Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monkey Republic

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 709 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 709 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
8th Aug 2018
8.0

Good hostel close to lots of things, nice vibe to it. Also really helpful with buses and very cheap drinks which was great. :) good stay here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Aug 2018
8.3

A very solid hostel. A little quiet in the evenings but a great base to explore the town and the surrounding areas on mopeds. Good food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpakesjhaines5424
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Aug 2018
8.0

Great location, room was nice and basic but clean enough. Half the staff went above and beyond to help whereas the other half made us feel like we’d ask for the Earth when we were trying to find out some information. Good drink deals and we would stay with the Monkey Republic hostels again in another location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your review! We sincerely apologize for one of our staff not having the correct attitude towards our clientele. We will work better on some of our team members customer service and will make sure it doesn't happen again. Thank you again for your kind words, it's a pleasure to know that you liked it here in general. Enjoy your travels!

  • betty_callaghan300
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Jul 2018
7.1

Really nice clean dorm with lots of space and plenty of showers per room. There was a nice big bar area with really nice food (although a little overpriced). Western staff weren't as friendly as elsewhere we have been and could have given us some more info

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jul 2018
7.7

Chill atmosphere but all the guests were doing their own thing so not hugely social. Staff were helpful and friendly. Room smelt a bit and wasn’t hugely clean but other than that it was all good. Probably would have been more fun with more people as bar had potential.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, for your review! We are sorry you didn't feel it social enough here. We see our guests interacting with each other all the time, even if they are from different groups. Just make that step and talk first to someone :) Sorry about the smell in a dorm, we wil pay more attention to our cleaning process (unless the smell came from soap dodgers :D) Thanks again and we hope you will have lots of fun in your further travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2018
8.0

Overall a good hostel, however the room smelt of damp and there was no aircon only fans in our room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • racevans8878
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jul 2018
8.9

Very good hostel, great vibe and staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tomer55961097
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2018
8.6

Really great place. The room is equiped well with curtain to the bed, shower and bathroom inside the room. Anly minus is they dont hot shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • taylahrose119707
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jul 2018
8.6

Really nice dorm rooms. Beds have walls, roof and curtain giving almost complete privacy. The wifi is really fast and good - best I’ve had my whole trip. Good AC in rooms. Food menu is large but a lil too expensive. They offer tours and help hiring out bikes or what ever you need. Staff are very friendly too, would hang out with the travellers when off shift! 5 mins walk from town centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aria_valzano2557
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2018
8.3

Very nice, clean hostel. Nice young vibe but not a party hostel which was perfect for me. The cocktail deals are OK, and happy hour is a good deal, but some drinks and food is over priced. And their fruit shakes are awful. But other than that, nice chill out area, with games, books, and pool table.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×