Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 993 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 993 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th Jul 2018
10.0

Great location minutes from the beach, loads of restaurants and bars in the area, close to the supermarket as well. Friendly helpful staff, with areas to chill and also a bar. Extended our stay here as we liked it that much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • grahamprosser5042
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2018
8.6

Location is great, felt safe in the area but still have to take heed. Hostel was cool, would definitely go again. However the bathroom's were pretty gross always with a nasty, dirty towel on the floor

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2018
5.4

Very disappointing hostel. Staff don't care. The beds in the 'superior' private room were ancient and saggy and the staff simply agreed that they are old beds - no better option! When i asked staff member Henry if there was a laundry service i was told NO - actually they DO. Breakfast is charged on top of the top rate! Bar was shut on a Sunday as not enough staff! No atmosphere at all. Great location but other options nearby - checkout Che Lagarto hostel nearby - everyone loved it there!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • gaemperlimiro4859
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2018
8.3

I stayed in begin of July a few days in this Hostel. The location is very good. Just one block from the beach (3min). Also many restaurants and bars are very close. Around 500m to the metro. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • conorwallace11206
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jun 2018
6.9

Overall an okay hostel, the wifi was good & fast, the showers were powerful and hot and staff were friendly. Although, it felt very damp, atmosphere was lacking and the kitchen wasn’t great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • aoifejdoyle9626
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2018
10.0

Great stay here! Location is perfect near the beach, metro, restaurants and shops. Dorm was comfortable and there was no problem with noise. Still a great atmosphere with plenty of people around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sam_wassell
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th May 2018
7.7

Nice hostel with good atmosphere and bar staff, offered a good range of trips/excursions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd May 2018
6.6

The location is great- right by the beach. But the bathrooms are not clean, I thought it was a decent hostel but after visiting others near Rio you realise how little the staff actually do for you (have to make your own bed, breakfast is not included, you have to pay for a towel and padlock & charging extra to book transfers- do it yourself online). Some staff are absolutely great and so helpful then others were useless. But it was great to meet others in Rio and is in a very safe and nice area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • rokmc10078025
  • South Korea, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2018
6.9

Stayed in dormitory for 5 nights. Here are my thoughts: Good: - Location - Lockers under bunk beds - Breakfast (15 Reals) - Comfortable mattress - Cleaning eveyday - Good water preasure Bad: - English speaking staff very uninterested - Local staff loud and rude - Dorms very cramped - Squeaqy bunk beds - Old building and facilites - Hamocks have ticks, so wear long sleeves

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2018
6.9

Reception staff was really friendly and helpful, cleaners and kitchen staff not so friendly didn’t smile made us feel like we was in the way when cooking or using the bathrooms. location is great 2 minutes walk to the beach and one block from supermarket and bars. Atmosphere was fine lots of people but WiFi wasn’t great, we stayed in a 6 bed dorm and in was the smallest box room ever we had to walk through another dorm to get to our room far to small for 6 beds and far to hot even with the fan

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×