Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Marco Polo Top Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 538 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 538 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jackmaclean2438521
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Aug 2018
6.0

Super hot rooms, no aircon or fans. Two of the three staff I met were nice, third didn’t smile didn’t give me any recommendations to my questions I had about the city. Wouldn’t return.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • molliefoo96
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Aug 2018
9.1

We were quite hesitant sleeping in a 12 bed dorm, however, there was no need to be! We had a bunk that was closed over by a curtain to give some privacy. The bathrooms in the room were spacious for us to use. You give your keys in each time you leave the hostel which was strange at first, but actually worked out well. Location was great - really close to cool bars and within walking distance to pretty much the whole city

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Jul 2018
7.7

It was nice how each 2 bed bunk had a curtain and each bed came with a big storage locker. It was somewhat far from the actual main attractions of Budapest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sidneyraskind1052
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jul 2018
8.6

3 night stay here was great. Super close to the ruin bar and instant so if you get to drunk you won’t get lost on the way home. Lockers provided with the room key that you have to turn in when you leave every time. There is a power outlet at every bed and a reading light. 2 toilets and two showers in the 12 person shared room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ivan_guzman186151
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Jul 2018
6.0

Never stayed here. They cancelled because they needed some bank data and website doesn't let me delete this. Ignore this review.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kimischultz073906
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2018
7.4

We went to check into the hostel and they told us our room had maintenance issues. They booked us into one of their chain hotels and organised and paid for a taxi to get there. We paid the original price of the hostel but got a private room with ensuite in a 3 star hotel, with breakfast included. Cant complain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • squirenicky2237
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jul 2018
6.3

The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the location good for walking to town and nearby bars. Our room was dated but clean, apart from and old and smelly carpet. Don’t even think about cooking as the kitchen is grubby and tiny. The hostel is very noisy at night, and popular with lads coming back in the small hours with no concern to people who are sleeping. One of them even had a very loud phone conversation at 2.00 in the morning. Don’t stop here if you value a good nights sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • maria_xx084203
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Jul 2018
8.0

Good location! Wasn’t sure about having to leave key at reception every time we left the hostel, but otherwise all was well. Nice staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2018
10.0

It was a very nice to stay. I would recommend to travelers on a budget

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KatieMacKissack
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Jul 2018
6.0

Security in terms of belongings was great as you get given a wardrobe that you can lock, however I felt personally very insecure. My bed was around about 1 metre away from the person opposite who was at least twice my age and of the opposite sex. The fact that we were the ones in a sectioned off area of 4 beds made me feel very uneasy. Had there been curtains around the beds, bigger space between the beds or only people of the same gender in such a small and intimate space, it would be better

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×