Hostelworld.com

Maitian International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • elphuonglan9381
  • Vietnam, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2018
8.0

The Location is great, it’s next to Hongshan and easy to get to Bazaar market. The staff is nice and helpful, even when they can’t speak English much. Recommend the restaurant next door.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • bjustham9556
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
20th Oct 2018
7.1

This hostel isn’t as bad as you might think from all the reviews! Yes, the staff want to play on their phones rather than looking at you - but they did answer everything I asked (one had good English too, bonus!). The room was clean. Hot water was excellent - bring toilet roll and soap though. No issues with noise beyond individuals who didn’t know how to talk quietly - standard in China, but they did stop when asked. Not much atmosphere in the main room but I met a few people in the dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
15th Oct 2018
5.7

Average at best. Basic dorms, you have to make your bed yourself, towels for extra price, no soap, no toilet paper, squat toilet in a dark, damp room, small common area and slow, inattentive staff that don't seem to care about anything. And considering the fact that this is the only hostel in Urumqi there'svery little reason for them to improve anything.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • breakfastbuffets
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Oct 2018
5.4

For foreigners, this is probably the cheapest accommodation available in Urumqi. The location is pretty central too; Hong Shan Park is a short walk away and there are many shops and food stores around the immediate area. Unfortunately, this is about all the positive things I can say about the hostel. The dorm rooms, while reasonably clean, lack individual lockers. The toilet is exceedingly small, dark and did not have a nice smell. The staff also seemed like they didn't want to be there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kookygook
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2018
7.7

One of the staff was an absolutely unhelpful and rude

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • poonpow2129
  • Malaysia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2018
4.9

The hostel is very rundown. The staff has attitude problem when approached for information for directions. On the morning of having breakfast in the lounge, the staff was having a heated argument with a guest for a cool 20 minutes. Rightly, you should have taken this hostel off your list. I usually book my accommodation with another travel company but was unable to find this hostel in their list. Now I know the reason why.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2018
5.7

One staff not attentive and not interested in helping non-Chinese guests (he wouldn't get up from his bed/stop playing with his phone when I was in need), but the other staff helped me call a local travel agency when the other one 'couldnt' find my ticket that had been delivered to the hostel on the day before.. So your experience depends on the staff. Not a typical backpackers' hostel experience/atmosphere but that's an experience too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ritopaxi
  • Portugal, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2018
5.7

I didn’t feel very welcomed or helped with things I needed help with. The bathroom in the room wasn’t very clean. And some guests had to leave because of not being allowed to stay at the GH.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
28th Aug 2018
5.4

As a foreigner you have not a lot of choice as in most hostels we aren’t allowed. This place was ok, but it’s a Chinese hostel. People don’t respect sleeping time. Make a lot of noice. Put the light on in the middle of the night. And the beds are horrible, but that’s anyway Chinese standard. The staff is extremely unfriendly and unwilling to help. Make sure you make a reservation upfront! Than they are a bit more kind to you. Anyway is I said it’s not that you have another option in Urumqi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2018
7.1

It's a Chinese hostel. The rooms were nice and clean, clean sheets given to you upon check-in. Not much of an atmosphere if you don't speak Chinese or enjoy listening to other people playing movies loudly on their phones or having calls in the common area. There was also a mother and child in the dorm room in the bunk across from me which I found a bit strange.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
×