Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monkey Island Bungalows

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2018
2.9

Checked in a private Bungalow with a friend, we were both seriously disappointed we left the next day and moved on to another place. Rooms where dirty, the sheets/mattress/pillow smelt so bad we had to sleep on a towel. Toilets were very very dirty. Staff were rude when we arrived, it seemed like a hassle that someone was coming. Very unwelcoming place, well below the good standards of hostels in Cambodia. Check in elsewhere. Positives: nice location, staff paid refund without complaints

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jasminehannam9130
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2018
7.7

A quick one night stop before moving to another island. The place had a good vibe and the staff were great. The only downfall was that they didn’t have enough keys for all the people staying in the bungalow so we would have to get it from the bar and take it back, which became annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2018
8.3

Had a ‘five person’ beach hut (two double beds one single for three of us). Great location a little bit away from the noisy bars but close enough to make use of them. Staff answered all our questions and met people on the pub crawl. The bathroom could’ve been cleaner but apart from that highly recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • benbowen1006364
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2018
10.0

We got to Monkey Island only intending to stay 2 nights, 6 nights later we were still there and very reluctantly had to leave. The bar/restaurant was very sociable, even coming into low season. Everyone was there (including staff and owners) to have a good time and make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. Whatever you do if you're on the island, pay them a visit you're guaranteed a good time. Thanks for having us guys, can't wait to see you again! What could possibly Koh Rong!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2018
9.1

Love this place! I was skeptical because of previous reviews but I’m so surprised! The bungalows are awesome, comfortable beds and clean bathrooms! Close to the main pier so it’s great to go out at night, but still the beach in front of the hostel is sooo beautiful!! Great food at the bar for really fair prices! Can really recommend that place to everyone! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • benishi
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2018
7.7

Nice bungalows on the beach, close to center of village but still quite enough so you can sleep without the nosies of all pubs around. The staff is great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • evemjohnson5336
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2018
4.9

The location on the island is perfect as it's not too close to the shops/noise, and is also only a 15 min walk from the 4K beach. me and several other people moved hostels. When I arrived there was nobody in the room and the toilet had not been cleaned. I was there 5 nights (had to stay because I couldn't get refund) and nobody cleaned the bathroom even though we requested multiple times. Also, they straighten out the bed sheets rather than changing them. The staff are definitely lax but lazy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • gabrielleplittle9929
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Mar 2018
4.9

If you’re into the party scene you’ll enjoy this place more than I did. Main space is dedicated to alcohol and pib crawls. I arrived at the time I indicated I would check in and was told to wait another 20 min for my room to be ready, waited for 2 hours. Found used bandaid on floor, no tp in the bathroom, and saw a mouse run across another bed. One word of caution, make sure you don’t forget to get the bug net all around your bed or else you will regret it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Mar 2018
7.7

Not a bad hostel but we did get eaten alive by bed bugs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2018
7.4

great location. common toilet/bath could be more cleaner. At least one power socket should be available in the rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×