Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Moalboal Backpacker Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 455 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 455 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Dec 2017
7.4

Very basic but comfortable hostel. We stayed in the private room, which is private but the walls are thin so expect to hear everything, although thankfully the other guests weren’t noisy...just some cats at 6am! The room comes with a cute little terrace and your own hammock. The bed is comfy and the fan does the job. Breakfast is cheap and basic. Staff were super friendly. Overall stay here for a few nights as it’s cheap and central. Moalboal on the whole doesn’t have much to offer!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • hayleyfkeen5241
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Dec 2017
8.9

We loved our stay here and was really sad to leave! We paid a little extra for a private room with private bathroom and loved it... Even had our own hammock in our room! Staff were amazing and the homemade bread was YUM, would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2017
6.9

Good location and good price. However, the place feels very cramped and closed in. Stayed in the 4 bed dorm which was nice but very stuffy so had a hard time sleeping. Staff were friendly when I first arrived but afterwards seemed rather annoyed about something.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tompaterson122381
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Dec 2017
8.6

Good hostel right in the middle of the village. Staff very friendly, and helped us with booking canyoneering which is a must do for anyone who visits Moalboal! Good social atmosphere for solo travellers. Bring your DEET though as it’s completely open and you will get bitten. No air con and tiny fans are a bit like putting an ice cube in an oven, so don’t count on much sleep. Beds also a little small if you’re over 6’2”

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • reyestyroneenrickbagos8558
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2017
9.1

The place is very cozy and ate on the counter/cashier is so friendly. Kudos to all!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Nov 2017
9.7

Lovely staff. Lovely atmosphere. Cheap breakfast. Spend can be warm so ask for a bed on top under a fan and you are sorted.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
23rd Nov 2017
9.7

Amazing hostel! I have to admit that I was abit wary about staying here after reading some comments on here, but this hostel completely exceeded my expectations. The beds are the comfiest I've had in the Philippines and the room was also nice and cool as it is open ended and gets a breeze (12 bed dorm). The security was excellent even with phone charging lockers. The location is just across from the beach next to bars and restaurants and great snorkling. The owner also gave lots of useful tips!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Nov 2017
9.7

A very good stop for backpackers that easily achives the atmosphere the most backpackers hostels try so hard to create. The owner was a sound bloke too who woyld happily talk your ear off if you asked for advice. Just remember to bring a padlock or two for the lockers and phone charging stations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Nov 2017
9.7

Amazing hostel!! The hostel has a really cool set up and it was super easy to meet other travellers! The staff were also amazing, they helped us set up canyoneering and we had the best time! No air con but didn’t even matter cause lots of fans would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aouieboy4434
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2017
9.1

Weak pressure on the shower and non-existent hot water. Fans are also inadequate if the climate is too hot. However, the location is very near in the beach and value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×