Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 972 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 972 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mollyskov
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Apr 2018
8.6

We really enjoyed our stay at Mango Tree! The hostel is located perfectly close to Ipanema and plenty of restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful. Common area is cozy, comfy and a great place to dine with other travllers. Kitchen is well equipped and spacious. Wifi works amazingly well! Even in the dorms! There is a difference in size with the dorms - ours was very spacious, but some of them are kinda cramped. Towels and breakfast is not included!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your visit and review. We are glad you enjoyed our hostel. We took over the management of hostel one year ago and are updating the hostel as possible. We invite you to come back and see the upgrades. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Apr 2018
7.1

Overall good experience. But the girl at the reception was really rude.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • molliep084004
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th Mar 2018
9.4

Good kitchen. Nice outdoor area for eating. Room has under bed lockers big enough for backpacks. I was in good sized room but other 6 bed dorm was very cramped. Location is amazing so close to beach and shops. Nice vibes but not too wild. Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the visit and review. We are glad you had a good time. Come back sometime soon. Safe travels!

18th Feb 2018
9.1

Had a lovely stay at mango tree. Extremely close to the beach, shops and metro. Staff are lovely and spoke perfect English. Not much of a party vibe, but that was okay for me! A\c in rooms is good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the visit and review. We are glad you had a good time at our place. We are in the heart of Ipanema, the most lively neighborhood in Rio, so after our bar closes at 10pm, people group up for a last beer at reception before heading out to party. The hostel is peaceful for the ones who want to sleep, and 5 minutes from all the action for the ones who want party! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
8th Feb 2018
7.7

Our resting spot for carnaval. Staff were nice, rooms were decent. Located in a beautiful old house right next to the action of ipanema beach Thought there would be a little more help with Carnaval recommendations, there was a map but no real info which made choosing hard. Bathrooms were really messy almost all the time but I guess with drunk people up to all hours probably not representative of it usually. Expensive during Carnaval like everywhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Feb 2018
9.4

Mango tree is in a beautiful building, in a nice, safe part of Ipanema. It has good social spaces so is ideal for lone travellers and groups too! The rooms are standard hostel fare, the big lockers are ideal to keep things safe. I’d recommend this place to anyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • elizabethpaar76921
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
23rd Dec 2017
8.3

Beautiful hostel in the perfect location however there is zero atmosphere here and the breakfast is an absolute rip off

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Dec 2017
6.3

Place is very average. The good *location, great location close to a beach with lots of atmosphere, food, shops and parks. The bad *no real chill out area, place could do with some comfy couches, hammocks, a dart board or ping pong table *lockers in rooms missing latches and falling apart *bar closes at ten and they hush you out the front *cant use the kitchen till 11am *rooms only have one or two power outlets *bathroom doors missing, some doors have no lock I wouldn’t stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • cassorm
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Dec 2017
8.3

Perfect location, 2 minute walk from the beach and about a 2 minute walk to the shops Rooms were pretty small, but other than that had a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Dec 2017
5.7

Only stayed for 1 night as a stop over. Probably the worst of many hostels we've stayed in while backpacking South America. Rooms were dirty, everything was old, we could smell the bathroom at the end of the corridor from our room. Staff were helpful enough but the facilities really let the place down.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×