Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mandarin Hostel Budapest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 2047 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 2047 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Aug 2018
10.0

Great hostel. Huge kitchen with everything you'd ever need (though it's in the basement... and smells like a basement) You get a fob key so you can come and go from the hostel whenever you want, you never have to wait on reception to get inside (my biggest pet peeve about hostels!)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alaframboise17591
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2018
5.4

Bedbugs!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • mwinters1034517
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Aug 2018
6.0

I stayed at Mandarin Hostel one night. You get what you pay for really. The furniture and bedding was old but the hostel was relatively clean. There is a shopping centre beside the hostel and there's a laundry nearby too which was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • malherbefrancois003517
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2018
7.1

Good place, close to kalvin tér metro station line M3. Not many things to do in the area but you can easily reach deak ferenc tér. The hostel has RFID lockers in the rooms, one for each bed. You can enter at any time. There are sofas in the living room, a kitchen, laundry machines (6eu), a snooker (not in really good shape). The staff is (for the most part) nice and helpful (one of them is a bit grumpy).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • eoprey6683
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2018
6.3

Toilets and showers were dull and dirty, but the rooms and other facilities (kitchen etc) were good. Didn’t like the location, there were a lot of men around the streets that made me and my friends feel uncomfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • chaiacheena2649
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
1st Aug 2018
7.7

I stayed at here for 5 nights and I overall would recommend. On the one hand you’re paying for what you get. The kitchen, common room and outdoor areas were massive which was great! The lockers were very secure and it was very near a shopping mall. On the other hand, the wifi was terrible and for some with no data on their phone that was an issue. Because the rooms were hot we had to have windows open which meant I got eaten alive by mosquitoes. The location is also a fair walk from the centre

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Aug 2018
9.4

Very friendly and homely atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Aug 2018
4.6

My experience in Mandarin wasn't good.The wibe I felt there was quite bad.The location is depressing and the interier of the hostel as well.The staff was strange. Bathroom kind of dirty, definitely not cleaned everyday, in the shower was used panties.Impossible to lock the room from inside.In female dorm there is a window directly to the street.So when it was opened,it was incredibly noisy.But when it was closed,it was hot and impossible to breathe.Air conditioner is needed.Wifi connection bad.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Jul 2018
7.7

Hostel really clean and our room was lovely - just not enough plug sockets! Only one for the while room! Facilities good, great common areas, good to meet people. However court yard noisy at night if people are sitting there and you're trying to sleep. Was woken up on our last night a lot. Location a bit far out - 20/30 min walk to get to the centre. Only real negative of the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2018
10.0

perfect place, peaceful, clean, nice people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×