’s a good atmosphere. The beds are really comfy and we both slept really well. The food is amazing. It may be a bit more pricey but the staff are amazing and they keep the place so clean, everytime we went to the bathroom they were being cleaned.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lkehoefriars6146
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2018
8.0

Overall what we expect from MMH. Fabulous location, interesting amenities, and a party atmosphere! The only downsides: the ride out there was a bit of a pain because the road was so so sooo bad (on a tricycle, in the lashing rain, at night—not a great combination FYI... many drinks were had post trip) and then the dogs, so cute but after awhile and the amount that were around it just became annoying and gave a dirty vibe to the place. But even still, I would recommend TMM to my party friends!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks so much for the thoughtful review. We take all of our customers' feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to voice your concerns. As for the road, we do advertise as a remote location, and there's not much we can do about it being bumpy. We are so glad you made it to Nacpan safely, however! Noted about the dogs; I will speak to the GM and see what we can do. Come back soon, and thanks again for staying with us at Mad Monkey Hostel Nacpan Beach!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Jun 2018
7.1

Rats chewed through my bag that was in the locker.... the price they offer for the island tour is almost 1000P more that what you pay in el nido. The only reason to stay here would be for the party atmosphere because there is nothing near the hostel...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear about this situation with the rat. At the time you were staying there were a few rat sightings, which is regrettable, but we've since taken some pretty drastic measures to fix that issue, These will remain ongoing so it's all good for now. I wish you'd mentioned it to reception; we could have done something to fix the situation. Regarding the comments of the pricing of our Tour M Combo Tour? Did you do it? Our tour is P2200 (or P1800 for the first ten early birds - for now). I'll just mention a few things about our tour which separate it from the 1200 peso tour you're mentioning. Environmental Fee is included in our price. We don't sting you after you get on board. Our boat departs and returns to Nacpan Beach, right out the front of the hostel, so no worries with transiting. When available, we use a double storey boat which you can move freely around. We have a sound system on board. We visit multiple stops across multiple islands - Best of Tour A, C and D when the weather's good! Oh and unlimited alcohol as well as a very decent buffet lunch. We make it pretty clear in our description that Nacpan Beach is quite isolated and quiet. For us, this is what makes the experience. It's really a special place, so enjoy it while it remains this untouched. May I suggest you visit Phuket or Kuta Beach for your next holiday. I think they might be more your scene. Thanks for the shout out on the party atmosphere. Hope you enjoyed the nightly open bar and free shots every hour. It is good fun up there!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Jun 2018
10.0

Brilliant stay! Mad monkeys is a very social hostel right on the beach. If you want beers and shots, it's the place for you! Went on one of the boat trips... brilliant and boozey! Beds are spacious. Huts can get hot. Mosquito net not great. Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks for the high rating and thoughtful feedback. Noted about the mosquito nets; I will speak with the manager and see what we can do to improve them! Regardless, it sounds like you had an amazing time. Safe travels, and come back soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×