Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monkey Island Bungalows

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 81 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 81 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
2nd Feb 2018
7.4

Basic but good. Perfect location as just out of the noise but takes a couple of minutes to walk down to the cafes and bars. Unfortunately we discovered they do not change the sheets in the bungalows if they "look clean" - pretty disgusting to be honest and when the island is renowned for bed bug problems this probably doesn't help. Nice and friendly staff behind the bar though. It actually gets a little chilly at night time so air con is not needed. No electricity sockets in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2018
7.1

I would highly recommend getting a private suite with your own bathroom. The bathroom that is provided for the guests is also used by people who come to eat at the restaurant. It is behind the restaurant and kitchen so if you are ok with showering right after a stranger takes a poop after his meal and uses the bum washer to spray all of his sharticles everywhere before your shower, then go for it!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2018
8.0

Lost the run of myself here, big time! Was a great experience! Fire show on thr beach was the last thing I recall, awesome surroundings! Can easily do a week here!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2018
4.6

Start with the positives - good location on the beach, not too far from the pier, the town or 4K beach. Atmosphere was nice, I met some cool people but it wasn’t party central. Employees are nice but lacking in charisma or social skills. Negatives - the worst hostel room i’ve ever stayed in. 4 beds crammed into a tiny space with no lockers. The bed was outrageously hard and uncomfortable. Bathroom a disgrace with a few inches of stagnant water consistently there and a shower that dribbled.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2018
6.0

Not many options on the island but the island is amazing so don't think accommodation matters here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Jan 2018
6.0

The staff are super nice & friendly, especially the British couple who manage it - they were always quick to help me with whatever I need. As for the dorms,beds & showers.it is what it is for the island life. My last dorm was on a slant so the doors slammed shut each time they were left open. Had to change dorms twice due to someone taking my original booked bed (how is this not monitored?)each dorm had no toilet roll at all, so I had to keep asking. The beauty of the island is what makes it ❤️

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Nov 2017
8.0

excellent staff - wonderful people and really the best most authentic place on the island - the bathroom is rather basic so be warned but great atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
27th Nov 2017
6.9

Stayed here for 2 nights, rooms are very basic but what was expected! Local staff here were absolutely lovely however international staff always looked abit bored and not very willing to serve you they would just stand around! Good location right on the main beach

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lauramullinger7027
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Nov 2017
6.0

There was a dead rat in our room the whole time. We weren’t given blankets for the bed, the shower was dirty. Excellent location and good pub crawl though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Nov 2017
5.1

I get we're on an island but that doesn't excuse a lack of effort to maintain the dorms. The toilets at both the treehouses and the main bar are in poorer condition than other hostel bars on the island. Then you must leave your important belongings with reception as there's no reliable security box in your room. Front door is held shut by a simple padlock which means you must leave it open until everyone's home. Not much a social environment until bar crawl day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×