Hostelworld.com

Melbourne City Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Nov 2018
9.7

Amazing place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Nov 2018
4.3

Rooms were filthy and smelly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Oct 2018
5.1

I booked this hostel because of the price and the reviews. I stayed one night in a four bed female dorm and other than the location I was not impressed. I wouldn’t not stay here again. I was put in a room with three other girls that were staying there long term. The vibe in my room was very depressing. A new employee who had just moved to Melbourne was working the night of my stay so she didn’t know the area well either!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. We try to create a fun and welcoming atmosphere for all guests no matter the length of their stay. Our common area is open 24 hours and we have free dinner and drink nights every week to help people get to know each other. Many of our staff have lived in Melbourne for years and know the area inside out! We have recently taken on a new staff member so please be patient while they get up to speed :)

19th Oct 2018
9.4

Good hostel for the money, esp for 2-person room. Right next to train/bus station & short walk Elizabeth St with many markets and restaurants. Like many Melbourne hostels there is a large % of long term residents on work visas. This can make it a bit more difficult to make connections as a solo traveler since cliques are already formed. That said I was able to meet some interesting people since chess games seemed to be the go-to-game when I was there. Free wifi was ok but just in common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tylerroden94
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Oct 2018
8.3

Really nice hostel for what we wanted , everything was good and staff where very helpful when we needed them. Only downside was everyone was there for a long stay and was therefore in friendship groups prior to our arrival and ultimately other than our roommates had zero contact with anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us :) We really want all guests to feel welcome and be able to make new friends no matter the length of their stay. We have free dinner and drinks nights to help break the ice and bring people together. Hope to see you next time!

  • aislingharpur887169
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2018
2.0

Awful hostel. Staff were rude and unprofessional. Room was dirty and cold. Not enough showers or toilets. No lift in the building. Most people are living in the hostel long term so it is not social and everyone is in a click already. Luggage room was so small I couldn’t even fit my luggage into it when I was leaving.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We want all guests to be comfortable and able to make new friends. We have extra blankets for anyone feeling cold and free dinner/drink nights to help people get to know each other. Weekends are our busiest times which can fill-up our luggage room but we have extra spaces to use, just ask reception :)

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Oct 2018
9.1

Perfect place to get started in Melbourne, from here we got into the Australian way of life. You can find all kinds of people and you'll feel like part of the family pretty fast. They do a good job keeping everything as clean as possible, even if a lot of things feel outdated. The only thing that bothered me were the showers, they don't seem to keep a regular temperature but I'm sure it's fixable. Loved all the free activities, especially the pancakes on Sunday! Thanks for hosting us!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us :) Cya next time!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Sep 2018
10.0

Clean backpackers, with outstanding customer service!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Sep 2018
7.4

Nice hostel, central location, rooms are clean enough, lockers and ok beds could be comfier but could be worse. Kitchen was always a bit gross, toaster never worked for the breakfast. Staff weren't very friendly or welcoming. Mostly people living here long term and working so not much a travellers hostel if you're looking for that, with that saying I don't think it's very easy to become part of the live in group of people either.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the feedback, we are always trying to improve our facilities and have replaced a number of beds the last month. We want all guests to feel welcome and included no matter how long they are staying. Everyone is encouraged to join our free dinners and drinks to help break the ice and get to know each other. Hope to see you next time!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Sep 2018
10.0

Amazing vibes and a great place to make new friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great to hear you've made some new mates :D

×