Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Maitian International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 5.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2018
5.7

One staff not attentive and not interested in helping non-Chinese guests (he wouldn't get up from his bed/stop playing with his phone when I was in need), but the other staff helped me call a local travel agency when the other one 'couldnt' find my ticket that had been delivered to the hostel on the day before.. So your experience depends on the staff. Not a typical backpackers' hostel experience/atmosphere but that's an experience too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ritopaxi
  • Portugal, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2018
5.7

I didn’t feel very welcomed or helped with things I needed help with. The bathroom in the room wasn’t very clean. And some guests had to leave because of not being allowed to stay at the GH.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Aug 2018
5.4

As a foreigner you have not a lot of choice as in most hostels we aren’t allowed. This place was ok, but it’s a Chinese hostel. People don’t respect sleeping time. Make a lot of noice. Put the light on in the middle of the night. And the beds are horrible, but that’s anyway Chinese standard. The staff is extremely unfriendly and unwilling to help. Make sure you make a reservation upfront! Than they are a bit more kind to you. Anyway is I said it’s not that you have another option in Urumqi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2018
7.1

It's a Chinese hostel. The rooms were nice and clean, clean sheets given to you upon check-in. Not much of an atmosphere if you don't speak Chinese or enjoy listening to other people playing movies loudly on their phones or having calls in the common area. There was also a mother and child in the dorm room in the bunk across from me which I found a bit strange.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2018
3.4

yeah yeah obviously it's a chinese hostel. but the staff is really the worst i've ever encountered. 2/3 of the regular workers have major attitude problems to the point where they make you feel like you've done something wrong just by checking in. in terms of how checking in worked out, it's pretty simple for Urumqi and there aren't many other similar options, so that's fine. but it's truly unpleasant having to deal with people who will barely do their job, let alone help you navigate the city.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2018
10.0

A really good place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2018
6.3

Ok so it's not a great hostel at all, but you'll still end up booking here because, well, it's Ürümqi and there isn't anything else. You'll meet fellow travellers here, you'll socialize and you'll have fun... -ish. It just sucks there isn't anything better in terms of facilities. No AC in the rooms but there are fans. Squat toilets in a room so dark it's hard to judge how clean it actually is.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jun 2018
7.7

Women's bathroom was not working, so there was only one shower (but most rooms seemed to have private bathrooms). Beds were way too close, and whenever the person in the other bed moved, it felt like an earthquake. Location is quite good, easy access to everything. Shower was quite spacious, so that was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2018
9.7

Had a great stay. Good amenities, nice atmosphere and excellent location. Staff was helpful even though they didn't speak any English.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2018
6.3

Maitian is one of the only hostels in urumqi that still accepts foreigners -Xinjiang province has a huge police presence at the moment- so regardless you may find ourself saying here. The location is subpar, next to a huge shopping mall, and the majority of the staff didn’t seem super friendly (notable exception, amazing young Chinese guy with English name Jack, super helpful). There’s a decent hangout lounge in the front room. Don’t think I’d go back if I had another choice, but only one around

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×