Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monkey Republic

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th Oct 2018
7.4

The hostel it's self is decent. Staff were friendly. It's just ashamed it's stuck in the middle of a construction site. I stayed as a layover to the next place and that was enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Sep 2018
6.9

The hostel and restaurant/bar themselves are great! Comfortable rooms, with good clean bathroom. Friendly staff. Unfortunately, there is ALOT of construction going on in the entire Serendipity road & surrounds area at the moment, which goes on day & night. It's kind of killed the vibe of the area a bit, which is a pity. The vibe at Monkey Republic bar was great though! Good happy hours & beer towers. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but the food we saw coming out of the kitchen looked good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
29th Sep 2018
8.3

Great hostel despite sihanoukville being a dump in general. What won it over for us was the restaurant attached, it was delicioussss great variety of good and sp tasty. Good place to stay for a night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Ashg924
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Sep 2018
7.1

We stayed in a dark, grubby room with hand marks etc all over the walls and stained sheets. When it rained it kept you up all night because of the metal roof. It also got incredibly hot in the room and the fan didn’t help at all. Shower was freezing! Food was expensive and not even a decent amount. Construction works over the pool made us feel uncomfortable to go in with all of the men looking down on you. We were very happy to leave here, we definitely stayed way too long.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2018
6.6

we have been ignored several times while trying to check in. After they recognised us they gave us a room without curtain. But after we told them, they gave us a new room. Next day another woman was there at the reception and she was more friendly. Unfortunately our bed was very loud when moving, probably broken. For you to know, there is no laundry in the hostel but they rent motorbikes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • naomibedson7295
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2018
8.0

For what you pay it's fantastic. Sure it's not for everyone but it's 8$ a night, you can't expect the ritz. The staff do their job, didn't really have much to do with them but I'm sure if you needed anything they'd help. It's a very close walk to the waterfront and the ferry.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • JamesBladeTaylor9980
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
23rd Aug 2018
6.9

STAY AWAY! Go to the islands instead! I would very much recommend to anyone to go to the islands instead of staying on the mainland like my 3 friends & I did!! On the mainland they have had a massive investment to build loads of Chinese casinos. This hostel is located 2 metres away from a building site. From 6am-10pm all we heard was construction, therefore very had to relax. The beaches are dirty due to rubbish & also the streets!! The hostel is good though, unfortunately just in a bad area!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2018
8.0

Location is great. The restaurant in the hostel is great. The room was not clean, the water in the shower was very cold and the water pressure was super low. There are many animals inside the room such as rats and lizards. The staff was kind and helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2018
7.7

Only stayed for one night but it did the job! Cheap alcohol but food a bit pricey. Room could be a bit brighter.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2018
9.1

No hot running water but apart from that really nice atmosphere and lovely staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×