Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1013 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1013 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2018
9.7

My partner and I have been traveling for 6 months and this is one of the best hostels we have stayed at. The staff are very friendly and will help you out with anything. The location is amazing, one street back from the beach and surrounded by many restaurants and bars. The hostel has many places to relax and socialise with other people. Definitely recommend this hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2018
8.3

Great hostel. We loved the location and staff. We were 2 girls alone at a 4 bedroom. If it was full the room was definitely too small. We loved it though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • harriet100519968035
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
14th Jul 2018
8.3

Had a nice stay here! The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would 100% recommend staying here. The only bad thing was that there was a little bit of module in our room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
12th Jul 2018
10.0

Great location minutes from the beach, loads of restaurants and bars in the area, close to the supermarket as well. Friendly helpful staff, with areas to chill and also a bar. Extended our stay here as we liked it that much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • grahamprosser5042
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2018
8.6

Location is great, felt safe in the area but still have to take heed. Hostel was cool, would definitely go again. However the bathroom's were pretty gross always with a nasty, dirty towel on the floor

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • gaemperlimiro4859
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2018
8.3

I stayed in begin of July a few days in this Hostel. The location is very good. Just one block from the beach (3min). Also many restaurants and bars are very close. Around 500m to the metro. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • conorwallace11206
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jun 2018
6.9

Overall an okay hostel, the wifi was good & fast, the showers were powerful and hot and staff were friendly. Although, it felt very damp, atmosphere was lacking and the kitchen wasn’t great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • aoifejdoyle9626
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2018
10.0

Great stay here! Location is perfect near the beach, metro, restaurants and shops. Dorm was comfortable and there was no problem with noise. Still a great atmosphere with plenty of people around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sam_wassell
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th May 2018
7.7

Nice hostel with good atmosphere and bar staff, offered a good range of trips/excursions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd May 2018
6.6

The location is great- right by the beach. But the bathrooms are not clean, I thought it was a decent hostel but after visiting others near Rio you realise how little the staff actually do for you (have to make your own bed, breakfast is not included, you have to pay for a towel and padlock & charging extra to book transfers- do it yourself online). Some staff are absolutely great and so helpful then others were useless. But it was great to meet others in Rio and is in a very safe and nice area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×