Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monkey Republic

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 732 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 732 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Oct 2018
8.0

Really nice place to stay. I loved the curtains for privacy. Staff were helpful and friendly and the food was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! We are happy that you liked it here :) Safe travels! Monkey Team

  • Edwardyuhostelworld5368
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Oct 2018
8.9

Great place to stay, value for money. Bedding was clean. I take cold showers so I didn't mind the lack of hot water. Good vibe in the bar pool table area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for staying with us! Enjoy your travels! :) Monkey Team

3rd Oct 2018
8.9

Nice spot in the middle of town, clean rooms and showers. A lot of mosquitoes in the dorms for some reason?? But the staff were lovely, and I had a nice stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! Very sorry for mosquito situation, we are trying so hard to make people close the doors, but often some of them leave it wide open, which may cause mosquitos inside! Otherwise, we are happy that you enjoyed it here. We wish you safe travels! Monkey Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Oct 2018
10.0

Clean and a good atmosphere! I only planned to stay 1 night but extended it to 4. Enjoyed my stay there, good location with everything within walking distance. Bikes available to rent and laundry services etc. I would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot, we appreciate your kind words! Thank you for staying with us and enjoy your further travels! :) Monkey Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
26th Sep 2018
6.0

A bit run down in the private room. Felt like I was in someone’s garage. No hot water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback Kelly! Very sorry you did not liked it enough here, we looked at your room and scheduled it for the maintenance. We will work on it to make this room better. Have a safe journey! Monkey Team

  • DanielGillard
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
21st Sep 2018
10.0

Absolutely wonderful place. Centrally located, clean, with spacious rooms. Great bar with video games, pool table and excellent food too - a great range of Khmer and Western dishes; their breakfast pork n rice is especially nice. But top of the list are the staff, a mix of Khmer and Western people who couldn't be nicer - particularly Chris and Siofra who are very knowledge and approachable. The Khmer team are so sweet as well! I'll be visiting again and again and again. Thanks for a lovely stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your kind words Daniel! We of course mentioned it to Chris and Siofra and your comments made them smile! You are welcome back at any time, we will be happy to see you again soon!

  • beawatts20102655
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
20th Aug 2018
9.4

Really nice hostel. Rooms are modern and well appointed - 2 bathrooms between 8 is great! Food was some of the best I’ve had in any hostel in Asia. Very helpful Khmer and international staff. Bit quiet but everywhere in Cambodia is, and monkey republic still has a nice atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you Beatrice for your kind words! Enjoy the rest of your travels! :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Aug 2018
4.6

Clean but damp smelling room. Broken extractor fan and no secure mechanism on window to be able to air the room out. Wifi only works in the bar/restaurant, probably to encourage more food and bar sales. I reserved the following day, only to be told when I went to pay at 7:30am, that they were full. Spent the next few hours trying to find a room elsewhere and moving my stuff, instead of going to Bokor Mountain as planned. Basically lost a day of my holiday.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and your time. For us every opinion matters - good or bad. We are very sorry you went through such troubles. And you got a point yes, there was an unfortunate misunderstanding, and we apologise for that. We will clarify with our reception staff how to deal with people requests, to make sure we will avoid similar situations in the future. There's a sign in the room though, which informs people to extend their stay asap, as all our rooms and dorms are online and available for bookings at any time. But when our staff was trying to talk to you to give advice on next moves, or where to stay next - you just walked away with angry face, without giving us any chance. It was probably too early, we understand. We have an explanation about Wi-Fi, it got cut down once the powercut happened at night time(short powercuts are quite often in small town of Kampot), and Wi-Fi routers needed to be reset, what was done at 7am as soon as first team member arrived. Otherwise there is Wi-Fi available at all the rooms. (but it is a great idea to trap everyone at the bar!) We also checked the room and scheduled immediate maintenance. We wish you best of luck and safe travels. Hopefully you will avoid any further miscommunication with people who work at places you stay.

11th Aug 2018
9.4

GREAT PLACE! if you want to feel like you’re on your own private beach with a good group of hostel goers this is for you. Super friendly and great facilities, hammocks in the sea etc. Guaranteed good night as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
8th Aug 2018
8.0

Good hostel close to lots of things, nice vibe to it. Also really helpful with buses and very cheap drinks which was great. :) good stay here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×