Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Moalboal Backpacker Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 569 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 569 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Apr 2018
10.0

Loved it here. Location was perfect and the staff was amazing. So helpful in setting up tours both to the canyoning and to Olson for swimming with Whale Sharks. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks so much for everything :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lucinesandiford8755
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
15th Apr 2018
8.3

Perfect location and friendly staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • beingsarkaustic
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Apr 2018
10.0

This hostel is located right beside the Panagsama beach and along the street where the most happening pubs and bars are. You can surely have a great time as everything you want is right nearby. Also, the atmosphere in the hostel is very chill and the people you meet are really awesome. Had a fabulous two days here. They even arrange tours to Kawasan and anywhere else that you wanna go to. The hostel is open all night so you can feel free to come in and go out whenever you want. Loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2018
2.0

Worst experience I’ve had so far. A couple of set backs on my side made the management of my booking difficult, so spoke to the owner to find a solution: rudest person ever! I asked him to book for an extra night, got confirmation it was possible, arrived at the hostel and reception told me they were fully booked! So ended up at Marina Lodge, which was for the best, but not happy with this place at all!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2018
6.6

One of the lowest scores I ever gave to a hostel. Location is great if you are a heavy sleeper (loud music from nearby bars until 4am). Staff were not really friendly, giving you a bad attitude when you ask things. They also gave me wrong information about transportation to Bohol (ask somewhere else). Dorm was big in an open area room (no walls and zero privacy). The chill area was nice and the couple of hammocks. Other than that, this hostel brings nothing to the table.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Why you stay 2 nights in my place? Why you stay an additional night? Because of the budget room rate only? You said, my hostel “brings nothing on the table”. How about the free coffee facility every morning? Or our budget friendly breakfast service with house roasted coffee and homemade bread? Why you not telling to the public that you stay in private single room with balcony and hammock? What shall we do with the owner of the bars in the neighbourhoods? You ask one of my staff, who never been to Bohol, about the travel time for a car ferry from Argao, Cebu to Tagbilaran, Bohol. You been always busy using my internet, have you hear about ask Google? We keep the 12 bed main dorm open to the attached bamboo deck and rooftop. I don’t want a smelly big dorm. And since when has a dorm privacy?

  • danielacorreagomez3158
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
31st Mar 2018
8.6

Totally recommended. The owner is really friendly and helpful. Couple of things were not perfect( cleanliness and the showers only being downstairs) but didn’t really matter much. Really good location, specially if you have a few drinks in Chili bar and nice common area to chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Meleusipo3
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2018
10.0

Im a Filipino and it's my first time to try solo backpacking and hostel. Good price (based on local's perspective) and location. What will elevate the service is good and friendly staff or the "ates". Ill book a bed here if i'll go back to moalboal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
21st Mar 2018
7.4

Great location, right next to the sardines & where I saw turtles!!! I’ve heard it can get a bit party at this hostel, but I did not get that vibe at all. It was a nice chill place. Lack of plug sockets though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2018
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay here in Moalboal. The hostel is in prime location for the beach and restaurants. There isn’t great security measures, but you can use their lockers is you have your padlock. The atmosphere at the hostel is wicked. Great vibes and a really cool places to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, but may I know your level for secuity please? We have CCTV at the entrance and exit and at the lockers in our lobby. Furthermore an electronic vault inside the reception.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2018
10.0

First of all, many people open a hostel to make money. At Thorsten you have the feeling: he was even traveling and he just settled down where he was. So you feel very welcome and he knows what travels want. But his wife and the other employees are undeligible nice and you immediately feel at home and not only as a guest or even tolerated. I would recommend anyone to stay here for a few days. Beach is perfect for people who like to snorkel and watch sardine swarms and especially see TURTLES!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×