Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mec Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 4158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 4158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jul 2018
6.3

Would be a great place but the guy on reception isn't friendly at all

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2018
8.0

It was a decent hostel. It is located a few blocks from O'Connell Street the central hub of Dublin. It is easy to access the main tourists sites by foot from this hostel. Also, it is located in an immigrant area so there are quite a few cheap places to eat, which was nice, as well as a grocery store nearby. The staff was ok: not mean but certainly not friendly. The room was super hot and you could only open the window a certain amount. Breakfast was pretty good. The place is kept quite clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jackmpinter6945
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2018
9.1

The room was quiet and we had a good nights sleep. The staff were also lovely and smiley.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • musti_sar
  • Iran, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2018
9.1

a good choice for a short stay in Dublin

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shillchar02175
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2018
7.4

Friendly staff, good value for money, great location near O Connell St and lots of restaurant and pubs, yet the street is quiet. I got free upgrade on arrival which was cool. No need to strip bedding. Decent breakfast. Nice garden to sit in. Cash only on transactions under 20e. 2e for towel. No elevator. Lots of stairs. Halls a bit on the echoey side but people generally respectful of this. Shower ok, soap dispenser in cubicle. Not much of an atmosphere but give it time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2018
9.1

Nice, roomy facility. Several common areas, including a garden. Quite street but still walking distance to everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • scottbarr9233409
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2018
7.7

The best feature about this place is the cost. Also, within walking distance of lots of city activity. I was there during the heat wave. the dorm I was in was so hot and with no air flow possibility. Also, lots of young people that were noisy all night. The place echos noise everywhere. Of five weeks of stay at hostels thorughout the Isles, this is the only one were I could not sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2018
8.3

I liked that they had vending machines for a quick grab of water. I didn't use the kitchen or activities, but I liked the options and open areas they had. It was a cool building and helpful they were available 24 hours. The location was great. Walking distance to O'Connell Street and the neighborhood was quiet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • spolchies2465
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jun 2018
9.4

Had boiled eggs in their breakfast. It was awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jun 2018
6.9

I fully understand that the hostel cannot control the other guests but it was very loud over the weekend and something should be done about the room doors, which bang very loudly if people just let them go. I also didn't feel very comfortable in the breakfast room, which is in the basement and felt fairly cold and damp. But the street is beautiful, the price is good and it's not too far from the city center and train stations, which is a good plus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×