Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monkey Island Bungalows

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 115 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 115 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Jul 2018
7.7

We read the reviews beforehand so we we‘rent bothered by the dirtiness of the rooms. With that i mean not the bungalow itself ( its a bungalow after all.). But the condition of the bedsheets and that it clearly hadn’t even been swept through in a while. The food at the bar is at a good price and honestly some of the best i had so far on this trip! The local staff was incredibly nice and the whole restaurant area is nice to chill out in. All in all good value for money and great food!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • harryjbrown4562
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2018
8.9

Fantastic place. A little shack on the beach side. Don’t expect a good bathroom and shower but all in all was a great experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • katieduffy
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jun 2018
6.3

Wouldn’t recommend- too many bugs, damp, rain comes through the roof, through the walls,. If you do stay here, invest in bug spray :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2018
8.0

Oh my god there was a gecko in our bungalow.... he was very friendly we named him James. It’s silly to complain about the bugs and lizards because it’s just a bungalow. But it was perfect for what we wanted which was a place to lay our head 😆 the staff are awesome !! Only thing is they say there is no plug sockets when there is.... the fans are plugged into them in the rooms, if they just put an extension cable is so we could use them easier then it would be so much better !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th May 2018
7.4

The location was great because it was away from the madness/ partying on Koh Rong, but still about a 5 minute walk if you wanted to party. Not a very social hostel, although I was here in low season. Bathrooms/ showers were filthy, but the water pressure was great. I don’t think you’ll find a nice clean hostel in Koh Rong because it’s an island, but i got a private bungalow and it was great to walk right out to the beach. I had my own hammock as well. Food was decent, but not great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st May 2018
5.1

We booked 4 dorm beds and when we arrived they offered to “upgrade” us to a bungalow. We ended up in a bungalow that was falling apart. The bathroom floor was completely slanted. It rained and our beds got soaked. We found ants in a salad. We politely mentioned to the staff and they didn’t seem to care all that much. The common area restaurant was nice to hang out in and did have decent food, but our bungalow experience ruined it for us.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • aaurorak6901
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th May 2018
5.4

The room was quite terrifying, dirty bathroom without a working light, broken bed with dirty sheet, no blanket, one key to the shared room, no sockets in the room, wifi only reached the reception area and even there it wasn't working. Staff felt rude towards me, no signs of customer service, didn't sell bus tickets as advertised. The only good things were good selection of vegetarian food and the location at the beach, but I'm sure the same money would buy a much nicer room in the same area.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2018
2.9

Checked in a private Bungalow with a friend, we were both seriously disappointed we left the next day and moved on to another place. Rooms where dirty, the sheets/mattress/pillow smelt so bad we had to sleep on a towel. Toilets were very very dirty. Staff were rude when we arrived, it seemed like a hassle that someone was coming. Very unwelcoming place, well below the good standards of hostels in Cambodia. Check in elsewhere. Positives: nice location, staff paid refund without complaints

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th May 2018
7.1

Great location right on the beach. However, not very clean and the light was out in our attached washroom. No power outlets in your room which I've never encountered before. I understand that Koh Rong is a little more primitive than your average place but it's 2018. The rooms should be updated. Charging your items behind the bar in the restaurant is a pain.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jasminehannam9130
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th May 2018
7.7

A quick one night stop before moving to another island. The place had a good vibe and the staff were great. The only downfall was that they didn’t have enough keys for all the people staying in the bungalow so we would have to get it from the bar and take it back, which became annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×